bus routes

For those of you that have not been to Pakistan here is something new, and for those that have been there or lived there, here is a walk down memory lane.

There are many buses, Karachi has a public transportation system covering almost the entire city. The challenge is that many people dont know how to read. The best way to communicate the route of the bus is by naming the main stops on the route at every bus stop…something that the conducotrs do very well.

Now we will have an exercise in recalling some of the bus routes and the conductor chants

If you are at PAF base Faisal one of the buses going towards the airport has the follwoing route
“khokhrapaar, khokhrapaar, tanki, baraf khana, laal masjid, saudabaad, khokhrapaar”

the same bus headed towards teh city is

“sadar, sadar, sadar, sadreyaaa..”

anyone got any more?

I have a few more but want to see what you guys come up with

kiliftaan kiliftaan kiliftaan

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/hula.gif

ps. apnakarachi.com has a link for bus routes as well :slight_smile:

and my favorite

rok rok rok laddizzzzzz

haan chachi/baji / behn ji

kiraya

I donno about Karachi, but in Pindi buses/vagons/suzukis go to each & every *kona khudra *of the city

The place where I lived was Chaklala Scheme 3. No public buses used to go there but suzukis were frequent and cheep.

Desipite the fact that its a place of residence of most retired (and some still serving) generals, high public officials and some politicians; the route was called "ghareeb-a-abad"!

garebaabad - gareebabad - gareebabaaadddeyyy

OHMIGOD

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/eek.gif

in pindi i never travelled in a wagon but i remember that

i miss pakistan now

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/crying.gif

one and a half weeks more to go before i set foot on my

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/kiss.gif

soil

takin the bus after school from saddar to defence everyday i recall these..

korangi, akhter colony, azam basti, korangi 2.5, korangi 3.5 and such..

from defence to cantt station (nani's house)
it was like tower, pakistan chowk, do talwar, teen talwar etc..

dont remember any more, these were the only 2 routes i took most

I would like to quote from Pindis public transport system (which is under threat from the new modern Varaan System)....

Mareeer, Mareeeer (Mareer Chowk, Murre Road)

bari maa, bari maa!! (Bari Imaam)

Jangi College (EME College)

Millain (Kohinoor Mills)

mat yaad dilwayein

You originally from Pindi?

haan ji

my WHOLE family is in Pindi, we’re originally PATHWARI from JHELUM area :slight_smile: but i grew up mostly in karachi, thats where my immediate family is now as well and rest all in Pindi :slight_smile:

and my pind

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/kiss.gif

is near pindi too

so i go to Khi and Pindi too when i go to Pak and i am going there in about a week

aap ye batayein ke aap ke liyay pindi se kya laaon??? :slight_smile:

[This message has been edited by Faatma Habeeb (edited August 08, 2002).]

Well, I am a Pindi_Waal too, so no point in getting me anything from Pindi, but thanks alot for the offer

Just have a safe journey, and if you need any help in Pindi, brother Spock is the person to call

Some notable stops on one of my wagon routes in Lahore.

Shabab Chowk (named after Nazar Shabab as he had a house/office there) Pakki thatti.. Haree Kothyaan.. Doosra Goal Chakkar.. Taruq Maduk (Tariq Model School), Morr Samanabadaaaaay...... Chuburjeee..Jayan Mandir.. AG Office.. GPO.... "Lukshmee.. Lukshmee hay koyay?"... (forgetting what they called the Thaana Navankot stop) and then Tayshun (Railway Station)

From Station .. 12 number.. through Garrhi Shahoo... "Copper Store" (COOP).. and then University.

The way back on the rooftop of the University Rolls Royce with full view of Queen Mary if you stood straight and crained your neck enough remembering to duck the occasional High Voltage lines at the same time.

My Bus Route to Work

"Neepa,hasan square,tariq road,nursery, gora qabrustannayyyyyy... gora gora gora....." ... behen jee karaya?!?! ... :-( ... aik rupya khula hay?? ... sigh

Havent had that chance as of yet

but reading several replies made me laugh for ages…

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/hoonh.gif

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/smash.gif

I finally took my revenge

well i certainly know bus routes :k:
used to take super hasan zai from gulshan to clifton everyday.
and then in the evenings took safari or f-11 from gulshan to defense for tuitions :k: :k:
Oh God those days :k:

which other one’s i used: starline, gul, national, gulistan, 20, and many others. :k:
they should put the metro-bus on more routes now. it’s easier, safer, and more comfortable to travel.

well when i went to karachi, i used buses. trust me it is fun :k:

:slight_smile:
I still use F-11 and starline for my work route… too bad Metro is not within my route.. but its definitely better then most … :k:

:hehe: :K: