Cafe Culture~

It’s everywhere, but Pakistan’s cafe culture has been there for ages,
small cafe’s on road sides, selling chai n doodh pati..
it’s a part of Pakistan’s culture not yet properly exposed, i think.

brilliant observation Mystical Miss gotta hand it it to u yaarrrrr :p

Tea culture you mean, cafe is more upper class I guess. I once read a survey on how much time we spend drinking chai in Pak, it's amazing :) Sitting at a road side dhaba for a doodh patti in tiny gande mande cups while gossiping and discussing ppl sitting on the next table is ahem fun.

Thanks Irem :)
Sabah, thats true, it's very common there, mostly you see men in those places.
I personally enjoyed those 'chai' stops while visiting rural side of pakistan, on long journeys, when your driving, and stop by for a break,
it's fun..and you get to see the real side of Pakistan..

Stopping by for a break when it's dark is an experience if your not in a very modern area. All sorts of weird looking folk milling around but it's good. Much more atmosphere at night.

yes.. been there so many times.. fun is to hear all the stories. especially sage words about politics.. with conspiracy theories at there peak..

One place in Lahore city needs due mention and that is "Pak Tea House".. a hub for poets and writers for decades near Anarkali.. this place surely needs a separate post.. so many famous writers and leftist movements had found their discussion place here.. dunno its still open or not..

*Originally posted by Degas: *
One place in Lahore city needs due mention and that is "Pak Tea House".. a hub for poets and writers for decades near Anarkali.. this place surely needs a separate post.. so many famous writers and leftist movements had found their discussion place here.. dunno its still open or not..

I know that place & have been there but many years back. I was like stepping in time zone of 1947 or something as my chacha ji said.

‘Pak Tea House’. This is quite an old article - but an interesting read.

*Originally posted by Mr Xtreme: *
Stopping by for a break when it's dark is an experience if your not in a very modern area.

yeah even better when it's drizzling and kinda cold..

yes.. been there so many times.. fun is to hear all the stories. especially sage words about politics.. with conspiracy theories at there peak..

Degas & Roshnie, i dont know about that place, but it sounds interesting, like one of those places where you would wana go and check it out..

2bornot2b, thanks for the link,, i'll check it out soon..

its fun and the desi food one can get from those hotels is :k: simple but :yummy:

the doodh pati is also :yummy: :smiley:

and the cups are not that ganday mandy … they rinse/wash it quite thoroughly :stuck_out_tongue:

^haan jee haan. Aik bare se hamaam main cups ko speed of light se an der daal kar bahar nikal lete hain aur phir chapaak se aik meel oopar se us main nai doodh patti daal dete hain-tannon cheeni ke saath :halo:

another recent marketing gimmick has been the coming of cable tv on these dhabays. The ambience gets so much rich with tons of cheeni in the mouth and kanon-main-ras-gholne-wale-gaane on the tv-along with some predictible dance sequences (on the tv that is)

I am the perfect example of practising coffee culture. It's bad. I can sit in a coffee shop the entire day. The thing is my friend is just like me. I can even sit in a cafe by myself, for one thing I love coffee, enjoy watching people and my own company.

But its true what you say about Pakistan.

yeah, the doodh pati is yummyy…
i think nobody cares about hygiene over there… as long as the doodh pati is yumm…

:slight_smile: so they are promoting these places?? is that what your saying?

*Originally posted by cat-woman: *
I am the perfect example of practising coffee culture. It's bad. I can sit in a coffee shop the entire day. The thing is my friend is just like me. I can even sit in a cafe by myself, for one thing I love coffee, enjoy watching people and my own company.
But its true what you say about Pakistan.

Ditto cat!

You see, Pakistan's cafe culture is taken for granted and isn't considered hip since it has always been this way. However, interestingly, the recent western trend of cafes is hip and very much an "in" thing. What Pakistan can do is to commercialize the cafes a bit and make them hipper so that everyone from the local cabbies to young professionals can visit them.

Oh all these posts... welling up that nostalgia i feel for that part of the world!

What's doodh patti? milk tea leaves? that would mean chai, no?

Mystical_miss:
What do u mean, its part of the pak culture but not properly exposed. Reading the posts gives me the impression they are ubiquitous, so where do u get the impression its not properly exposed. Do you mean not mentioned in travel books or Americans/Brits/Westererns lack of knowledge of these roadside chai shops?

Sweetpie,, yeah thats right..
Muni, yea thats what i mean, it's not exposed in the tourism sector,..
as a part of the local culture.. :)
n yea doodh pati is milk tea :p

Re: Cafe Culture~

yep! ya reminded me of my uni life :crying: i really miss it a lot… and that chacha chiay wala i can never forget… sitting there for hours … typical truck driver’s garma garam chiay… the best of it the music at these kinda cafes… lovely oldies beats mendhi hasan and noor jahan… utterly lovely …

:hug:

^ ishyjan,, have a cuppa~ :)