Considering how their nervous system is developed at such a small magnitude, do insects feel pain when we torture them.
- I do not condone torture of insects and I don’t do it myself because insects scare the hell out of me

Considering how their nervous system is developed at such a small magnitude, do insects feel pain when we torture them.
Re: Can insects feel pain?
I am not sure, if they do or not. They definitely have some reflex system in place but think of the moth that flies into the light and burn themselves to death. I cant imagine that they have to touch the surface to realize that its hot and there is not safe distance from where they can feel the heat but it still safe for them to turn around. I dont think that they feel the pain
Yes they do.
Yes they do, and they have senses too. You can experiment it by placing a burning coal in your back garden. Leave it there and monitor it, you will see that insects will AVOID it if it's in their path. Obviously it's their senses telling them that this object is HOT, so if the can sense HEAT that means they can also feel the pain caused by the exposure to extreme heat.
i would agree with xeno
Oh man… really… i better not tell you what my brother and i used to do to them when we were kids then …![]()
I’m going to hell… :hinna:
^ Me too.
My sister has a doctorate in entomology and she used to bring all sort of insects back home. You can guess, I also "EXPERIMENTED" with those poor creatures.
Yay i have company! ![]()
Entemology eh…
What an idiosyncratic choice, never heard of a desi studying this… kudos to her ! ![]()
They have senses, feel pain, can hear and communicate. They're considered one of the most efficient creatures of the nature.
Offtopic, but the story of Prophet Solomon (A.S.) and his army marching through what seemed to be "ant-land", to which the queen ant warned the rest to move out of the way, lest Solomon's armies crush them under their feet.......you know how the rest of the narration goes.....
That implies conscience and realization of death.
every living thing feels pain, this is question is like the urdu proveb "جوتا پہننے والا ہی جانتا ہے کے جوتا کہاں کاٹ رہا ہے ."
if you see a sick person you can't feel their pain or do you ? doesnt mean they dont feel pain.
No, they do not feel pain like humans or animals. The central nervous system of insects is only for "control and function" they have no sensation of pain per-say.
Even IF they DON'T feel the pain (which i have a hunch they do)... torture is like a big NO NO, and should be avoided... at all costs. Isn't it?
Their sound frequencies (which are ultra sonic to us humans) and vibratory sounds are i guess undetected to human ears, or I don't know... If they are audible enough, they might also be begging for mercy... but then this is a speculation, which needs a bit of a goooooogle-eye.
No, they do not feel pain like humans or animals. The central nervous system of insects is only for "control and function" they have no sensation of pain per-say.
yeah, i was think along the same lines. sure their nervous system is developed to help them survive so they feel some pain to get away from harmful environments, but do they really feel pain from the brutality they suffer from humans?
again, I do not condone the torture of insects or any other animals
yeah, i was think along the same lines. sure their nervous system is developed to help them survive so they feel some pain to get away from harmful environments, but do they really feel pain from the brutality they suffer from humans?
Yes , I think so....
it's like saying do small people feel pain?.. Of course they do.. every living thing does.
haan bhai they are living creatures unko bhi dard hota hoga :s
@hareem01:
you have done some experimenting ![]()