Campus Safewalk programmes

How many of you actually take advantage of these safewalk programmes at your academic institution ? Just curious.

at U of T, McMaster and Laurier, I've never felt the need to use the service... but when I was at Hopkins, we were strictly instructed to use it if we were gonna be out after 9:00 p.m. - we had to call someone and wait for them to drive us to our hotels etc. - but then, that was Baltimore... so go figure! :)

I took advantage of it. as a part of the volunteer escorts (no no not those kind of escorts) I walked many ladies to their dorm rooms, cars etc. Needless to say sometimes it resulted in future dates etc.

they should institute campus walk programs everywhere..lemme talk to our HR folks..maybe they can set it up at work also :D

Umar, the better the university, more the need for such programs. :P

^^ abey chuup... all the Unis have it... but to use or not to use is a personal matter. I got mugged once in Baltimore, so I knew better... maybe it'll prove the Uni's worth if I get mugged at U of T or Laurier :)

waisey I know ppl who know what time somone works at the safe walks, so they leave around that time, and get to call the specific person. You were kinda in da same breeeed haina... you Poondh you...

wow so it's mandatory in some places after, for eg., 9 pm? Very odd.

It's not mandatory at my uni. But i have a Spring course starting this Thursday that ends at 10.30pm, and i realllyyyyyyy don't want to be walking by myself at that time. Too many pervs on this campus. i think my uni has 1 female+1 male as the safewalk escorts. i think i will try it out... just afraid of looking like a wimp :o But better to look like a wimp than end up assaulted, i suppose. :S

I called them once & the people who were to escort me came over & asked if I knew someone who needed an escort. When I told them it was me, they started laughing.

sigh

Originally posted by ahmadjee: *
I called them once & the people who were to escort me came over & asked if I knew someone who needed an escort. **When I told them it was me, they started laughing.

sigh

awww hahahah :D :D

no Nadia, I don't think it was mandatory... it was just that since we were a team of researchers representing our respective countries and institutions, they had made it a point to tell us that we "should" be using the service to ensure our security - otherwise, it'd tarnish their image if something happens.

I got mugged in the first week that I was there, so I learnt my lesson early on!

*Originally posted by ahmadjee: *
I called them once & the people who were to escort me came over & asked if I knew someone who needed an escort. When I told them it was me, they started laughing.

sigh

hahahah, that was so funny.

I've never used the escort service at my university because there always someone (or a couple of people) to walk me back to my place.

I volunteered in the walksafe program at my U. But the campus police refused to safe walk me back to my place at 2 am :D

:eek: :biggthumb

*Originally posted by ahmadjee: *

sigh

sheesh...its guys like u that give us taghray desi men a bad name...

Well, I was sick to my stomach & thought what the heck, they can escort a sick person too. I don’t regret it … it was a wise decision. :snooty:

Fraudai bhai :eek: tussi te chaa gayay :eek: omg u were too much :rotfl:

Nadia yaar what an amazing thread it brought back soooo many cool memories from my college days [hug]]]] sighhhhh how i miss em :frowning:

we had this realllyyyyy super cool thing in our college :smiley: we had this service called SURE escort [only for females] which was basically a network of golf carts that would pick you up and drop you off from/to you wanted on campus from 6 pm to 2 am. you just had to call them 5-10 mins in advance. one golf cart could have like 4-8 people depending on which one it was.

we galz ALWAYS used to take this everywhere… !!! i specially used to take it alllllllllllll the time omg :smiley: it was really fun…the hardcore Muslim females group on our campus which i was part of was all in one dorm and the people from SURE just knew each of us so well…we had made it our personal limo service :smiley: we’d take it all the time just to avoid walking we had literally no shame and used to abuse this service like anything :smiley:

you better take it nadz :mad: :hug:

and haan, get PEPPER SPRAY :hug:

irem

hey...innovation is the key. but sometimes it backfired also, cuz u had to walk someone u had absolutely no interest in but they would just not leave you alone after that.

the annoying program was the campus safe driver program..u got admission to the local bars free and free snacks and non alcoholic drinks, u just had to drive drunks back so they dont get themselves killed or run over a pedestrian..

it was good work, but it got annoying real fast, I have low tolerance for stupid ppl, which comprised a high number of teh fubar'ed ones