Can anyone tell me ............................

… why mums are meant to stop breastfeeding their toddler once they are 2 years old? I know that it’s a Quranic statement but what I don’t know is WHY? I have done this with all my 4 children and now cos my toddler is my last, I guess I will be really missing it so can someone please advise me here? My little lamb was only 2 last week and I have given her the odd booby feed so she’s so dependant on it now, she has always point blank refused bottle milk, formula milk and even expressed breast milk. It has to be direct from mummy cos we always have a cuddle and a sing song. Im gonna really miss that now, boo hoo :teary1::teary1:

Re: Can anyone tell me ............................

Might have something to do with being able to get their nutrition from solids so less need for milk....i think....

because its weird when they can just get up and walk away after a feed? talk about potential for childhood scarring :p

Teeth. Ergh.

Ouch. :p

I think because at 2 a child eats solids and doent need so much milk.

I think it looks weird to be breastfeeding even a two-year-old or child close to that age. Am I the only one?

Had a story in the uk , of a woman bf her** 8 year old.** It was gross to look at...........

Ppl saying its gross to feed a 2 yr old need to become mothers first, in order to understand the beauty of it ...for the others, to each their own :)

If i could, i would. Why not? Its my child's right. And no mother is exclusively still bfeeding her kid at 2.... The feeds have probably dwindled down to maybe a nightime feed or breakfast.

I have many danish and non desi friends who are still bfeeding their soon to be 2 yr olds... I never found it weird though ive heard often ppl sayong its sick...

Just dnt get what is so sick bout feeding ure child ?

I wish i could have breastfed my daughter...mothers who can are soo lucky. Inshallah this time i will be able to. Pray for me

Oh and if i can breastfeed this time i will do it for as long as possible!

I'm glad that the duration is clearly described in Quran.

Same here sparrow :d

Its definately not easy and time consuming since u get tied down but its the only special thing between mother and child that no one else can share, not even the dad.

Re: Can anyone tell me …

U just grossed out something very … Beautiful. If this image stops me from bfeeding my baby, ure gonna pay hareem :bailan:

awww no I think it’s okay to feed a 2 year old child, but I think mothers should try to wean off the kids at least 6 months before their 2nd birthday.

And as to OP’s question I think it’s part of nature, if you look at birds and animals they don’t feed their babies after a certain age, specially when they’re able to hunt and feed themselves. I think a 2 year old can easily learn to feed himself from the plate if given freedom.

lol I was going to post this :stuck_out_tongue:

^ bwahahaha! i love little britain!

The teeth are an issue much earlier. :bummer:

Errr LOL

I think that’s the answer right there!

This show is really old, very popular in Britain. Bitty was a very crude joke! Seen all the shows and yes they are very funny!

My toddler has a very varied diet and will eat anything mashallah, she has a very healthy approach to food. As far as I know, she doesn’t *need *breastmilk anymore as it won’t be making much difference at all. All the nutrients and minerals are coming from the normal food she eats. I think most mum just miss that closeness that mums have with their babies and if Im honest Im gonna really miss that cos she is my last baby, I just wanna hang onto the feeding a bit longer boo hoo, sob sob :teary1: