calling MIL's/SIL's/BIL's

Hey…it is question for married ladies…how do you call your MIL’s…I have heard some ppl caling them Ammi…but…how can one call them Ammi…is it out of pressure or wot…coz MIL’s usual characteristics are quite opposite to actual Ammi’s…

What do you call your SIL’s (if older) and BIL’s (older/younger) and FIL’s … I do not like to add bhai or baji to names…as I think it is only for your real brothers and sisters…but I wanna hear from other members…just to revisit my thoughts around how to call em’ …

ppl having real live examples would help me and others like me a lot!!!

I call my MIL...Ammi....it took me some time to get used to it but now its natural :D...i call my FIL...Abu....to call him abu didnt took me that long cuz i call my own father papa so to call him abu was just different.

my SIL, BIL are all younger then me so i call them by their names and they call me Bhabi

Re: calling MIL's/SIL's/BIL's

i call my saas ammi and refer to her as ammi. jeths are "XX bhai" and their wives are bhabhi...its not a big deal.

We men also have SILs, BILs, MIL, FIL.
l used to call my MIL ammi , she was so sweet and motherly. Allah marhooma ko jannat naseeb karray, Ameen. To my older SIL's I call them Baji or Apa depending what her brothers and sisters call her, they are all so sweet too. There is no pressure they need to be respected.
Older BIL I call them with bhai using their first name.
My Little SILs and BILs I use their first name or nickname.

Now do not ask me how many BILs or SILs I have. I will tell you , many.

I called my MIL ammi g because she treated me as her own daughter. I call SIL, BIL, bagi or bhai since they are all older than me.

I don't really call my MIL by anything. I suppose it's because I haven't really lived with her! I have tried to start calling her 'Ammi' as that's what hubby calls her, but it's weird. I suppose it will feel weird as I haven't called her that in 7 years of marriage! Maybe if I had started calling her that from when we got married it would have been different?

My FIL when hubby was young so I don't have that experience.

SIL's - ones older and one's the smae age but I call them both by name (Older SIL is also my bhabhi as she is married to my cousins brother)
BIL - He's 5 years younger and I call him by his name. He also calls me by my name, but calls hubby 'xx bhai'

personally speaking I would like how wannabe_a_mum calls... at present I cannot comprehend calling them Ami, Abu....coz I wanna keep my association for "Ami/Abu/Bhai...." really special and wanna keep it for my real Ami/Abu.....

But I cannot say this with 100% assurance as I ve not exp it...but I will prefer the way wannabe_a_mum has written......

But it is strange that by far the majority does call them Ami/Abu..while in my family ...most of them call MIL as Auntie, and FIL as Uncle......

But more responses from ppl who have experienced it is welcome....thanx in advance!

well... agar apni saas ko maan ka darja dogi tu AMMI hi kahogi...

my saas is kidna sunn..... u knwo wht i mean i mean shes slow, n kinda always n trans after my sasur died... tu bhooli si he i call her ammi plus shes super kool kabhi mujhe kisi cheez ko NO nahi kerti ...

since i am oldest bhabi n danish(hubby) poora family they all call me bhabi... n i call them by their names....

I call my MIL ammi. Older SIL is baji and the rest by name.

My hubby calls his mother "Mum" which is different from what I call mine ("Ammi"), so it wouldn't have been weird for me. But he finds it weird, so I call her what I've always called her.

I call BIL (older) and SIL (younger) by their first names, because I knew them before we were married. If I hadn't, I'd probably add "bhai" to the end of BIL's name.

Aunti and Uncle. My SIL is just an year older so I call her by her nick name and BIL is younger so also call him by name.

one shuld call in laws ,whateve u feel from heart!! i call my MIL AMi... i caall my SIL APPI n shes very good freind of mine as well smetime i call her wid her NICK ..,n i call my BRO in laws by their nicKs. they are younger then me

know wats inerestin?..when i was engaged..my sil and other sils(fiance's cousins)..all younger than me but htey never called me baji or appa..only the really younger kidz did..like who were like baches..nd my younger bil he only used ot call me baji if htere were other adults wround but in fornt of his immediate family n mom..he would call me by my first name..nd he would change his tone when he talked ot me also..my ounger sil ad bil never spoke to me or treated me like i was an older bhabhi that htey needed to respct..

That is such bad advice, I don't think calling her "chuRaiL aunty" would go over well with any body.

^ Nice :).

I call my MIL aunty, as she is my aunty, father in law Uncle and my SIL and BIL are yonger than me, i call them by their name

since i call my mom...Ma or mom....and papa.....i call my MIL 'amiji' and FIL 'abuji'
older BILs...by _____ bhai..and the younger one by his name....out of hubby's 4 bros..only 2 are married...the oldest..and the middle (mine) the oldest sis IL calls the MIL 'aunty' though.... :) so there is a difference.....whatever you feel comfortable with...

same as funeela ..but my MIL told me to call her ammi..like how can you call a person ammi when she is always after u:konfused: cause real ammis are NOT like this …:slight_smile:

It took me good 3 months to start calling my in-laws ammi/abu...i call my own parents ammi/papa. My husband really wanted me to start calling his parents ammi/abu...it took me a while to say it...but i'm kinda aight now.