For successfull marriage or engagement stories, try to find such people around you. I mean in the real life.
A person well satisfied with his partner and life will naver have enough free time to come to a forum and share the success story as such people have better ways to spend their spare time.
The modern World of the WEB is full of people who are trying to settle down in life, people developing software or web, people who don't want to involve in sports for some reason and have some time to spare as well,..............
A person having a busy life, good relationship with the partner will never share his/her thoughts on forums, unless if that person is a good writer just checking for some new ideas, etc.
Ohhhhh, Umer, Points of View are not rules set in stone, especially the comments about marriages or the WEB, lol
I do agree with what you said about finding people around you in real life (actually called real time for some of us net geeks).
Sadiyah, I knw what you mean, all these threads convey a very bad image of marriage.. there are those who are happy after marriage but since they are happy its hard to hear from them (i learned from my previous thread similar to this one)
sadzz baji congrats :D
and now lets all pray to me hehe i need to get my parents preped for my engagement/shaadi.. aik tou parents ko razi karna bhi aik job hai.. sigh.. ok wish me good luck..
Well you are right, it surely does not mean that all people follow into these categories or groups.
When we talk or write we say the things accepted or practiced by most of the people. Like in Pakistan people eat Rooti and Salan. This does not mean that people don’t eat rice, or even there will be some people who always eat rice or something else instead of Roti and Salan. But majority of the people eat roti and rice every day.
So during talks and writings, the things common to the majority of people become valid STATEMENTS (I forget exact term here, I guess proverb or…).
So unless there is a math exam, where we are required to give exact numbers and calculations. The use of STATEMENTS can be found every where.
So just to end up, some things are practiced by the majority of people, groups or whatever. So these things can be said to be valid STATEMENTS. There may be a number of exceptions to such statements, but are hard to find and succeeding in discovering (coming up to) such exceptions may be named as your amusement day.
ansoon, with all honesty, you're a guy, so eventually your parents will have to listen to you. It's only a matter of time before they say yes, insha'Allah. :)
I really believe in "life is what you make of it" and the same goes for marriage.
You really have to make it work!! alot of compromise on both sides (husband & wife)
Also I think you need to let your partner know how much you love them and appreciate every little thing they do for you :) Its the small things that make the biggest difference.
I had an arranged marriage and allhumdulillah so far everything has been just wonderful I can not thank Allah enough for blessing me with a great husband and wonderful in-laws :)