But at least we are not Dubai..

you are right on ur part too BBQ.. :)

we wldn't mind if positive things are also shared..

and blv me.. Pakistan is not about blasts..

i mean we have colleagues visiting here from abroad and they enjoy every single bit of stay here.. they tell us that Pakistan is very different from what is being portrayed on media..

see its not about westernising, and big buildings only.. its about values and culture.. it lags there.. and not here in Pakistan..

^ thank you for understanding, thats the only point i was tryina make.

Re: But at least we are not Dubai..

I posted this article a few days ago in the Dubai forum. I completely agree with it, being another child of the gulf and having visited Dubai more times than I can count.

If I may quote myself

For those wondering I believe this is the same george as from george ka pakistan.

spot on, ... ravage..

@red...

Yup Pakistan is cultural rich country, i will quote from very this article:

So for all you naysayers that bemoan Pakistan and its numerous problems please temper your pessimism. Take time to celebrate our cultural, religious, linguistic plurality and richness. Stop the cynicism coursing through your corroded veins. For all its inadequacies, at least we have a democracy.

For all its irresponsibility, at least we have a robust media. For all the police corruption, at least we are not a police state. For all our littering, at least we have paper wallahs. Remind yourself that at least we have a heart. At least we have a soul. At least we are not Dubai.

Ok I don't agree much with comparing Pakistan with Dubai . . . haha might be ok to make Pakistani feel a little better , but nothing more than that . Other then that I think these are common features of a capitalist society and shouldn't come as a surprise .

not really a feature of capitalism. you have capitalism in new york but to compare the culture, literary traditions, intellectual depth of a city like new york to dubai would be ridiculous. you dont find the same mindless consumerism, mall-centric life in every capitalist city/country.

I would say the closest thing to dubai in that respect is Riyadh.

yeah, same one from george ka Pakistan.. he is married to a Paki girl too and a resident of Karachi..

comparing new york to dubai is like.. comparing Shikarpur with Lahore.. :hehe:

New York is OLD man and wise , Dubai is young . Can't compare both . But I was referring to the use of money , and lavish life style . Not the culture or intellectual depth .

nothing wrong with money. whats wrong is the absence of everything else. and the vulgar celebration of consumerism.

Nami, yes if we were comparing the infra structure then there is a gap b/w Pakistan and Dubai which cant be filled easily.. but rest assure we were not doing dat.. :)

but if we turn things around, and rephrase that ppl from dubai wld feel really better if only a nominal part of culture and values are adapted by them..

True . But if lets suppose Pakistanis get a chance to make Karachi , a Dubai they won't think twice :D

comparing new york to dubai is a big no no but comparing pakistan to dubai is sane? And dubai is pretty much like riyadh? seriously?

wow.

Riyadh is NOTHING like Dubai.

yes, we would love to adapt good things (like infra structure etc) from Dubai but keeping our strengths in-tact too.. :)

yeah riyadh is a bit worse.

haha . . . let the money come in and you'll see all the cultural values flying out of window :D

I watched "tropics of cancer" it was very interesting, did any one watch "Piers Morgan on Dubai?" cant seem to find a link to it online

BBQ, please read my reply to Namis post.. :)

we are not comparing Pakistan to dubai..

see the title of the thread..

it can be interpreted like Pakistan laakh bura sahi.. but shukar k hum dubai jese nahi :D

right.. i get whats going on here... i'm out.

dil k behlanay ko ghalib ye khayal acha hai :)