Can rules be bent by indirect expressions ?

I came to know from friends that in alot of Pakistani and Indian movies, most of the impure thoughts are conveyed through the majic of indirect wordings, and the same acts are forbidden by the censor board to show practically.

In some family and wrestling programmes some abusive words are effectively conveyed through a Beep as if smart children in present age can’t read the lips of the person who is using those abusive words, sometimes accompanied by the motion of hands/fingers.

In alot of places on internet code words like f***, wtf, bs…are legally used commonly by people, by now the meanings of which most of the people have learned from friends. Do stars, slashes or abreviations really makes it difficult for people to understand which alphabets are missing ?

I personally think an abusive word remains abusive no matter in which way it is conveyed.

Your views ?

Re: Can rules be bent by indirect expressions ?

Why the sensitivity to begin with? Because it's rude? It hurts your feelings?

When I tell you to **** off, it's censored so some unsuspecting 4 year old doesn't learn a new word. Everyone else knows damn well what I mean.

So, does that mean a word which you think is bad for a 4 year old to learn, is good for you to use indirectly in your language ?

Well-mannered people don’t use these words. I’ve noticed it in all cultures etc.
In desi culture, these words are taken as social symbol. people in PK think, they look more educated when use these English words. :smack:

The world is not completely full of kids, and adults have developed a mature set of vocabulary to express themselves. However verbal/written expressions should be age appropriate. I think its unrealistic to expect all the adults in the world to be always kid-safe in their conversation. The bleeped out words (on TV and radio) and asterisks in written media are just a simple way to ensure innocent kids do not learn some of these terms at an impressionable and young age. It may or may not work. Kids are smarter, these days.

I agree with CB well mannered people don't use these words and above all our prophet (p.b.u.h.) never curesed anyone and as a muslim we should follow his track by not cursing anyone.

nice reply…
I think its becoming fashion in pakistan to use ‘f’ word in their talk…I’m sure next time, I’ll be hearing this word from everyone in pak.

There is a word very commonly used in punjabi, the meaning of which is related to abusing ones sister. Throughout my stay in Pk, I heard this word used by people in almost all fields of life, whether they are playing cricket, or doing a job in any other field in life. Once a teacher even used it in the class, I am thankful to Allah that I was able to control my anger and remained respectful to him. It does hurt alot when people related to the most honourable professions use such words very commonly and openly infront of children, but expect them to not learn or use them.

yeah if a non punjabi speaker was listening he would think that banjo is a very popular musical instrument in Pakistan.

:rolleyes: like you know :hoonh:

Masha Allah
Jazak Allah Khair.

Kia zabardast post ki hai aap nain.

Cool breeze aap nain bhi bohat achchi baat kahi hai.

Bohat achcha sawal post kia hai aap nain submission.

Aik dafa hum aik buchchay pay ghussa ho rahay thay usnain forun kaha f u then I asked do you what you said. His answer was no then I asked why did you say that he said cause I say in TV when someone was getting mad on a person he said same thing.

Then I told him never ever use that word it has a very bad meaning. At that time I even didn't know its meaning but sensed that it has some bad meaning.