Calling Upon Someone: The Permissibility of calling “Ya Muhammad, Ya Rasulallah”

Praise be to Allah, the lord of the worlds, I ask Allah to raise the rank of Prophet Muhammad peace be upon him. Bismillahir-Rahmanir-Rahim, Al-Hamdu lillahi Rabbil- ^alamin, Was-Salatu Wassalamu ^Ala Sayidin Muhammad wa Sallam,

The Permissibility of calling “Ya Muhammad, Ya Rasulallah”

Tawassul is permissible. Calling upon someone who is absent is not shirk as some claim, as the Prophet taught us to call for help. Among what was mentioned concerning calling on someone other than Allah, whether that one is present, absent, dead or alive, is the saying of the Prophet: which means: <<If the animal of anyone of you went out of control in the wilderness, then call: ‘O slaves of Allah, help me’>>, since there are slaves of Allah * who will respond to him.

There is another hadith related by al-Bazzar in which the Prophet said: which means: << If one of you lost something or needs help while in an open land, then let him say: “O slaves of Allah, help me.”>> Another narration says: which means <<Rescue me, because Allah has created slaves whom you do not see.>>

When traveling at nightfall the Prophet, sallallahu ^alyhi wa sallam, used to say: which means: << O earth, my Lord and your Lord is Allah.>>

When the Prophet visited the grave of Muslims, he used to say: which means: << O people of the graves, peace be upon you.>>

Also In the Tashahhud in as-Salah the Muslim says: which means: << “O Prophet of Allah, may Allah protect you from infirmities, and have mercy and blessings on you.”>>

There is no harm in calling on and performing tawassul by someone unless one believes that someone other than Allah actually creates things. Hence, as long as one believes that only Allah creates them, there is no harm in performing tawassul. Likewise, attributing a certain doing to other than Allah does not harm unless one believes this doer actually creates. So once it is established the person does not believe the creating is for other than Allah then attributing a doing to other than Allah is understood in its proper context.

When one says: “This medicine benefited me,” or “This particular righteous Muslim benefited me,” he is merely exposing the created reason of the benefit. These statements are also similar to when one says: “This food satisfied my hunger,” or “This water quenched my thirst,” or “This medicine cured me.” When Muslims say such statements, they understand them in their proper context, i.e., food, water, and medicine are only reasons, and Allah is the Creator of their benefit.

We ask Allah to bless us with the guidance and to make us steadfast in following the methodology and the path of the Prophet. We ask Allah to let us consume all of our life in following the methodology of the Prophet. We ask Allah to make us among those who order with alma^ruf and forbid al-munkar.*

Re: Calling Upon Someone: The Permissibility of calling “Ya Muhammad, Ya Rasulallah”

روى البخاري في الأدب المفرد ما نصه : (( حدثنا أبو نعيم قال حدثنا سفيان عن أبي اسحق عن عبد الرحمن بن سعد قال : (( خدرت رجل ابن عمر فقال له رجل : اذكر أحب الناس إليك فقال : يا محمد )) ا.هـ . وقد ذكر البخاري هذا الحديث تحت عنوان : (( باب ما يقول الرجل إذا خدرت رجله )).

al-Bukhariy narrated in al-Adab al-Mufrad that ^Abdullah son of Omar's foot was paralyzed, a man told him: *"mention the most beloved people to you, and so he said: "Ya Muhammad", and he was cured. *

في كتاب البداية والنهاية لابن كثير الذي تحبه الوهابية في المجلد الذي فيه الجزء السابع والثامن ص 104-105 يذكر فيه عن بلال ابن الحارث المزني الصحابي الذي قصد قبر النبي وطلب منه ما لم تجري به العادة وتوسل به، وفيه يقول: "إن أهله طلبوا منه أن يذبح لهم شاة فقال ليس فيهِنَّ شيء فألحوا عليه فذبح الشاة فإذا عظمها حُمُرٌ فقال: "يا محمداه"، ما كفر ولا كفره أحد من الصحابة،

