Cadet College Hassan Abdal

You tell 'em Kaka! How dare they compare us to Kohat and stuff.

Also, I should mention that CCH was the first Cadet College of Pakistan. And to establish it the gov't of Pakistan especially invited Mr. Hugh Catchpole of Britain to be our founding Principal. So, we are the originals, the rest are copies.

Excuse me? Nothing beats CCH? Sargodha is tops!! Off xourse I am biased Any Sargodhians here?

All cadet colleges are different in the way they impart training. Hasanabdal always stressed on academics...but over the past decade, they have not maintained the level that they once had.

And someone mentioned Hasanabdal being the first cadet college? :) There were several before Hasanabdal...not just one.

Akif, you’re right Hasan Abdal’s focus is academics and increasingly so with the passage of time.

Our standards have not gone down, however, at all. In fact our results have only improved if that is possible. There was one batch whose matric result was ordinary by our level. However, we have actually done really well over the last decade. I am saying all this because I have and still do keep a tab on all Hasan Abdal results.

What has decayed is the discipline level and the accountability of the administration. The latter is actually a bigger problem and should be resolved soon if Hasan Abdal is to stay at the top of the heap.

Actually, the plan was to found a Cadet College in Hasan Abdal (and yes, it was the first cadet college in Pakistan) in 1954. However, to allow for the construction of the campus the college was convened in many different places in a makeshift arrangement. After the completion of the Hasan Abdal campus, the wings were shifted to where they stand now.

You can check out the following even though my information is based on some more comprehensive resources.
http://ccha.edu.pk/aboutcollege.htm

Originally posted by sambrialian:
** I offer my head for inspection Bhaijaan. Throughout my lifetime it has been free of lice.

And since we are making mass assumptions, that should absolve all Abdalians of this horrendous charge.**

haha.... Well the real reason was my mom didn't want me to go there because she was afraid that I would join the military afterwars... some neighborhood kid got lice and he was in hasan abdal at the time so she used it as an excuse so my father wouldn't send me there....

Sambrialian.

I remember a time when CCH students used to bag an average of 7 positions out of the top 10 in the board in board exams. That was in the early 80s. The early 90s saw a sudden and steep decline in that quality, and since then, while Hasanabdal maintains high academic standards, they have not been able to climb back up to the same level.

Regarding the first cadet college, MCJ Sarai Alamgir was converted to a cadet college in 1943, and that would automatically make it one of the first, if not the first cadet colleges in Pakistan, but definitely one before CCH. It was transformed into a public school in 1956, which a lot mistake as its conversion to a cadet college.

Anyway, I might be wrong. Dates dont matter anyway. I have visited virtually all major cadet colleges in Pakistan, and no two are alike, so comparison is impossible. They are all splendid institutions in their own right, because a lot of factors need to be taken into account, financial resources being number one.

Originally posted by Akif:
**Sambrialian.

I remember a time when CCH students used to bag an average of 7 positions out of the top 10 in the board in board exams. That was in the early 80s. The early 90s saw a sudden and steep decline in that quality, and since then, while Hasanabdal maintains high academic standards, they have not been able to climb back up to the same level. **

I'm afraid I'll have to disagree with that. I checked the latest matric result. Our boys bagged the first three positions in the board. And we do have 7 of the top 10 positions at least this year. We also had 15 of the top positions held by 18 of our boys. 22 of 30 positions were held by 27 of our boys. 29 of the top 40 were held by 38 of our boys.

Premedical: All top ten positions went to us. of top 30, 24 were shared amongst 29 of our boys. All three medals from the board also came our way.

Pre-engineering: Of top 10, 6 were obtained by our 6 guys. Of top 30, 14 spots came our way held by 15 of our cadets. All three pre-engineering medals made their way to our college.

I know for a fact that our O-Levels results are the best in the Islamabad-Rawalpindi region. This is because my entry did really well on O-Levels in fact so well that we got accused of cheating and what not. Disregarding that for a second, we honestly thought that we had some set of a record only to see the next entries to better our record by quite a bit.

Again I do not wish to "prove" you wrong or anything like that but I assure you that over the last decade we have only bettered our records.

Did you know that it was only in this last decade that we won the first position in the matric board after a long while? One of my seniors had so many medals he didn't have enough room on his uniform to hang attach them to.

**Regarding the first cadet college, MCJ Sarai Alamgir was converted to a cadet college in 1943, and that would automatically make it one of the first, if not the first cadet colleges in Pakistan, but definitely one before CCH. It was transformed into a public school in 1956, which a lot mistake as its conversion to a cadet college.

