Buying flavoured sheesha tobacco in Chicago, IL

Anybody know any good arabic stores in Chicago (around Devon / Western area) that sell some *good quality *flavoured sheesha tobacco? Or any other store that sells em?

Re: Buying flavoured sheesha tobacco in Chicago, IL

not devon, but you can go to some of the middle eastern stores and get them. the only place on devon is the fruit market if you are heading from tahoora t sabri, right after you cross wester there is a frut market it is owned by arabs and they seel sheesha as well as flavoured tobbaco there.

go to lawrence and kedzie area to get more variety and better prices

Is sheesha smoking becoming a fashion?

well actually its kinda losing its 'cool' status now

Chee yar, from TO, wouldn't going to Detriot be closer for the middle eastern shopping? I heard Michigan has the highest concentration of Arab Americans.

Pir Saab, how do you measure 'cool' status. I bet the coolness dropped as soon as Chee touched the hukka. Chee, dub kay mur ja.

Fayz..then doob kay marna will lose its cool status too :)

Its not about cool shool. Canada with its anal tobacco import laws has made sure nobody is encouraged to sell the good stuff here. The only kind you get is the Egyptian Nakhla brand which is the worst you can ever get (yet them egyptians seem to love it). And its expensive like hell.. prices are marked up almost 300%.

I will be in Chicago in a few days so thought i'll check out the market there. And hopefully steal some through the border.

Ahmadjee.. i honestly am not that crazy about this stuff that ill go to chicago just to buy it :p I wouldnt even go to detroit for it, even though its halfway to chicago. A friend of mine goes to detroit often and does bring back some every now and then.

Fraudz, its funny you mentioned Kedzie / Lawrence because just today another person mentioned the same. Guess it'll be worth a look.

Fayz ji now now... not a good time to be saying that to people.. ya know.. abhee to dostoN rishtedaaroN aur azeezoN ko manaanay ka waqt haiy ;)

Abay mananay ka hi nhin onhain behtar jananay ka bhi waqt hai :p

kedzie/lawrence is where its all at in terms of middle eastern stuff.
Now if you want some high quality turkish stuff, I can hook you up with that too, but I would have to make a few calls to find out where is the best place to get it.

If u wont turkish stuff and I am unable to find a spot, look up a la turka restaurant and talk to the owner there, he is mah dealah! well not really but the huqaa lounge at a la turka has some top quality shyt

nice.. ill look around there too. thanks for the tip

So how much does this sheesha smoking thing costs, is it like on hourly basis? Do they also give you any tea and/or apitizers (or something) with sheesha? Do they have packages or is it a flat rate thing? And last but not least, is the seating arrangement on floor or they have chairs and tables?
Oh and what kind of desis go for sheesha smoking.....mostly singles or married aswell... and what about desi girls, have you guys spoted any in those cafes'?

....just curious :D

lusi

the sheesha is set up anywhere you like, but they really would like for you to try the front of the restaurant right by the windows where they have set it up in total authentic style.

you cant just go for sheesha I suppose, never tried just for sheeshs, get some apetizers, sheesha charges are like $10 or so if I recmember right. the crowd is mixed, i have seen just guys, just girls, mixed crowd, desis, non desis, etc etc.

Sorry Cheegz! I got ur message but my trip was very short. I returned this morning.

^ no prob man. i knew youd be in a rush.

Anyway so we’ll hit kedzie/lawrence sometime today.. lets see what we find :desimunda:

abay...dinn know u would be in town like in oct, mybe i missed it. did u get smthing? next time you are in town drop me a note

Hmm yeah i was. Was in for 2 days.. extremely hectic though. Have a ton of family/friends in chicago... sab ke paas jaana hota haiy, sab ko khush karna hota haiy. I did get some good deals at this store called Al-Khayyam something (compared to the prices in canada anyway). Also had to put on a real convincing poker face talking to the customs official on the way back home..

Bringing in any tobacco sir?
Ummm nope (lol).