Buzurgon Ki Baatein

So I was reminiscing about my Dada marhoom with my Dadi today and we were just remembering some of the funny things he used to say. That got me thinking about all the other buzurg log I know and some of the funny and outrageous things that they say. Old people can be HILLARIOUS with their old wives tales. I thought it would be great if we could all share some of the things our parents/ grandparents say

I’ll start with a few

My dad always points with his middle finger (I live in America, this is considered a bad symbol)

My Dada had a coworker whose name was Guy (I guess its a name of british origin?) So Dada came home one day all upset saying, “Ye goray koi bhi naam rak lete hain, Guy, bhains, bakri, ye koi baat hai?” hahaha I still crack up at that everytime

Re: Buzurgon Ki Baatein

^ that’s funny :slight_smile:

My great grandma (naani’s mother, who only passed away last year) would get all too conscious (fixing her chadar etc.) when we switch the TV on. For a long time she used to think that people in the TV can see us just like we can see them :hehe:

Hahahaha! Too cute!

that is adorableeeee. reminds me of my grandad who just couldnt get his head around what hair straightners actually did, i was just like abuji, makes your hair straight? he even let me use them on him :) poor thing didnt realise they would be hot and i ended up burning his ear lol he was not impressed.

Come on guys please share more stories. This is a really cute thread!

Very neat stuff :hehe:

^^ Jaanwar wth!! :confused:

I just noticed your signature Now. :slight_smile:

lol :hehe:

You put on that signature after my comment for you in that “Message of guppies” thread or was it there before??? (that was a mindf**k for you btw)

and yeah may be this thread is too cute and “neat” for your liking :stuck_out_tongue:

Tox - :omg: it was there before that, and I thought you were commenting on my signature :smack:

Come on man, I meant it when I said this thread was neat :hehe: I would have contributed if I weren’t at work - and not winding two kids up in the Cafe :hehe: will contribute here later, you guys carry on :k:

:shikari:

I got so excited when I saw there were 4 new posts and they turned out to be unrelated :hinna:

Mano Rani, kaho toh abhi jaan day doon :blush:

:hehe: sorry just popped in to see if there were any more stories to read, but arrrgh nothing :naraz:

hhahahhaha :omg:

i had prof whose name was Guy, but i never think his name like that…hahaha.

Lol…once my dad said to a gori, what a cute bitc* you have :hehe: (lol. the way he said it was funny)

Oh such a nice thread yep buzarg are so nice people.:(

*When I was little and I was in Pakistan visiting, I was asked about my friends- what they are called etc and I happened to mention ‘mere class mein do Joanne’s hain’ my nana abu was like ey kuri do jawaana nu jaan di a :rotfl: I still get ragged about that!

*When my grandparents move to the UK, they opened a chain of grocery stores to start off with. Daada abu could speak English but daadi could not apart from the odd word here and there). My daadi jaan used to sometimes have to mind one of the stores by herself and she caught a thief (someone attempting to rob butter:omg:) and she told him to ‘fish off’ she meant errrm ‘pee off’ [substitute pee for something a little stronger]:rotfl:

I need to hook my daadi jaan up to this thread, she could keep you guys amused for days on end:hehe:

:omg: :omg:

:rotfl: :hehe:

That’s the best one so far.

:bummer: my jaws are hurting.

Such a cute thread:cb:
And the stuff mentioned:omg:…esp the gai bhainss

My Dada used to say this one thig…he used to look very young…and when the doctors used to ask him his age…He would say…“Meri umer teh meri maan nooin hi pataa si, hun oh foith hogai hai…asliye meinoo teh nahi paatah”…on insisting from the doctors he would say 60+..:smiley:

I said that when I was about 6:konfused: and up until a few years ago I never understood why people found it so amusing:rotfl:

:omg: :omg: so good!!!

this is slightly off topic, but sometimes ppl try so hard to hold onto the "old ways": Some family members came from pak and would refuse to cut their nails or let us cut our nails in the night saying that "humaray baray buzoorg kaabhi raath ma nakhoon nahee caathay thay"

well Hello, maybe cause they didnt have light back then...