Also in the book al-Bidayah wan-Nihaiyah for Ibn Kathir whom wahhabis adore, in the volume containing the 7th and 8th chapter, page 105-104 he mentions that Bilal the son of al-Harith al-Muzaniy the companion who had travelled to visit the Prophet's grave and asked Allah by the Prophet (tawassal Bi Rasulillah), in that book he said: "Ya Muhammadah". He did not blaspheme, and none of the companions considered him as a blasphemer for saying "Ya Muhammadah"!! and that's because the companions knew that it's permissible to ask Allah by the virtue and status of our beloved Prophet Muhammad even when he's absent.

عند الوهابية من قال يا محمد بعد موت النبي محمد أو في حياته في غيابه فقد أشرك، ونص عبارة ابن تيمية في كتابه الكلم الطيب تحت عنوان "فصل في الرجل إذا خدرت قال عن الهيثم بن حَنَش، قال: كنا عند عبد الله بن عمر رضي الله عنهما فخدرت رجله فقال له رجل: أذكر أحب الناس إليك فقال: يا محمد فكأنما نشط من عقال".

And so according to wahhabis, the one who says “Ya Muhammad” after the death of the Prophet or before his death in his absences is considered to them as a Mushrik (a kafir one who associates partners to Allah)!! And the literal term of Ibn Taymiah in his book al-Kalim at-Tayib under the title “Section about the leg if it was paralyzed” he said: “From al-Haytham son of Hanash he said: we were at ^Abdullah son of Omar Radiallahu ^Anhuma, his leg got paralyzed, a man said to him: mention the most beloved people to you, and so he said: “Ya Muhammad” he was cured as if he had no harm”.

Re: Calling Upon Someone: The Permissibility of calling “Ya Muhammad, Ya Rasulallah”

Ibn Taiymiah the source of whahhabi beliefs, himself accepted and approved this hadith which contains calling upon someone (tawassul) by saying “Ya Muhammad” and so wahhabis would by their rule consider Ibn Taymiah as Mushrik, as well as ^Abdullah Ibn Omar as well as all Muslims on earth because they all say “Ya Muhammad” during hardships, and they all say it in every prayers. Also it was confirmed by at-Tabariy that when Companions went to fight Musaylimah the liar, their slogan was “Ya Muhammadah”.

So be warned from Ibn Taymiah and Wahhabis. You must be warned and must warn from their books and their fatwas that contradict the way of Ahlus-Sunnah and the way of the companions of Rasulullah (Sallallahu ^alahyi wa Sallam).

We ask Allah (bijahi Rasulillah) by the great status of our beloved Prophet, and great waliys, to protect us, and our nation, and Allah knows best.

Ahle-Sunnat wal Jamaat also consider the practice of Sahabaa, and how did they follow the sunnat.

any example you want to give, when a sahabi said Ya rasull-allah , not in rememberence, but actually calling for help, in the absence of Prophet?

even during his lifetime, no muslim called the Prophet (saw) by saying "ya muhammad", they used to call him as rasul-Allah....
only his enemies wud call him by saying "ya muhammad" because they did not want to give him respect....
those among the disbelievers who did not believe him to be a prophet, but nonetheless respected him used to call him by his kunyat "abu qasim"....

Umar sought the help of the descendants of the Prophet, invoked Allah through them, and his wishes were fulfilled. I refer to only two such occasions.

Ibn Hajar Makki writes in his Sawa'iq-e-Muhriqa, after verse 14 (from The History of Damascus) that in the 17th year of the Hijra people prayed for rain but to no effect. Caliph Umar said that he would pray for rain the next day through the means of approach to Allah. Next morning he went to Abbas, the uncle of the Prophet and said: "Come out so that we may invoke Allah through you for rain."

