Butt, Amir, Asif Out Of Remaining Tour

Cricinfo and Geo reporting Yawar Saeed has said theu will not be taking part in any more game in rest of the series. Selectors have been informed to send replacements.

The way journalists are lurking around Pak team!!! The three came to meet Wajid Shams and practically had to be saved by a dozen police officers from journalists.

Re: Butt, Amir, Asif Out Of Remaining Tour

Pak’s tainted trio dropped from series against England

Under pressure from the ICC and England Cricket Board, Pakistan today dropped the tainted trio of Salman Butt, Mohammad Asif and Mohammad Aamir from the Twenty20 and one-day series against England starting Sunday.

The three are implicated in a ‘spot-fixing’ scandal “exposed” in a British tabloid’s sting operation last week.

Pakistan team manager Yawar Saeed said the players, who are in London to present their case to Pakistan Cricket Board chief Ijaz Butt and the High Commission officials, will not play the two Twenty20 and five one-day matches this month.

“We are 13 this morning and it will remain the same. We have asked for replacements for the three players who have gone. We will remain 13 for the first two Twenty20 matches,” Saeed told reporters here.

The trio’s axing comes after intense pressure from the ICC and the host ECB, both of whom made it clear that the players had to be dropped for the series to go on.

England’s Professional Cricketers’ Association had also demanded their sacking, saying that the host players would
find it very tough to carry on against the three, who allegedly took money from a bookie to bowl no balls during the Lord’s Test last week.

So far, the PCB had been adamant about not dropping the trio, insisting that the players had not yet been charged of by the Scotland Yard, which is investigating the scandal.

I think Mohd. Irfan should be tried... have he got any Parchi???

about time! :k:

http://www.google.com/hostednews/afp/media/ALeqM5hlOHX59nvqEd-coo5Xu4PsZvajFg?size=l

The video clip of Yawar Saeed confirming trio out of the remaining tour:

ECB chairman welcomes the decision

England and Wales Cricket Board chairman Giles Clarke, who also chairs the International Cricket Council’s Pakistan Task Team, welcomed the Pakistan decision in a statement read to reporters.

“We look forward to an extremely competitive series, full of excellent cricket,” he said.

“We can assure the fans across the country that the matches will be played in the most competitive spirit long associated with contests between England and Pakistan.”

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/cricketnama/449683-butt-amir-asif-out-of-remaining-tour.html

Scotland yard released you? :smiley:

Welcome back JI :slight_smile:

Buss bail kay paisay dey ker rehaee milee. :hehe:

janab kidhar thei app?..idhar itna kuch ho gaya…we will never send our team to england again…jab bee aoo, koi na koi drama hota ha!!!

Sharmnak drama hai.

Although I think that Pak team was involved in match/spot fixing, they haven't been charged yet. Should have been allowed to play until formally charged...

Yaar, why is Kamran Akmal not gone with them. We cannot seem to get rid of this guy at all. He was named as the 4th player but when it comes to leaving the squad and meeting Ijaz Butt he didnt go. Man I am disappointed to see Kamran akaml still playing.

Wasn't he cleared by Scotland Yard? Pity, really :(

^ yes he was cleared.

Who the heck cleared him man? Damn, I am disappointed.

Its indeed disappointing that Kamaran is still playing. I have little doubt in my mind that he deliberately underperformed in Sydney.

But when you have Zardari's croonies heading PCB, there is no hope.

Good decision to leave the three out

PCB :smack: