Can we safely call Pakistan as the winning power?

Is it too early to call Pakistan’s on the road of victory? Now i’m not saying they are going to worldcup (which they’ll inshallah) but still lets admit they are performing like a real world class team and to me the most important thing is their confidence which is sky high.

Another very important factor is that we’ve new gems getting discovered in the form Yasir shah and somewhat Imran khan. The way Rahat Ali bowled on dead pitches was amazing.

Third factor is that now everybody knows if they perform they’ll stay in the team or else we have enough power. Like take the example of Afridi as now they are saying its going to be a close tie between him and Yasir shah.

So there we go, our eyes are getting wide opened and now we know everything is possible and no team is undefeatable.. :jhanda:

Re: Can we safely call Pakistan as the winning power?

all what you said is very true but i will hold my breath because they have played all their winning games on flat tracks in UAE...Australians and New Zealanders aren't great spin bowling players at present.

i hope they will perform well in Australia ands New Zealand pitches. i would love to see India and Pakistan in the FINALS! :p

Dear OP

Why wouldn't you say they are going to the World Cup? Please respond at your convenience.

^ he meant to say “they are going to win the World Cup” :chai:

I will hold my judgement, they are doing great :alham: at the moment in slower tracks and their weakness against spin is not so hidden. We need to see Rahat and Imran on fast/bouncy pitches to see if they can utilize the conditions to their favor and trouble batsmen, as well as see if our spinners can cause trouble for them on their pitches… not to forget our batsmen on their pitches :D.

I would definitely would want to see this team pitched against India and SL on their grounds as both teams play spin and also have their own strengths in spin dept.

OZ/NZ should be the last teams to judge against spins. So yes, its too early.
The ODI is different ball game, so the likes of Imran Khan and Rahat will be tested in dusty as well as bouncy pitches, before they can be declared as reliable.

In the world cup we will have Junaid and Irfan back as well. So they will strengthen the fast bowling, we have enough firepower in the spin department. Gul will be back as well, he is not as good as he used to be but still very experienced and can be deadly on his day. So while we are not world beaters yet, lets not trash their current achievement. Our spinners were better than theirs. The main thing will be to see whether our batting will hold up in Aus and NZ. That will be the test. If they can score in the region of 280 in every match we have enough firepower to defend the totals. one thing I will love more than winning the world cup is to defeat India in a world cup match. Something we have failed to do so far.

hahaha…and, i’ll love to see India beat Pakistan in the FINAL! :smiley: that will be highly charged game…i’m afraid though that India and Pak may NOT reach the final. :hmmm:

As said by every one, main concern will be the batting. Our bowling is delivering most of the times. This time the difference is our batters are putting 500+ on the board. If they fail to do so our bowling still may had the opposition at around 300 but then our batters will be playing 3rd innings under pressure. That will be a different ball game.

No soup for you!! :naraz:

hahaha…Gabbar bhii kia apne aDDe par cricket match dekhaa kartaa thaa aur Basantii ko nachvaataa thaa?

yaar, mujhe to yeh Gham khaaye jaa rahaa hai k na hii India aur na hii Pakistan Australian and New Zealand kii pitches par FINAL tak pahoNchegii. :frowning:

vaise, India aur Pakistan ek hii group meN hone ke kitne chances haiN?

Mark the calendar:

• Sun Feb 15 (50 ovs) 03:30 GMT | 14:00 local 22:30 EST -1d | 21:30 CST -1d |19:30 PST -1d 4th Match, Pool B - India v PakistanAdelaide OvalLIVE D/N N/A

Btw, Pak and India have reached in final in mini-worldcup in Australia before.

We are only done with internal QA so far. I’ll hold judgement till production QA is done

They are performing good in Test but ODI series will decide that how much they are prepared for WC. NZ team is a good team who crushed strong battling line up of India in Test and ODIs. If we will be able to defeat them in ODI series as well then it will give some confidence to our team. Right now Pakistani team is on No. 6 with 98 points and WI & NZ both have 96.

Let us wait and see. World cup is few months from now and it would be ODI matches. Pakistan recent performance in ODI is very disappointing. In last few months, Pakistan played 6 ODIs, 3 against SL and 3 against Aus. Pakistan lost 2:1 against SL and lost 3:0 against Aus.

Pakistan would be playing 5 ODIs against NZ. One can only hope that Pakistan wins the series against NZ, but time would tell.

Unfortunately, Pakistan team still consists of few good but mostly low quality batsmen who can occasionally perform, and that shows in their averages, and strike rates when one talks about ODI.

[quote="SID_NY"]

Mark the calendar:

• Sun Feb 15 (50 ovs) 03:30 GMT | 14:00 local 22:30 EST -1d | 21:30 CST -1d |19:30 PST -1d 4th Match, Pool B - India v PakistanAdelaide OvalLIVE D/N N/A

Btw, Pak and India have reached in final in mini-worldcup in Australia before./QUOTE]

Anil Dalapat Sonavaraia.... :D

open the thread for that one Mr. Lucky.....you have done well in last 3 test matches!

One word: Exposed!

^ or you win some, you lose some. This is Pakistani style, every victory or defeat is epic.

still too early to tell, our batsmen lack technique/footwork and they always get nicked out behind slip cordon