Buying land in Lahore

My knowledge on Lahore is virtually non existant so I have a couple of questions about buying a plot or a property in Lahore which I hope you guys can help with :slight_smile:

1/ Which parts of Lahore would it be better to buy land or property in? Land would be purchased with the aim, later on of building a house there.

2/ How much would one be needing to look at for prices in these areas of Lahore?

3/ It would be a long term investment, so with that in mind would I be better off looking at property or purchasing a plot.

Any other bits of information or links that would be useful, are most welcome.

Ukwali

Let me take a first stab at your questions. I will tackle them in reverse order.

#3. Buying property for investment only makes sense if you are planning to rent them out. Otherwise they will fall into a state of disrepair. In Pakistan, renters enjoy lots of protections, and if you get stuck with a bad tenant, you will have a lot of trouble to get him out of your property. In many cases, you have to pay them extra for them to vacate. So, if you are unfamiliar with all that scene, you will be better off just buying a piece of plot in a reputable area, where there won’t be chances of qabza-groups coming in and grabbing your land.

#2. Prices vary a lot. THey have increased incredibly in the last 2-3 years since a lot of Pakistanis moved their funds back to Pakistan (for fear of US govt taking them for anti-terrorist suspicions) and have invested heavily in a lot of places, including real estate. The best area in Lahore may start from Rs 40 lakhs per kanal (4,500 sq. foot) and in some desirable locations in the suburbs, you can probably get a same sized plot for Rs 6-10 lakhs.

#1. Best area is Defence. No question about it. They have expanded a lot. There probably won’t be any plots left for sale in their phase I, but in any case, they go for Rs 60 lakhs. Phases IV and V are probably in the 30-40 lakh range. If you are looking for plots for less, then check out new developments on canal. Even as far as Canalview, you probably won’t find anything for less than 20 lakhs. However, if you venture even farther on this side of Multan road and Canal, you may find good deals in Izmir society for probably a less amount of money. For investment purposes, this is probably the place you need to check out. Their management has another well-developed housing society called Valencia.

Their contact information is
Telephones: 5712300, 5874771, 5874672
Fax: 5711636
Postal address: 99-P, Gulberg II, Lahore, Pakistan.
Email: [email protected]

Here is also another useful link. Click here

Faisal, do you know if US citizens of Pakistani descent can take out mortgages to finance real estate acquisitions back in the motherland?

No I don't. US citizens of Pakistani descent can buy property in Pakistan as long as they have POC (Pak Origin Card). Whether they will be able to get mortgage from a US bank for this purchase is for them to find out. I wouldn't think so.

No I meant from Pakistani banks in the US like Habib. Are mortgages offered for land purchasing by paki banks in the US in dollars? I am asking because such products are not offered by Indian banks yet.

Thanks so much Faisal Bhai for that info, I will have a look through the links also.

Ukwali

Thanks a bunch for that detailed information Faisal. It might help me too (in a few years). :)

Faisal have already given a detailed answer but I disagree on some points.. being involved in property and construction and still keeping in direct interest while living in USA I can add that..

• For sake of living best area in new societies would be Tech Society at canal .. its so close and almost all are educated people residing there.. prices are around 30-40 lakh Kanal. 500 square yds.. My choice though is always Model Town Lahore .lived there so long and always found great greenery and great people... Lahore Cantt also is a great place live.. Infact for living there are so many great places at higher end..like Zafar Ali Road, some parts of Gulberg and others.. Defence has attracted rich from all parts of city and it creates problems some time..

• For investment point of view EME at Thokar was a great choice couple of years back.. new phases of Defence and some parts of Jauhar town can be considered too.. it depends how much one want to spend and for how long..

The Housing Building Finance Corporation does offer loans for the purchase of houses for overseas Pakistanis, and I think it’s the onlyt Bank which offers the facility in almost every major town or city. My family was interested in applying, but I don’t know anyone else who has tried and the paperwork looks like a pain (but then buying a house always has a lot of paperwork)
Heres the address, hope it helps:
http://www.hbfc.com.pk

I've heard that interest rates are as high as 20% on any bank loan in Pakistan?. Is this true?. If it is, why would anyone living in the USA buy land on borrowed funds?.

^–FG: Interest rates have touched rock bottom here man..where are you living? 6-month GoP Treasury bills have bottomed to a little over 2% and are expected to bottom further.

It’s time to get credit like crazy here! :~) car financing, consumer electronics & durables financing has really picked up..same holds true for mortgages.

I am not too sure about mortgage rates as of now, but i can assure you they ain’t 20% for sure.

Faisal: Farigh waqt main property dealing ki hai kia? :stuck_out_tongue:

CH: I would highly doubt that. Had it been so, expats would not have been running helter skelter to get plots in pakistan thru their inland relatives and acquaintances. What are the mortgage rates there btw, i sense if it happens, we have a fair arbitrage here! :devil:

CH. I am sorry for misinterpreting the question. To be honest, when I had left Pakistan, there was very little going on in the lending market. It was the time, when banks were coming out with newer products for lending. A few years ago, car financing was unheard of. But in the last 3-5 years, primarily due to the push by Citibank, Car financing is very common now. Presumably, home loans are very quickly coming along too. By my estimate, the products are not as mature as in US, ofcourse, but they are available to some extent. Whether expat Pakistanis have access to such products, is something they need to check. As I said before, I will be very surprised if they have, but can't say for certain.

Degas.. I agree that Model Town, Zafar Ali Road, Gulberg are all great locations, but it will be extremely difficult to find open plots in those places. Even Garden Town and Muslim Town are getting tough. Cantt is also good, though open plots are very expensive. Defence is a great place to live. It is structured, rules are implemented without regard for status or position, its clean, and it has all facilities of a happening residential area. Beautiful houses, great landscaping and availability of all civic facilities make it a choice location, even though it is so far from the city centre (Mall Road and Bank Square etc). Their Z-block's commercial area is now as chic as any marketplace, with all name brands. And these are just a few reasons why the area commands such obscene values for plots and houses. Even Phase II, which is directly below the flight path and has horrible noise pollution, the plots are so expensive. Phase IV and V, even when they are at the very corner, near Packages, were sold like hot cakes when they had the balloting a few years ago.

Tech Society is good, howeever, it is far closer than Canalview, and even in Canalview the price of plot has sky-rocketed. EME, Johar Town, Wapda Town and Valencia are all nearby. If someone wants to invest less than Rs 10 lakhs, then they will be hard-pressed (in my view) to find anything there. Ofcourse, one can always get lucky. In most cases, they will have to move further down the canal, across Thokar Niaz Beg. Thats where Seth Abid's Green Forts and Izmir come into the picture. While I am suspicious abotu Seth Abid's projects, in general, Izmir and Valencia are very well run by their managament.

faisal remember wat the prophet saw said about suspicion and if u cant remember read the hadith.

Yaar someone should suggest buying some land in the Texalee-gate. Or a house in Moree-gate. May be some land near buddha-darya, even krishan-nagar (now Islampura).

why borrow? accumulate the cash and pay up front.

:gizzy: