Caesarean or Normal Birth..

How did your little ones come to the world.. either Caesarean or Normal birth..

If you did have a Caesarean the first time.. did you have normal birth second time?

Which one would you prefer if you could choose? Caesarean or Normal birth?

Re: Caesarean or Normal Birth..

normal birth... if i can do it that way, i would never choose c section out of choice. longer healing time.

Caesarian

I didn't have much faith in my narrow hips, and relatives who had had one csection made it seem like a breeze and opted for a second, so I was already contemplating encouraging the c-section, as labor has terrified me for as long as I can remember.

However, it wasn't as pleasant as some people would have you believe. :D I even remember talking to my cousin on the phone and saying I didn't think I could do it again.

Next time (inshAllah), I think if there is a slight ounce of trouble, I will opt for the c-section.

Im so glad sumone posed up this topic i myself have been going thru a million thoughts in choosing frm normal or c section delivery, mashallah so far im 8 months and everything seems to be going smoothly enough to go for a normal birth BUT just a week back i started experiencing sharp shooting pains in my vagina and it was killer, doc wasn't sure if it was signs of pre mature labour or braxton hiccups so they wanted to check for dilation,OUCH!!! it was soooo painful they tried all they cud but remained unsuccessful in achieving a reading anyway turned out they where just braxton, but tat was it! i realized i cud neva put myself in tat position again. I know for me it would probably b impossible to deliver normally at tat point y put myself and the baby at risk (u know how sumtimes u know ur absolute limits and no compromise) also my family and friends had put me thru a lot of fear and pressure as to not getting an epidurial saying tat later on like 5 to 8 years u tend to have severe back pains some examples do lie infront of me too. But going thru normal birth widout epi is out of the Question (defo out of my limits) so i did a little google research on finding alternatives to internal checking of dilation, seems that there is another unpainful method available by the name of 'xiphoid process' dunno it is practiced here in pak though if it is then il risk the epidurial and take a chance at a normal delivery if not then i guess c section is prob my only option.
What i would like to know frm c section mummys how much time does it take to recover aprox, also is it true tat u gain extra weight? and can never get a flat belly again? but most importantly what are the chances of the stitches getting screwed? (like some ppl experience infected stitches etc)

hope to get sum positive replies i could use all the help i can get:)

I had epidurial and I have no side effects ... I would go that route again will never ever myself opt for a ceasrean ... there is a long healing process and once an ceasarean and in most cases allways a ceasarean.

I know a lot of women who took epidurals and had no problems.

Csections are major surgery. Do not go into them lightly. You take a shot in the spine to numb you. The recovery is 8-12 weeks. And you need help for those 1st couple weeks at least.

you honestly would have to be seriously deranged to choose c sec over vaginal birth if have a healthy pregnancy going on and a healthy baby too....

honestly... the pain is for a few hours.. yes its brutal... but big picture is.. its just fro FEW hours... c section on the other hand... they CUT you open ... put stitches in you.... and takes forever for you to heal! imagine not being able to lift your baby for the first few days.. or be in pain cuz you cant bfeed in certain positions cuz your stitches hurt or not be able to do things like a normal person for the first 2 weeks.

PLS dont take c sec lightly... god gives a woman strength to bear the pain of childbirth.. dont be wusses.. suck it up!

1) Epi's carry potential risks just like any other medication or surgery. Just b/c you may know others who had a bad reaction to receiving epi, that doesn't mean you should completely rule it out without talking to your doctor about your specific personal situation. I mean heck, there are women out there who die as a result of giving birth....does that mean you won't get pregnant?

I know quite a few women who have had epi during natural birth and no bad side effects. My SO is a physician and has given epi's to A LOT of women in the past few years. As a physician who actually does it for a living and deals with countless women going through birth (natural AND c-section)...even my SO says how he'll insist on me trying for a natural birth (with epi) instead of a c-section.

2) Avoid c-section if you can. My SO (from a professional perspective) tells me that a natural birth is always the best for mom if possible. My best friend had 2 c-section and she told me how difficult the recovery was. It is MAJOR surgery and should be avoided if possible.

