Call me by my name.

Re: Call me by my name.

I call hubby by his first name in public and at home but for some very odd reason he calls me “begum” and has seldom used my first name. I hate it!!! Begum just makes me feel like a budhi l:bummer:

^ begum lolzzzzz
but tats really cute and soooooo... ermmm........ so royal hehehe

i used to call my husband by his 1st name when we 1st got married but then this nosy aunty made a big fuss over it.... she went like wattttttttttt u call him by name??? urgghhh!
now i have to call my husband jeee in family gatherings. he calls me baby tho :D

that’s actually kind of cute Mahru :slight_smile:

nickname/ pet-name

its weird for me to use his name cuz i have always called him jaan or munky well usually in public i do use his name if i cant use anything else..

Nisa & Rukhsar: I guess you girlies are right. I will have to find happiness in him calling me begum. And, i know he just does not say it...it comes from his heart...;) Pata nahi kaun si pakistani movie se impressed hain.....Khair, when we first got married and visited my family for the first time and he was calling me begum...my sisters could not keep themselves from laughing their heads off.

LOL

When I talk to girls at work about my fiance, I mention her name. It’s only the first time when I say “My fiance, name” and then it’s just the name. She also mentions my name while she’s talking to her friends because most of her friends have met me and know me.

But yeah, she should be called by her name and should have her own ‘pehchaan’, rather than being known by the man’s name (nothing wrong with it though).

I like ‘begum’, it’s very dignified. If the couple is young, then it’s very cute. :smiley:

you guys can call me iori yagam’s fiance all you want, doesnt make a difference to who I am :rolleyes:

My hubby in public calls me gulaboo and guguu muguu and i call him sukhu coz he is extremely thin......We get a good kick out of it everytime.

^ Gulabo :D that's cute too Zaiboo

in public??? :hayaa:

Just so I don’t get it wrong, when your husband’s call you with you pet names, I am assuming it’s when they are talking to you, and not the public? Because I will find it very odd if a friend of mine says, “moti will be bring chai shortly”

call them anything you want BUT NOT

jaaaanu, jaaaaaaaaaaaan or jaani,

urgh its so annoying to hear that in front of 20 people including uncle and aunties

awww - you are so sweet…

zaiboo - aww so cute - has he ever said that in front of your parents :stuck_out_tongue:

My husband call's me by my name or Begum or short for name for Begum
Beg's LOL I call my Hubby by his name or by his pet name Doopley

Such a FUN thread. Such FUN responses. Yeah, like most people, if I'm talking to people I know then I use my wife's name, if I'm talking to strangers, then it's "my wife", and at home, since she is a gori mem and doesn't understand 'begum' or 'sunti hooo' (she'd be like who you callin a ho), and since we lived in the south for so long, it's 'sug' (short for sugar).

Agree with whoever said not to use 'jaan' or 'jaani' or 'jaanu', those make me cringe too. I don't know why, but that's my own opinion, so if you use those terms, I'm sorry if I offended you.

I LOVE 'begum', I so wish I could use it, but I can't pull it off. Once we have little ones, I might try 'choti ki ammaaaa' or something.

hehe....i can see a lot of haw hai coming my way if i open my mouth ,.....so I won't.