Re: -Calling Your Relatives by Relations or Uncle/ Aunty
@ume zafeera: lol....this reminds me when my chachoo got married back in the early 90s (I was like 6'ish), my chachi was like "mujeh chachi na kaha karo, baji keh lo, khala keh lo lekin chachi nahi".....but me and siblings are such dheet haddi's.....we were like no way lady-you are our chachi, so chachi we will call you.
@the topic: well I prefer calling them by the relation. The funniest/weirdest to pronounce for me is phuppa :D
I would love for hub's nephews and neices to call me chachi/tayi/mami but they call me baji and have to be told to call me by the real relation :( I mean i already have my whole khandan calling me baji, i dont want another one doing the same.
I call everyone by their designated desi rishtaydaar names, such as mamoo, mami, chacha, chachi, taya, tayi, khala, khalu, phupa, phupi etc. etc. And I liked to be called by my desi rishta name also
i find it weird when people say mammoo and mammi and then when i say it like tahir mammoo or farah mammi i say it kinda fast and i dont realize i say it until i think about it
my uncle said it was disrespectful to say farah mammi and tahir mammoo
so when i thought about calling them mammoo tahir and mammi farah i thought it was weird cos i wasnt used to saying that like when you say AUNT BRENDA instead of auntY brenda
and then his wife told me and my sister to call her MOEMANI (she said she liked that) i forgot what that means and i barely call her that and my sister calls her that all the time so when she says it i have to say it cos i feel like she remembers that conversation and she'll bring it up again if i say farah mammi :D
i also laugh when my cousins call my mom phupi jaan :D
lol, my maami (maamu's wife) used to say the same thing, she hated it when we called her maami when she got newly married cos it made her sound old and weird, but now she's ok with it...
i think calling them by the relation is better as well, cos if u call sumone ur uncle, he can either be ur maamu, chacha, taaya and what not
It's always nice to call your relatives by their relation....khalu, khala, mamo etc
Not only does it show HOW they are related to you but also shows some closeness. I call strangers i meet at a shaadi or some party aunty and uncle lol
It's always nice to call your relatives by their relation....khalu, khala, mamo etc
Not only does it show HOW they are related to you but also shows some closeness. I call strangers i meet at a shaadi or some party aunty and uncle lol
One of my khala’s 5 years older than me. So this one time when we went shopping in Pakistan, i guess i was like 10 yrs old… whenever i needed to ask her something i’d say ‘khala.. this n this n this.’
The moment we came home, my khala went: ‘Khabardaar agar tumne mujhe aayenda khala bola. Aaj se tum mujhe api bola karo, dekha tha kaisay log dekh rahay thay jab tum mujhe khala bula rahi thi? :(’
Eversince, i call her api and her husband bhai. But when it comes to other relations, I like to call them by relation. It makes ur bond more personal and I think it’s also a form of respect.
…she is only 5 years older then you…
oh then again …my khala is not that much older then me…but the sad thing is she wanted to be called Aunty…and now that I am barhee…she looks younger then me…and people think we are sisters…but I can;t change the habit of calling her Aunty:smack:
My brother is also abt 5-6years older then my daughter…she calls him by his name:smack: