Calling All Syeds

ASA :slight_smile:

Pardon my ignorance and plz do not take any offence, I just wanna gain knowledge.

So I have heard that Syeeds are descended from the Prophet (PBUH). Is this true? Or is it a myth? I havent heard it from any other muslims, usually only Pakistani.

Plz elaborate how this is.

Re: Calling All Syeds

Wasalam.
i am surprised that u havent heared it from other muslims… there might be few rejecting this fact but Syeds are decendent of Prophet s.a.w.
Prophets s.a.w progney starts with childern of Bibi Fatima Zehra (s.a), i.e Childern of Imam Hassan and Imam Hussain a.s. In some cases people define it differently

its a different story if someone isnt a syed but claims to be syed.
i think wiki did a pretty good job describing “syeds”

Sayyid - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Thank u for ur reply :) .. No I have not heard it from others. The arabs with the Saeed/Syed as last name, just looked oddly at me.

Anywayz, I'm just a bit confused now, you wrote that Prophets s.a.w progney starts with childern of Bibi Fatima Zehra (s.a), i.e Childern of Imam Hassan and Imam Hussain a.s. ... but werent all these killed before Imam Hussain was Shaheed? Or am I misunderstanding here..

Could u please tell me how people define it otherwise?

u r welcome

Imam Sajjad ( Ali Zain-ul-abedeen Ibn-e-Hussain) a.s and his son Baqir ibn Zain-ul-abedeen a.s were in kerbala but werent killed by Yazeedi’s. So Imam Hussain a.s linage went on from here.

Imam Hassan a.s linage also kept goin, we still have Hassani syeds around.
I read this pargraph in the biography of Imam Hassan al-mujtaba a.s

“Imam Hasan’s (AS) 3 sons, Qasim, Abdullah and Hasan-e-Muthanna, were in Kerbala and took part in the Jihad with their uncle Imam Hussain (AS). Qasim and Abdullah died of their wounds but Hasan-e-Muthanna survived. He was among the wounded and was taken out alive by the Banu Asad Tribesmen. They treated his wounds and once he was better he returned back to Madinah. It appears that he stayed with the Banu Asad for over a year and when the family of the Prophet were released from captivity and returned to Kerbala he joined the caravan and returned with them to Madinah after the Arabeen in the year 62 Hijri. He was about 17 years old at that time. Later, he married Imam Hussain ‘s (AS) daughter Fatima Sughra. It is from this marriage that the descendants oImam Hasan (AS) take their line in the family tree. Hasan-e-Muthanna’s son Abdullah had four sons, Muhammad Nafse Zakiyya, Ibrahim ,Sulaiman and Idris. Nafse Zakiyya rose against Mansur the 2nd Abbasid Caliph and received martyrdom, in the year 142 Hijri, 762 AD. Ibrahim fought Mansur in Baghdad and was martyred. This was in 143 Hijri 763 AD(See Hitti,History of the Arabs) Two other great grandsons of Imam Hasan, Sulaiman and Idris migrated to Iran and Tunisia respectively. Descendents of Imam Hasan from Idris flourished in North Africa and brought Islam in the Maghrib. From Sulaiman, who settled in Kirman, many of his descendents spread Islam in Persia and some of them later migrated to India. The writer of this book is also one of the descendents of Imam Hasan(AS) from the line through Sulaiman.”

http://www.al-islam.org/kaaba14/5.htm

I also heared about Hassan-e-Muthanas survival from an aalim.

thank you loads. That cleared up a lot :)

JazakAllah

I can see why they did. Those two terms are not the same.

The name Saeed is not the same as Syed. Saeed means "fortunate" and has absolutely nothing to do with descent from the Prophet. Syed is a title of respect in Arabic, and is often used by people claiming descent from the Prophet. So yes, if you were asking people named Saeed if they were descendents of the Prophet, they would likely be confused.

saeed makes total sense, but what abt people who rnt syed like first and second caliph and people use syedena before their name ?

i have even heared story where a person claimed to be syed becoz he was from the linage of one of these caliphs (i am not sure if he said first or second) but am sure if that story is true then it applies to both.

There are seyeds all over the world, as they often migrated from one place to another to due the intense persecution or for propagation purposes. I think Arabs have a different name for seyeds...hence the odd looks you're getting.

Not really. Most Arabs use Sayyed as well.

**'allaamah Iqbal said:

yuN to saiyad bhii ho, mirzaa bhii ho, afGhaan bhii ho
tum sabhii kuchh ho, bataao! k musalmaan bhii ho?**

Jafri; some use Sharif and Habib...as syed also means 'mr.', so is used to address any male.

in arabia they use sharif as a prefix for syeds , i cud be wrong though

the hashimite dynasty of pre-saudi arabia and jordan today are descended from banu hashim the tribe of Prophet

lots of syed settled in central asia as they were garrison towns e.g Qutham b Abbas a sahabi who was also a companion of our master ali b abitalib
’ +caption+ '](Samarkand: Shah-i-Zinde)

here their descendents were relatively free from the eyes of the secret police of the authorities.Many of them eventually ended up in northern india and muslim kingdoms in the south.

same reason why khurasan and ummayyad spain became such a big haven for fugitives from authorities.

So tell me what does "ummi" refer to? and is a Syedzadi not allowed to marry one .. is it Haram for a Syedzadi to marry a "ummi" ?

Ummi is mother o_O

^hmm no .. it was not mentioned in that sense ..

Maybe someone will remember if I mention the story below - :

Eik badshah khawahish karta hai ke uski shaadi eik Syedzadi se ho, par Imam (Sorry I have forgotten the name, I think it was with M) says to him ke apni bakwas band karo .. Apparantly the badshah is a "ummi" whatever that is ..

I cannot find the source online :( uff

^^ your story sounds strange, especially without a name...

Many Syeds prefer to marry their daughter among syeds but syed girls are allowed to marry non syeds. The only thing syeds cannot do is accept sadqa from others...the deserving syeds can only accept sadqa from syeds.

this is what happen when people live with hindus for so long..... they adopted their caste system with a different twist , syed become the new-brahmins
who dont marry their daughters any subhuman non-syeds ....i think i mentioned this before here but a friend of mine once was severely reprimanded for asking for the rista of syed girl , her dad says its like hes asking to pee on turbah or Quran ( cant remember) it was really funny

unfortunately this is common in sunnis and 12ers alike

Many Syed's dont marry their daughter's into Non-Syed's to preserve the bloodline of the Holy Prophet PBUH. As far as some people saying it's not allowed and it's haraam, is untrue. It is allowed it's just like i said about preserving the bloodline.

And as far as arabs go, they do use the term Syed quite alot, mainly shia ones but only for the men... and for female Syed's they call them Alwiya's

And sweetmoi i think what you meant to say is 'Ummati' not Ummi. An Ummati is a person from the Ummah of Prophet SAW and as ive already said a Syedzadi is allowed to marry an Ummati

Hope this helps

Sacred Knowledge

Here is a link of a certain Syrian Shaykh who is a Sayyid.

Peace