Buying Land in Gwadar

Hey guys

If any of you expatriate folks can afford it, I personally think this is a really great investment opportunity.

Land in Gwadar is really HOT and from what I hear from people, they’re developing Gwadar into this really awesome place which will overtake Dubai and other places, the engineers who are working there say this.

This booking office opened up near our house for bookings in Gwadar and apparently all the lands were sold out THE SAME DAY! Beat that.

The other HOT place was Askari in Rawalpindi. That was getting booked like hotcakes as well.

If you invest in Gwadar now, you’ll be selling it for lots and lots later and not to mention it will be a great place to set up a shop etc.

Personally I’m broke and can’t afford to do this but if I had the money I’ think I’d seriously consider this.

Re: Buying Land in Gwadar

*Originally posted by irem: *
Gwadar into this really awesome place which will overtake Dubai and other places, the engineers who are working there say this.

you know that gwadar is in pakistan, where boasts and claims are higher then anything else.

nomaan

actually this is not entirely true...

b/c you see:

i dont know if you know about this but a long time back there was a claim that they are gonig to develop sea view in clifton karachi and its going to become a really posh residential area (the area right next to the sea) at that time the plots of land there were hecka cheap. now they have reclaimed that area and the plots there are selling very expensive.

i just know that right now if i was in the financial position i would invest in Gwadar. its the upcoming hot place in Pakistan. im not saying i would invest a HUGE deal, but maybe buy a small piece of land there so that later when they say "Gwadar turns to Gold" i can capitalise on that .. maybe open a small shop or sell the land or something ....

i'm sure gwadar is/will be a good deal for investors. claiming that it'll be comparable to Dubai is another thing.

comparable??? pssshttt

Dubai kya…hum toh Dubai ko bhee pichay choR deyn ge :jhanda:

p.s. waise u r right abt that…that remains to be seen…but i dont doubt that we have that potential…if we go abt this the right way w can make Gwadar something really big…(inshallah to that)

What place is this Askari in Rawalpindi?

Gawader land is already out of reach (for me atleast) :)

Plus to buy land in Gawader you need to have "hello hi" with local SARDAR or you need to have someone (comissioned) in Army so that he can fix the things for you if you are screwed !

good idea

On the contrary Irem....this is not a good time for property deals related to Gwadar. The risk for fraud is monumental. The army directorate for housing, DHA itself has forbid all land sales and purchases because of massive frauds. Have you ever noticed that these Gwadar related real estate agencies pop up on a daily basis, and sell out, as you said, the same day, and are gone before the day after tomorrow:)

Apart from all that, it will take a very long time for the place to develop. Until the port is complete, no construction will take place.

Yeah, Akif is right. I tried to buy a few commercial and residential plots last year but then i think Hashwani won the court case and the allottments were made null and void.

This year I noticed that every agent is selling property in Gawader. There was one who was selling plots in Margalla hills of Islamabad as well.

Irem, please share contact info or a website where we can get a chance to look.

Any idea how much is the one acre land near the already developed area?

smooth bhai hmmm nai no idea :confused: na hi kisi website ka pata hae .. sorry abt that :bummer: will let u know if i come acress anything tho .. :slight_smile:

HH r u serious? shucks! did u already make payments for the land? what hapnd to ur money then? did u get it back?
yup u’re right, lotsa agents r selling land in gwadar

Akif bhai thanks for the advice… :slight_smile: wow i dint know that dha has warned against land purchase in gwadar…i hope its not some sort of political move though…over here u never know the reasons behind things unless u’ve done some thorough research into the matter urself…
yes it is a bit fishy how fast these lands r selling out…we thought it was b/c of them being in high demand…
who’s selling those lands? i thought it was the govt itself? are pvt parties selling those lands?
abt when it wil develop, we keep hearing different things…like recently i heard that te port will be operational in a couple months…actually i am looking into buying a car these days and i i heard that a consignment of used cars will be coming in from dubai to gwadar very soon and that will lower the price of cars in pak…thats what i heard not from one person but a couple of ppl…
the chances of fraud as u said r prolly high…but on the flip side there is this point that if we wait for much longer then the prices will also go up higher…
what r ur thoughts on all these points?

