Can I add khoya to Seviyan ki kheer

Salam all,

Can I add Khoya to seviyan kheer. Most recipes I have come across add condensed milk but I don’t have that. The only thing I have is khoya so I wanted to get some advice. This is one of hubby’s fav desserts so I don’t wanna mess it up by adding khoya.

Thanks in advance

Re: Can I add khoya to Seviyan ki kheer

Don't add khoya, use cream instead .

yeah dont add khoya it will just make it all look lumpy ... use cream like 5amra said .. or let the milk cook on lowest heat for a good while .. it will thicken up for sure ...

I have whipping cream can I add that ? I have half a cup already whipped cream and I also have whipped cream in liquid form. Can I add those.

^ Maybe you should drop the idea of seviyan kheer

automne , no doing add that ... it will melt and look oily after a bit .. why dont you just leave it on low heat, put the lid on the pot and let it cook .. after about 25 minutes you will notice that the milk is starting to thicken up ...

Or if you want it the other way.. just take another pot and add in about 3 cups milk .. keep it on low heat and let it boil until it gets reduced to just one cup ... then add that to the siviaa's ...

TLK bhai I was hoping to kill multiple birds with one stone, either use up khoya or whipping cream and at the same time have thick delicious seviyan kheer.

Sevaiyaan kheer?!? Is that like sheer khurma??

yeah it is sheer khorma I couldn't remember the name sheer khurma :(

You can always the whipping cream, if it is not whipped. We add half n half in kheer.

Be adventurous in the kitchen at least. Mix khoyan and whipping cream in the seviyan after they are ready and cooled down and I assure you that your husband will be amazed with this new taste. Make sure you do not go low on sugar because once you add these two ingredients it will make seviyan phekey because they both have no sugar in them. I am saying from experience and done that.

Mirch bhai I will try it your way and if hubby doesn’t like it, I am gonna blame it all on you… he is gonna ban my coming to gupshup :hehe:

Did you remember to add chuhaaray to the sheer khurma as well?

I don't have chuharay... are they a must ?

I guess not, but they add that extra authentic touch to the sheer khurma. I find it soona-soona without it.

hahaha ...loved how you described sheer khurma without chuharay...

^how do u make sheer khurma?can u post ur recipe please?

So how was your seviyan ki kheer?

I want to know too, because I told her to experiment with adding khoya and whipping cream. :keeping my fingers crossed:

turned out awesome mashAllah sey. Hubby is picky abt his desi sweets so i was afraid, but he liked it so much he even had it for breakfast :)

Mirch bhai i didnt use khoya but i did use whipping cream and no chuharay. It was a nice ending to traditional meal of gobi aaloo and rotee.

Akmoti i will post recipe as soon as i get on my computer.