Abbas asked Umar to sit for some time so that the means of approach to Allah could be provided. The Bani Hashim (Ahle Bait) were then informed. Abbas then came out with Ali, Imam Hasan, and Imam Husain. Other Bani Hashim were behind them. Abbas asked Umar that no one else be added to their group. Then they went to the place of prayers where Abbas raised his hands for prayers and said: "O Allah, you created us, and you know about our actions. O Allah, as you were kind to us in the beginning, so be kind to us in the end." Jabir says that their prayers had not ended when clouds appeared and it began to rain. Before they could reach their homes, they were drenched.
Bukhari also reports that once during the time of famine Umar Bin Khattab invoked Allah through Abbas Bin Abdu'l-Muttalib and said: "We betake ourselves to our Prophet's uncle with you; so Allah, send down rain." Then it began to rain. Ibn Abi'l-Hadid Mu'tazali in his Sharh Nahfu'l-Balagha (Egyptian edition), page 256, writes that Caliph Umar went along with Abbas, the uncle of the Prophet, to invoke Allah for rain. In his prayers for rain, Caliph Umar said: "O Allah, we betake ourselves to your Prophet's uncle and of his ancestors and of their remaining respectable men. So guard the position of your Prophet through his uncle. We were guided toward You through the Prophet so that we may seek their help and do repentance."

IF YOU MORE REF: YOU ARE MOST WELCOME

DEAR FRIEND I KNOW THAT YOU ALWAYS TURN UR BACK WHEN I SHOW REF: AND AVIDENCE, How ever there is answer of you QUESTION IF you do not close ur eyes and ear and lock ur HEART.

The Hadith of the Blind Man

Tirmidhi relates, through his chain of narrators from 'Uthman ibn Hunayf,
that a blind man came to the Prophet (Allah bless him and grant him peace)
and said, "I've been afflicted in my eyesight, so please pray to Allah for
me." The Prophet (Allah bless him and grant him peace) said: "Go make
ablution (wudu), perform two rak'as of prayer, and then say:

" 'O Allah, I ask You and turn to You through my Prophet Muhammad, the
Prophet of Mercy; O Muhammad [Ya Muhammad], I seek your intercession with
my Lord for the return of my eyesight [and in another version: "for my need
, that it may be fulfilled. O Allah, grant him intercession for me"].'"

The Prophet (Allah bless him and grant him peace) added, "And if there is
some need, do the same."

MAY ALLAH GUIDE YOU

The Permissibility of calling “Ya Muhammad
Bhai sahab, when you respect someone you don't call him by name, but by his post, designation or qualities " Principle sahab, President sahab......etc."

Open Quran and kindly show me "ONE SINGLE" place where Allah has called the prophet as " Ya Muhammad"

Instead Allah has called by so many names related to the prophet (saw) qualities/ designation...etc. BUT never by his original name.

And then people are ignorantly writing and shouting "ya Muhammad" in Masjids. May Allah (s.w.t) guide us all.

I am not sure if I could not read your answer properly or you did not read my question.

Bhai, I was asking an example of a sahabi saying "Ya RasoolAllah" not "Ya Allah"

Peace Ahmad G

1) Tawassul is permissible – but calling on someone who is absent is not the only form of tawassal. There are correct methods and incorrect methods for tawassul.

2) No reference is given for the statement ‘O slaves of Allah, help me’ but this is not tawassul, this is hukm, we are not asking them to act as wasila to Allah (SWT) and they are also present and with us, but we cannot see them. They are not dead either, but alive like us.

3) In the quote for RasulAllah (SAW) “O earth …” in it no request is being made for help or otherwise … it is just a statement of declaration.

4) Again by sending salaams to the buried is not asking anything from them.

5) Again in tashahuud though we speak as though we speak to Prophet of Allah (SWT), we do not ask him (SAW) for anything.

6) It is true when alive people consciously help out others they are deserved of thanks as well as Allah (SWT) for making their help contain barakah.

7) In the mentioning of “Ya Muhammad” by your given reference, in it there is no supporting argument that suggests it was Muhammad (SAW) who helped the boy, rather it was remembering him that did it. It may have had something to do with positive mental signals. The boy could have mentioned anyone’s name such as his mother, as the instruction was to merely mention the names of the PEOPLE most beloved, not just one person.

8) In your reference “al-Bidayah wan-Nihaiyah for Ibn Kathir” the quote is incomplete and does not suggest what you are saying. What was “Bilal” asking and how did he ask it?

9) In your post Number 3 there are no references to what is being said, and no sense is being made in them either.

The correct method for tawassul is of two types:

a) Call a pious person to supplicate on your behalf
b) To use the name of someone who is loved by Allah (SWT) to add emphasis in the du’a for example;
O Allah (SWT) For the Love you have for your servant Muhammad (SAW) … do such and such .. Ameen! Or …. O Allah (SWT) just like you helped us when Muhammad (SAW) was here now help us …. And so on.

There is not other scope for tawassul. We can direct supplication to Allah (SWT) and we can do so in ijma and without ijma and we can ask those for help who are alive and can help in an action that does not involve the special acts of Divine Power. For example forgiveness of sins can only be done by Allah (SWT), or changing of Qadr too, but we can ask anyone to help us look for lost animals and build a house etc, but it is best to ask Allah (SWT) to reward those people who put effort into helping us.

Respect Allah, don't say Ya Allah.

In Saudi Arabia, Ya Muhammad is used to address a stranger in order to begin a conversation. It is considered one of the polite and respectful ways to address a stranger, as Muhammad is considered as the most respectful name anyone can be called, hence its popularity among Muslims worldwide.

Beware of wahhabis who hide by the name of salafis.

Abdullah bin Omar said "Ya Muhammad" as narrated by al-Bukhariy.
كتاب الأدب المفرد للبخاري ص/ 324 عن عبد الرحمن بن سعد قال:" خدرت رجل ابن عمر فقال له رجل : أُذكر احب الناس إليك فقال: يا محمد فذهب خدر رجله"ا.ه

Also it was confirmed that Khubayb when was brought to be killed, he called "Ya Muhammad". This was narrated by al-Hafidh Abu Nu^aym al-'Asbahaniy.
ثبت أن خبيبَ بن عدى الصحابي حين قُدّ م للقتل نادى: يا محمّد. رواه الحافظ أبو نعيم الأصبهاني. وهذا د ليل على أن نداء النبي صلى الله عليه وسلم في غيبته بيا محمّد جائز.

And the Hadith of the Blind Sahabiy who made tawassul by the Prophet and called "Ya Muhammad, I direct my self by YOU to Allah". And his blindness was cured. This was narrated by at-Tabaraniy and others.

And Imam al-Mujtahid as-Subkiy said: "It's acceptable to make tawassl and isti^anah and tashaffu^ by the Prophet to Allah, and no one denounced that from the salaf, until ibn taymiah came and denounced that and strayed from the straight path and innovated what no scholar did before him and he became amongst the Muslims as an example"
قال السبكي: ويحسن التوسل والاستعانة والتشفع بالنبي إلى ربه، ولم ينكر ذلك أحد من السلف حتى جاء ابن تيمية فأنكر ذلك وعدل عن الصراط المستقيم وابتدع ما لم يفعله عالم قبله وصار بين أهل الإسلام مثلة.

In short:
Asking Allah to fulfill the need by Prophet Muhammad is permissible. And that means nothing happens except by the will of Allah. Allah creates both good and evil, ordered good and forbade evil. Prophet Muhammad does not create benefit nor harm, but he can be a reason by the will of Allah for the fulfillment of things. Allah is the creator, He needs none. He exists without a beginning and without a place, all the creations are in need to Him.

Wahhabis only consider Mawlid as bad innovation. All Muslims celebrate Mawlid, because it's good Bid^ah. But wahhabis are so ignorant, they don't know what "Bid^ah" means!. they say "If you say Ya Muhammad" it's kufur!!! So does that mean Khaled bin al-Walid committed kufur when he faught Musaylimah with banner saying "Ya Muhammad" ?? This was narrated by at-Tabariy!

Also in the book al-Bidayah wan-Nihaiyah for Ibn Kathir whom wahhabis adore, in the volume containing the 7th and 8th chapter, page 105-104 he mentions that Bilal the son of al-Harith al-Muzaniy the companion who had travelled to visit the Prophet's grave and asked Allah by the Prophet (tawassal Bi Rasulillah), in that book he said: "Ya Muhammadah". He did not blaspheme, and none of the companions considered him as a blasphemer for saying "Ya Muhammadah"!! and that's because the companions knew that it's permissible to ask Allah by the virtue and status of our beloved Prophet Muhammad even when he's absent.

عند الوهابية من قال يا محمد بعد موت النبي محمد أو في حياته في غيابه فقد أشرك، ونص عبارة ابن تيمية في كتابه الكلم الطيب تحت عنوان "فصل في الرجل إذا خدرت قال عن الهيثم بن حَنَش، قال: كنا عند عبد الله بن عمر رضي الله عنهما فخدرت رجله فقال له رجل: أذكر أحب الناس إليك فقال: يا محمد فكأنما نشط من عقال".

And so according to wahhabis, the one who says “Ya Muhammad” after the death of the Prophet or before his death in his absences is considered to them as a Mushrik (a kafir one who associates partners to Allah)!! And the literal term of Ibn Taymiah in his book al-Kalim at-Tayib under the title “Section about the leg if it was paralyzed” he said: “From al-Haytham son of Hanash he said: we were at ^Abdullah son of Omar Radiallahu ^Anhuma, his leg got paralyzed, a man said to him: mention the most beloved people to you, and so he said: “Ya Muhammad” he was cured as if he had no harm”.

Ibn Taiymiah the source of whahhabi beliefs, himself accepted and approved this hadith which contains calling upon someone (tawassul) by saying “Ya Muhammad” and so wahhabis would by their rule consider Ibn Taymiah as Mushrik, as well as ^Abdullah Ibn Omar as well as all Muslims on earth because they all say “Ya Muhammad” during hardships, and they all say it in every prayers. Also it was confirmed by at-Tabariy that when Companions went to fight Musaylimah the liar, their slogan was “Ya Muhammadah”.

So be warned from Ibn Taymiah and Wahhabis. You must be warned and must warn from their books and their fatwas that contradict the way of Ahlus-Sunnah and the way of the companions of Rasulullah (Sallallahu ^alahyi wa Sallam).

We ask Allah by the great status of our beloved Prophet, and great waliys, to protect us, and our nation, and Allah knows best.

What does ya Allah means?

Here we go again... Ahmad G, bhai Sahib, since you are intent on proving that your belief in this Shirk is permissible .....can you tell us what Allah says about his nearness to us?

You ask for the rank to be raised when
you think he is not at the highest possible rank yet

so who is?

Brothers, you have to be careful. Wahhabis who say "it's shirk to say Ya Muhammad" would in reality be declaring the Muslims in general and the scholars of Islam, and the companions and even the Prophet wal-^iadhubillah as Mushriks!!

The Prophet himself taught us that if you are in a deserted land, call "O slaves of Allah rescue me"! This does not mean that Allah is not the helper or rescuer!! Allah made causes and reasons. The Prophet can be a reason by Allah's will that Allah would fulfill our needs.

If one asks: "Ya Allah I ask you by Prophet Muhammad to fulfill my need" you are asking Allah in honor of the Prophet to give you your need.

THAT IS NOT SHRIK. WAHHABIS CLAIM IT'S SHRIK. WAHHABIS OPPOSE AHLUS-SUNNAH NOT ONLY IN THAT, BUT THEY ATTRIBUTE TO ALLAH AND THE PROPHET NON BEFITTING ATTRIBUTES.

So that is a good way to settle and argument. Just because Saudis use it to show respect we should use it to pray and tawassal. Wow.