Business Card

Does anyone know of a good design for a business card…for someone who doesn’t have a job…just finished school and is doing extended learning. What possible professional business cards can he use? If you can plz put up pics of business cards that are for professional use that would be great…

Re: Business Card

my brother did a two sided business card when he was job hunting and attending conferences. i dont have a copy of it

the front had his name and contact info, he had picked some symbol/icon representing his field which was renewable energy/ energy mgmt etc

he then had a statement at the bottom of the card which was a quote from some major authority in the field.

back had a mini resume, degree, core skills, research, and projects info

it worked, he passed his cards to people as he talked, the quote generated further discussion and served a further icebreaker, and while he did not push them to see the back of the card, he did mention that he had some info on teh back of the card.

he got interviews by that approach, I am not sure if the job came thru that or through networking from profs and alumni.

well we are going to an association meeting and I want to make sure that he is getting his name out there without pushing it.....he is an accountant....

yup so name, contact info and qualifications on front is more than enough
if he wants to add skills on the back of the card that should be okay

btw did u reach out to Faisal? he is online today so drop him a PM

Actually she did. I looked over the resume and gave my feedback and provided her some samples too. Haven't heard back since.

sorry i have been busy trying to get things ready for our trip to NY.....and mashallah I got an interview....so I have been busy and his resume is kinda put on the side for the moment.

I didn't get a chance to look over the other resumes...but inshallah I will look over them. Thanks once again Faisal bhai and Fraudia bhai for all your help...

by the way does the layout matter? Or anything works?

a professional business card...should it have some color to it?? Or is it not needed?

The layout you have right now is fine. Do incorporate the change I suggested in the email (about placement of experience and education).

Sorry i didn't mean to confuse you...i meant of business cards not the resume...by the way i looked over the resume and of the corrections you said to make and I know I have to do some work on it....and my husband has about another month left for his exam so I am going to continue fixing his resume in about a few days when I am less busy.....and inshallah I will try to email you again, if you don't mind, with the corrected version.

as far as layout goes, for a personal card as such you have to be careful to not have it too busy or too bland.

No pictures...thats a huge no no.

fron of card name, email, phone info, webpage if you have one set up, or something like a linkedin profile addy.

you may want to very briefly list uni and degree or just qualification, its a dodgy proposition though, could work or not work depending on the field. in my brother's case ad his field it worked fine, plus he had gone to one of the top unis for his field so he put his college, and degree.

avoid a colored card stock. white is best, pale shades work, seen light yellows, light greys and blues, but colored cards just look cheap.

basically aside from that no hard and fast rules, what is visually appealing to one person is not to another one. look at card samples, and pick one.

hey here is a good read on cards

http://glossary.ippaper.com/default.asp?req=knowledge/article/411&catitemid=52

http://www.visualaccentsdesign.com/designtips/50surefire.htm

one question.....since this is a networking business card i decided to keep it simple.... and I need to know how i should write something. In the middle I decided to write his name and underneath his name will be written:

First and Last Name
Association of Chartered Certified Accountants

Next to his name should he write ACCA for example: First and Last Name, ACCA

Or is it not neccessary?
And another Question:

First and Last Name
Qualified as ACCA
OR
ACCA Qualified

Either way let me know whether ACCA should be written after his name seperated by a comma or not.....plz anyone just help me i need to order the cards ASAP....thanks.

Re: this, replied to your PM.

pyaari83, what does that someone do? as in what is his/her background.... like business mngment.. he's a medical person or smthn else?
ive an interior design background, my business card is basically these 4 flaps together in a ring, kinda longish. the first flap holds the logo of my business, the 2nd flap has it's name... the 3rd flap on what i do.. n 4th flap has my contact info...

if you want to pm me some details.. perhaps i can design one for u and email it to u! ive all the time in the world these days... (sigh)

oh the flip flop version is not gonna fly for accountants :D

thanks guys for ur help....i made it already and just got it in....i didn't make a flap version....just one sided. And I think it will be fine...Faisal bhai helped me....thanks everyone for ur help

goodluck!!