Buying meat

Foreign guppies mostly but khair.

1. Do you guys buy meat from muslim shops that label the stuff “Halal” even though 99% of it comes from same place. Just buy it as it says halal and can’t do much about it.
  2. Buy from any store either gora or desi, as it doesn’t matter. E.g. Tesco’s, Asda and so on.

I’ve had very heated discussions with friends and family about this and I’ve stopped discussing it with them at all, but this is eating me alive. Might as well go vegetarian or something (yuck :frowning:
Something for supposedly halal restaurants, be desi or fast food chains even McDonalds with halal sticker on front. Do you eat from there or not?

Re: Buying meat

Jispe apka dil maney :slight_smile:

dil nahi na manta :frowning:

Ethan, I suppose you’re in UK, right? Go for HMC halal meat. Meat stamped by HMC is the most reliable halal meat in UK.

When I was in UK, I was buying organic halal meat from Ibrahim Organic Farm in Summerset…but it’s expensive so we were eating meat like only twice a week instead of everyday. One day I’m gonna raise my own chickens and grow my own veggies inshaAllah.

Then don’t eat. Or confirm yourself. I think Asda has halal meat. @ehsan uncle… It’s Asda right?
I don’t eat jab mera dil nai manta. It’s just meat.

McDonalds having halal stickers? That’s news to me. Here in the states, the only corporate store that supposedly sells Halal chicken meat is Costco but we don’t buy it from there. Well actually my dad wanted to buy from there because it was convenient but I was ticked off that there were no signs near the meat saying it was halal, only if you picked up the meat, on the back in a tiny label it would say halal and also if you asked employees where is the “halal meat”, they would have no clue. I mean if they were trying to reach out to muslim community, why be so subtle? Once we realized that many restaurants and stores etc. may say they have “halal” meat but when you ask them is this zabiha? Half of them have no idea wth we are talking about so we only buy meat from a shop that sells verified zabiha meat and only eat at restaurants that also have verified zabiha label on them. Personally, I wouldn’t eat from the places that you mentioned because there is a big difference between halal and zabiha.

We even have a halal Nando’s in UK. :smokin:

wow, Mashallah. Good luck with those chickens.
That’s interesting to here. I’ve looked the website and did an outlet search and turns out we buy from the halal shop as well, alhamdulillah. Something just doesn’t feel right about that. I feel like they probably do some dodgy stuff from time to time.

how can one resist biryani :frowning: can you? CAN YOU?
aahhh tesco and asda, damn horse meat sellers. I’ve heard some store sell halal meat but what if they use the same knife or same glove. I live in like 90% gora community so supermarkets are a little hesitant selling that stuff.

i’m like 90% sure i’ve seen a mcdonald with halal sticker on the front sisha, and 100% sure about kfc unless i’m tripping and what not. Khair, my bros sometimes eat from there and i don’t even go near them.
completely agreed with the bolded part.

this is from domino website

wtf does it even mean?

The halal meat counters in ASDA and tesco only sell halal meat and there is no contamination with non halal meat. The meat in these places is more halal, more hygienic and far superior quality than the one sold in desi stores. One who knows a lot about this trade let me tell you something, the desi stores sell low quality meat which is grade c or worse and a lot of it is non halal, regardless of what they say.

lol…they’re confusing everyone.

I agree with you about not eating from food chains like McDonalds and KFC…I don’t even eat from their stores even in Middle East.

Salam Ehsan bhai…can you please tell me more about Asda and Tesco’s halal meat…where do they get their certifications from?

that’s good to hear :frowning:
might as well go vegi at this point. no store like that here.
what do ehsan bhai, what do :frowning:

The Halal meat counters in ASDA and tesco are not run by these supermarkets but are contracted out to Muslim companies. I am involved with the company which runs ASDA counters, was also involved with the company which runs Tesco counters. Worked with both of them as consultants to bring Halal meat to the supermarkets. The meat comes from halal abattoirs which are inspected and have muslim slaughter man. Trust me they are more halal than the desi stores. ASDA and tesco are so strict on halal because their reputation is at stake if non halal is found there. Your local desi butcher doesnt care nor there is anyone there to check them.

@ethan
I thought you were in UK…just saw your location. Eat fish and eggs, Ethan. :confused:

Which area do you live in?

Thanks. I think I’ll go for Asda halal meat next time I’m in UK. I don’t trust the local halal butchers either but is HMC any better?

i’ll pm you.

I am in UK behan ji

HMC, I rather not say anything on this forum, nobody in the meat trade has a good word for them. They are making money by fooling people. :slight_smile:

i’ve heard about two certificate issuers. One being HMC and one being something else. one is strict and other won doesn’t do any checks.