humsaad welcome to GS

D6C ab aisi bhee baat nai :hehe: and dont worry it is out of my family’s reach too :smiley:

ahmadjee…i totally forgot… :bummer: hmmm..i am gona inshallah note down this info when i see the ad next and let u know.. in fact i’ll ask my dad i’m sure he remembers…will let u know inshallah

Irem...About a year ago, the GHQ sent in letters to all army officers, about land availability in Gwadar for a very attractive price. Hundreds of thousands of officers paid up a booking fee of Rs.20,000 in hopes of hitting the jackpot. About 2 months into the booking, GHQ informed everyone that the deal was off, and that there was no land, and all the money was lost. Basically, the selling party had duped the GHQ. So you can imagine, if the GHQ can be fleeced, where do ordinary citizens stand:)
The Rangers also came out with a land sale....and turned out that the rangers IG himself was involved in some big time fraud, as a result of which he was ousted.

The land there is owned by the local Gwadarites of course, and investors and developors buy land from the locals in bulk, and then resell it in the rest of Pakistan, adverstising it as the next Dubai. Whereas the fact is, that there is no infrastructure in Gwadar as yet. Many roads will be built, a cantonment will be developed, and God knows how many plots will be wiped out during this construction. So for all people know, they may be buying land that will soon be covered by a highway, or some other structure.

The progress of Gwadar. Right now, the only thing that is being built is the port. Once the port has been buiilt, the dockyard will be built. That will be followed by employee housing. That will be followed by a cantonment. That then will be followed by public housing and structures. That should take anywhere from 10-15 years.

Im not saying everything is a fraud. Its just that picking out the genuine ones is extremely difficult, unless one can go over to Gwadar and take a personal look at matters.

Akif bhai thanks a lot for the detailed info...that really helped...some ppl i know are quite seriously considering investing in real estate in gwadar and i will pass on the info you have provided to them as well...thanks so much :)

How can you buy land in the "Margalla hills" ? How much is the cost of one kanal plot, if anyone knows.

Secondary, never heard if Askari in Rawalpindi, have heard of this new development area, Bharia Town, maybe its the same.

I can sense that Akif is right, some years ago, i got land in the boarder of Islamabad to Rawalpindi from an offical seceme through my father. They have asked for money and the amount for the "cost of the land" was paid right away, well later they started asking for "development costs", now till yet no development has been done. There is not even a proper road there. Its near the sector I-16, which is where the new Islamabad Airport will be. But like I have no urgency of building a house there, so its not something that is bothering me a lot right now, even if in the end, it may turn out to be a loss (who knows) I think it was a risk, just like when you buy any property in Pakistan and dont know ifs its been sold before to others or not. Anyway just wanted to add my view.

No Bahria Town and Askari are two different things. My Mamu and his family used to live in Askari 7 in Rawalpindi a while ago, but now they have moved to Safari Villas.

thanks for the replies everyone :slight_smile:

ahmadjee

i apologise i gave some wrong info in my first post

as SaadiaB baji above said they were not ASKARI housing schemes in rawalpindi…they were BAHRIA TOWN housing schemes

hmm…

as for Askari..i asked papa and he told me they were made like 6-7 yrs ago…

• PIMS k aagay isb mein…D-8 kee taraf..Faisal masjid k paas pahaaron kee taraf…and they were only 2-3 bldgs..baray pemanay pe nai banay thay…

• Chaklala scheme 3 k paas pindi mein aur morgah k paas…

chek this site as well:

smooth_guy it might be helpful to u as well..

http://www.expatriates.com/classifieds/pakistan/re/

Saadia baji hmmmm that sucks but i hope u r able to get the land back…dont worry not all schemes r a risk…u shud keep at the case and sooner or later i hope u will get the value of what u paid for inshallah

Irem, I havent lost the land, its still there and will not run away, as its a gov. scheme, there is unlikely to be fraud, but the thing it that it will take a lot of time to get that land developed, maybe next 10-15 years.
Thanks for the link of baharia town.

Sadia, you may have not lost it yet, but let me tell you that there are a lot of scams selling land in the fateh jang area. If possible try and get your money back and invest in regular CDA plotted Islamabad.

Stay away from Baharia, this is a sincere advice to all.

lol, I am not buying in Baharia, but I know some ppl who are and some who are interested, but I'm not. :)