I would NEVER go for a C-section if I didn't have to.

^ Agreed.

I think if there is no medical reason for a C-Section a vaginal birth is always better.

I thought c sections were only really meant to be done if there were complications, ie vaginal delivery would be deterimental to the health of mother/baby. I didn't think there was really much of a choice, as in if you just can't face a normal birth, you have a c section. Although in Pak, it seems that they are done left, right and centre! From my observation, c section healing does seem to be a lenghy process, and the mums that have a normal birth seem to be up and around so much earlier than those that have had the op.
If you have to have a caesarian for a medical reason, then obviously it has to be done, but if it's more out of fear then it seems normal birth is better all round. As has been said, C section is considered to be major surgery!
hinaz21 - as far as I know the xiphoid process is part of the sternum (boney bit above your chest), so it seems crazy to be putting an epidural there!

My SIL had her 1st via c-section and 2nd VBAC ie normal delivery.

I think this is the 3rd or 4th time I am mentioning my experience on this forum. Anyway I had a c section and I was on my feet the very next day. I even went to work for a few hours after a week of my c section. I joined my work again after 8 weeks and have been doing well alhamdolillah ! During my maternity leave too I was on my feet working in the house and taking care of my daughter. Hospital visits was almost an everyday thing for me so I was in and out during my whole chila period.

May be I was not given epidural that's why I haven't experienced so much pain after birth or may be I did not have any other option.

I think my doctor did a good job with my c section.

Vaginal birth is better than c section I guess so I think one should not opt for it unless and until it's necessary.

Ummmm hopefully someone can clear this up, but I've heard that in Pakistan and perhaps other countries as well, they will almost always push for a c-section cz since its surgery, they will get paid more for it than for a normal delivery....

i heard it to be the other way around.. my khala was forced to have a 14lb baby vaginally cuz the dr thought she could though all the nurses were saying yeh tho inka kaam hai, apna naam roshan kernay ke liye ... my khala had severe blood loss and is weak even now after 4 yrs since the birth... she had a miscarriage in those 4 yrs cuz the dr was saying her insides were nearly kaput.

she took some time off and then had another baby .. again vaginally, but nothing as big as the turkey she gave birth to prevoiusly...

anotehr friend of mine's life was also played around with when the dr pushed towards a vaginal birth rather than a c sec .... and the other ppl in the maternity ward were saying the dr was doing it just to gain some name shining...

its crazy.

I've heard the same thing, Sara.

Khawa, that's so scary!

that is just awful. Where did this happen?
the family should have sued him...idiot

Sara I have heard that too and most of such cases take place in not so well known small hospitals (which I believe do not even qualify to be called hospitals) . There is a dr in Agha Khan Dr Tahira Naro she also encourage vaginal birth till the end , I have not heard of any messed up case by her but yes I have heard that she believes in vaginal birth too much. In my opinion , I may be wrong , really old doctors encourage vaginal birth no matter what .

In my case dr asked me many times if I am feeling any pain but since I did not feel anything at all and baby was too weak to bear the pressure of vaginal birth and on top of everything she pooped inside & the amniotic fluid turned green (ewww) they had to operate. Otherwise they would have delayed the operation for some time preferably 2 weeks and minimum 12 more hours because I was suppose to be given two injections (very painful one) to strengthen baby's lungs but unfortunately I could only manage to get one injection.

Khawa if you dont mind can I ask in which hospital your khala's case was handled and who was the dr ?

Yah for me, I had developed preeclampsia. They were hoping I could make it to 36-37 weeks, but it just wasn't possible. To top it off she was breech and they thought she was small for her age and would be too tired out by labor, so that's why they did the c-section. She ended up being a perfect size for her age tho, so she was fine, mashAllah.

(I'm in the US; my doctor is desi and a friend of my parents!)

I had my first with C-section and they told me at hospital to make sure not to get pregnant within a year due to complications and also told me that my next birth could be normal if no complications occur..