Anyway, I might be wrong. Dates dont matter anyway. I have visited virtually all major cadet colleges in Pakistan, and no two are alike, so comparison is impossible. They are all splendid institutions in their own right, because a lot of factors need to be taken into account, financial resources being number one.**

Hmm! I didn't know that. I guess the writer I read was implying that Hasan Abdal is the first college built entirely by Pakistan and not carried over from India like Atchison amd apparently Jehlum now. Either way thank for the correction.

BTW, are you an alumunus of any of these institutions yourself or do you have family in these places? Basically how do you know so much about these colleges.

I agree, Cadet College Hassan Abdal is far better than any of the other institutions.

My cousin went to CCH.

DOES ANYBODY KKNOWS ABOUT PAF PUBlIC SCHOOl
LOWERTOPA MURREE HILLS, ITS A PAKISTAN AIRFORCE SHOOL WHICH HAS REOPENED AFTER 25 YEARS I THINK IT IS ALSO A OPTION! A KOOL PLACE FREE OF WARM WEATHER!
ITS LIKE A CADET COllEGE!

Yeh Dosti hum nahi Toray Gay, toray gay daam magar tera saath na choray gay!
JAAN par bhi Khalein gay , teray liye lein lein gay, saab say dushmani !
Yeh dosti .....

Sambrialian

CCH has always had high academic standards. I was quoting a 'drop' in their standards compared to their own past, not in comparison to other institutions. As a matter of fact, I vividly remember a year when the first 10 positions went to CCH in the matric board exam, so no doubt they excel. But in the late 80s and mid 90s, there was a sudden decline in their performance, for whatever reasons. Im glad they have picked up where they left off:)

One more issue to note here is that CCH is perhaps the only cadet college under Rawalpindi board that imparts both pre-engineering and pre-med education, along with A and O levels. Most, if not all of the rest only have pre-engineering subjects available in the HSC.

And a final note, Aitchison is not a cadet college:)

And yes, I am an Alamgirian.

[This message has been edited by Akif (edited July 19, 2002).]

Originally posted by Akif:
**And a final note, Aitchison is not a cadet college:)

And yes, I am an Alamgirian.

I realize that Aitchison is not a cadet college but for some reason though they have no affiliation with the army they play fixtures and everything with Cadet Colleges. So, they are always mentioned as a sister institution. Anyways, Aitchison is one cool place.

Good to hear that you are an Alamgirian. I was under the impression that for Alamgirians it was essential to go into the army?

I agree with you on the part about Aitchison. My comment was more sarcastic, since their setup is more designed to produce 'brown sahibs', to quote Imran Khan:)

Regarding MCJ, yes, they do require cadets to appear in the ISSB tests, and if selected, they have to join PMA, else pay up.

Re: Cadet College Hassan Abdal

What is an Alamgirian?

I am interested in the private sector of Pakistani education, Are there many private schools offering A level education ect in the Pindi-Islamabad area?

Thanks

plenty i believe;

saint mary's academy

beacon house

frobells

probably grammar school and roots

plus im sure many more by now

inna old thread!!

east or west

Lawrence College, Murree and Saint Marys, Rawalpindi are the best

Whats St Mary's?

Does it have a website?

I checked the LC one. It doesnt seem to offer much extra curricular stuff.

uss nai bachai ko admission dilwana hai cadet college mai:smilestar: BOMB sai uss ko urana nahi:hoonh:

LC is a hostel; so its got alot of extra curricular stuff; their website does not reflect the college, its too basic! from debating competitions, to sports leagues, to scouting, to trips etc

but they dont do A levels, probably are starting soon

Saint Mary’s Academy, Rawalpindi

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

St. Mary’s Academy is a private English-medium school in Rawalpindi, Pakistan.
In its Senior Cambridge curriculum, St. Mary’s prepares students for the University of Cambridge GCE Ordinary Level examinations. The school’s students frequently win awards and honours, and often go on to highly-ranked educational institutions in the United States or the UK.
Now the school has switched over to the GCSE and GCE system from the University of Cambridge but the Religeous Studies(except Islamic Studies) examinations are being attempted from the EdExcel Board. In addition, the school is now a Fellowship Centre for Cambridge International Examinations. Only a couple of centres have been awarded this prestigious title in the world.
The school is located in the Lalazar area of Rawalpindi.

It offers O and A levels; been established since 1960’s i guess;
they do matric but are now introducing Fsc aswell!
excellent stduent results; 80% of O level students get 4/5 A’s and 35% of A level students get all 4 A’s!

the students regularly win the natinal chemistry, maths challenges etc. recently a student has been nominated the best young economist of Pakistan!

the chairman of International Cricket Council Ehsan Mani is a St Marian!

the point is its doing very well!

Oh that seems a nice place.

Website?

no website, sorry