Cafe interview Q&A : Fresh-Baked-Pie (Answers)

Re: Cafe interview Q&A : Fresh-Baked-Pie (Answers)

I don’t actually think we’re in disagreement here… I’ll try and expand on my original answers so that you have a greater understanding as to what I meant by them.

Impatience, aggression, selfishness, and violence are all tied to how we treat people outwardly. The question is what gets people to this place in their lives? The things I mentioned in my original answer all lead to general feelings of resentment and detachment. If you are unable or unwilling to see the other person as someone who is worthy of your respect and compassion then it becomes easier to lash out and hurt them. That detachment removes the humanity of the other person in the “aggressors” eyes. This is something that must be guarded against for sure but I think it is shortsighted to not acknowledge the real life situations that can affect an individuals behaviour. We are the sum of our experiences and if our experiences start to make us feel detached then it becomes easy to justify bad behaviour. This isn’t right but it is becoming more common and more disturbingly; acceptable. Look at the countries in the world that have the highest “happiness index”](These are the 15 happiest countries in the world)… the things that are common there are a sense of community, access to social services, and jobs. When you remove the ability for people to have a future… they get desperate and angry. They don’t feel invested in their society and there is little incentive for them to be leaders in their communities.

I’ve got to feed my boy but I’ll be back in a sec with more.

Ok.. now let’s talk about this point of yours before taking it further..

“If you are unable or unwilling to see”.. <=== what makes someone not see?? what are the root causes?? why cant anyone see??

The answers to that are innumerable but distill it all down and in the end what you have, ultimately, is a choice. The issue becomes whether we can be nuanced enough to recognise that life is not black and white. Peoples struggles… the pain they’ve experienced lead them to a path and if they do not have the tools (education, self assurance, etc) to make the right decisions when faced with it, do they not deserve our compassion, our attempt at understanding what they have gone through… rather than our contempt and avoidance?

People can’t see “things” because they a product of their environments and experiences. Hard to see anything but mud when you are buried in a swamp.

Wow.. you really said “Choice”.. mashaALLAH..

animals, birds or other living things dont have choice but ashraful-makhlooqaat (humans).. :k:

and there is 1 more thing.. Tarbiyat (up bringing, instructions, education, training).. which matters most.. you left a boy in jungle, what he will become is animal.. likewise..

Of course it’s a choice… but I hope that more than that, you got that what leads us up to our choices is often times AS important as the choice itself. Life is a million shades of gray. If a boy steals, punish him. Simple? Maybe… maybe not. If you know the boy steals because he is from abject poverty and unimaginable living conditions… is his choice to steal a simple one? Is it black and white… what is the important lesson in the story? Is it “don’t steal”? Or is it more why has a society… a community… left a boy in such a situation?? It’s so much more than a good or bad choice.

I think all the things you list matter a great deal. In my ideal world every child would have access to them all.

And I am enjoying our conversation immensely by the way :flowers:

Okay guys, what about a round of applause for @FreshBakedPie…! For the first time, the interview thread of this season has crossed 100 post mark which is a big achievement itself and which also goes to show that she is well-liked n received by everyone. From her posts, it is evident that she is friendly, intelligent and positive towards life, a wonderful addition to this gupshup community. I don’t want to sound formal but yeah, Thank you very much once again for giving us your valuable time, FreshBakedPie.. :cheer: :party:

Took you long enough!!

Awww i am lazy… But I know you would not mind it .. We are good friends.. :lifey:

If a boy steals something.. it’s a bad choice.. but ultimately we have to look why he stole?? because of poverty? No.. He lacks training, education and above all Bringing up.. why his parents let him steal?? if they train/educate him well, then there’s no way he’s gonna steal..

I was watching a video the other day.. a boy from Pakistan went to New York for higher education and making New York community a better place.. He was a garbage collector here.. is it good?? yes.. everyone is proud of him.. but the parents who helped him out in poverty are not on the big screen.. why?? that kid is a result of good training of his parents.. it’s their choice to struggle and fight back with fate to make their kid a better person..

thank you :flowers: me too loving it.. but I think we should all start to look up at ourselves.. like throwing light on our behaviour/attitude/temperament throughout the day..

Yes, she is very nice.. and she did well

1 yay-smiley.gif

@Pakistani_Prince is it your turn now?? Hai naa?? :bigsmile:

may I open a thread with a hot seat for you?? :hehe:

I’m sure a lot of us cant wait to get their hands on PP :fbp:

kindly go for it :yess:

Ok I’ve some followup questions here. Answering them is obviously optional.

Guiliani was still not the best mayor NYC had. Why him? And why his theory?

Richard Simmons? Seriously? Koi aur nahi mila tha?

Having a dinner with DT, I strongly hope you talk some sense in him. Apparently all the other entourage failed to do so. But we have higher hopes with you.

O you didnt see Shrek? You should watch it with your son. One of the best animated series.

where will you get tattoos if you end up getting one? Any shape or word in mind?

Why picked June 28, 1914. Now i know it was the start of first world war but do you think you could have something to avoid it? Like what?

And yaay Tyrion..