Can someone get rid of these crap commentators?

The commentary is so lame and sh**. makes an exciting game a boring one. Zaheer, Mushtaq and Waqar could all do with some quick English lessons.

sorry about the lack of synchrony b/w voice & video. voice/sound comes first & then the picture/shot. anyways someone uploaded it on youtube so quickly and here it is.

Enjoy :slight_smile:

Pitch Report

Pakistan batting Part 1

Pakistan batting Part 2

Re: Can someone get rid of these crap commentators?

Where is Chisti Mujahid (sp?)?

Well Waqar is in my eyes far better than Aamir Sohail.

probably too old now (? 70+)

I miss the 80's dream team - Late Omar Kureishi, Iftikhar Ahmed, Chishti Mujahid and Humayun Shehzad (where is he now?)

^ those guys were running commentators and no experts. I don't care much for them. I want someone who will analyze the game and make me think. There is no substitute for the Chappellis and Benauds of the world. Another good commentator is Slater.

I can tolerate Ramiz to certain extent but the rest of them including Wasim Akram make me break the tv screen.

And if this is the best we can offer, I say bring back the urdu commentators -Hassan Jaleel and Munir Hussain. Few people can match their command of Urdu and enthusiasm for the game.

Agreed. Kureishi was a good reader of the game. Bill Lawry is my favourite though. Chappell and Benaud good analysts though they are, their commentary lacks the passion and enthusiasm of Bill Lawry and Tony Greig who are just great to listen to esp. when a terrific game is reaching it's climax. I regard the latter as having the perfect voices for cricket commentary. just my personal opinion.

Duriing the India-Australia Perth test...I had two streamers...one with the commentary team of Gavaskar/Shastri/Akram/Harsha Bhogle and the other stream with a commentary team of Bill Lawry/Chappel/Healy/Taylor/Tony Greig. Even though the second stream was not so clear (and sometimes buffering), I still chose to watch the second one.

Gavaskar has become openly partial to India in his comments these days(He was so outspoken when Umpiring decisions went against India that I found it a trifle embarassing). Harsha Bhogle is more about GREAT ENGLISH than any great CRICKET INSIGHT. And Wasim Akram - frankly I do not find him exciting to listen to also...though he does make some good points from time to time...Among the desi commentators, the only ones worth listening, in my opinion, are Shastri and Manjrekar.

Talking of Zaheer Abbas/Mustaq/Waqar Younis/Aamir Sohail.....I wonder what it will take for these guys to accept that they do not have the communication skills needed to be commentators (although they might have been great players). If I was in their place, I would stop making a mockery of myself in front of millions of TV viewers.

They need to listen to themselves after the day's play.

after listening to Zaheer and Waqar for sometime, I took of my headphones last night and enjoyed no-sound-stream. It was better than listening to their comments.

btw It was so annoying when Waqar was trying hard to convince Zaheer that Misbah should come up the order. Someone should tell waqar that ITS OK to disagree and Zaheer can have his own point of view ....

Thanks GA for the highlights.
And I agree this was terrible commentary.

dunya ko ek stream mushkil se milti hay aur aap do do le kar bethay thay ? :hoonh:

To all Aamir Sohail haters; what exactly do you not like about him? I think he is the best commentator we have. Mushtaq, Rameez and Zaheer are horrible! Waqar is good, but only in a funny sort of way.

You're welcome. I am not just talking about spoken English here. I accept that English is not our first language and desi commentators will make a few mistakes (even Rameez, Manjrekar and Shastri make a few errors from time to time if you listen carefully). That's excusable but (as Funguy put it) atleast say something that will make the viewers think about the game and maintain their interest in what's going on out in the middle rather than just stating the obvious which is the most annoying and boring part of their commentary...It lacks substance

'We must play well if we want to win...
If the ball bounced before the boundary it must be a four etc...'

even a 5 year old kid can say that.

Game bhai…because he speaks in a hushed tone for starters…he also does a lot of Monday morning quarterbacking.

Most importantly though, he uses long-winded sentences to put forth very simplistic opinions.

Sample this :slight_smile: :

Aamer Sohail is probably the worst commentator ever. The goras are usually good, and imo Shastri is probably the best indian commentator and akram the best pakistani commentator.

You should listen to hockey commentators you will love all cricket commentators then..i think its a hard work to say something as its happening so why criticize anyone for such a job..

This is bad yet so Hilarious :stuck_out_tongue:

make them stand in a line…aur aik toop ki salami de do. make sure both (canon n them) are facing each other :salute: