Buner falls to Swat Taliban

This should gives us idea about whats yet to come for rest of the country. These people must be destroy if Pakistan is going to survive. And where is army & why have we been feeding it for so long when country’s village after village is falling to terrorists like this?

DAWN.COM | NWFP | Buner falls to Swat Taliban

Buner falls to Swat Taliban         
            By Abdur Rehman Abid 

Wednesday, 22 Apr, 2009 | 03:42 AM PST |
http://65.175.69.196/styles/default/beta/images/fontsize_small.jpg http://65.175.69.196/styles/default/beta/images/fontsize_large.jpg

http://65.175.69.196/styles/default/beta/images/fontsize.jpg

[http://65.175.69.196/styles/default/beta/images/print.jpg](javascript:void(0))[http://65.175.69.196/styles/default/beta/images/email.jpg](javascript:void(0)) http://65.175.69.196/styles/default/beta/images/share.jpg

http://www.dawn.com/wps/wcm/connect/1f2633004dd45d629569df1b12f3343b/taliabn-608.JPG?MOD=AJPERES

Taliban are seen at an entrance of the shrine of the Pir Baba adjacent to a mosque, which was closed by Taliban after taking it over in Buner.—AP/File
](http://www.dawn.com/wps/wcm/connect/dawn-content-library/dawn/news/pakistan/nwfp/buner-falls-to-swat-taliban--bi)

BUNER: Taliban militants from Swat took control of Buner on Tuesday and started patrolling bazaars, villages and towns in the district.

The militants, who had sneaked into Gokand valley of Buner on April 4, were reported to have been on a looting spree for the past five days.

They have robbed government and NGO offices of vehicles, computers, printers, generators, edible oil containers, and food and nutrition packets.

Sources said that leading political figures, businessmen, NGO officials and Khawaneen, who had played a role in setting up a Lashkar to stop the Taliban from entering Buner, had been forced to move to other areas.

The Taliban have extended their control to almost all tehsils of the district and law-enforcement personnel remained confined to police stations and camps.

The Taliban, equipped with advanced weapons, were reported to be advancing towards border areas of Swabi,
Malakand and Mardan, the hometown of NWFP Chief Minister Amir Haider Khan Hoti.

According to reports reaching here, the militants have set up checkposts and camp bases in Kangar Gali village, along the Malakand border; Naway Dhand village, along the Mardan border; and Tootalai village, along the Swabi border.

The sources said officials of the FC camp in Jorh had asked people to vacate their homes in view of threats of an attack.

The militants have started digging trenches and setting up bunkers on heights in strategic towns of Gadezi, Salarzai, Osherai and other tehsils.

After occupying the Buner district and setting up their headquarters in the bungalow of businessman Syed Ahmed Khan (alias Fateh Khan) in Sultanwas, the militants started patrolling the streets and roads with no signs of law-enforcement personnel.

Led by Fateh Mohammad, the militants were asking local people, particularly youngsters, to join them in their campaign to enforce Sharia.

They have established checkposts on roads and are searching all passing vehicles. They have virtually established their writ in Buner region, once a stronghold of the Awami National Party.

On Tuesday, armed groups entered the Rural Health Centre at Jure in Salarzai area and took away a Land-Cruiser being used by the Expanded Programme of Immunisation (EPI), Buner.

On April 17, they raided a basic health unit in tehsil Chamla and looted 480 cans of edible oil. They took away from the house of a lady health visitor a large number of food and nutrition packets supplied by USAID and sewing machines from an Action Aid-sponsored vocational centre in the Korea village of tehsil Chamla.

On April 18, they looted a huge quantity of medicine from a health facility at the Afghan refugee camp in Koga in the same tehsil and 640 cans of edible oil from a godown of the World Food Programme in Nawagai.

On April 19, armed men took away a Suzuki Potohar Jeep from a rural health centre in Nagrai. A group of 20 militants took away a Suzuki Ravi car and 400 cans of edible oil from a basic health unit in Garga.

Another armed group snatched an ambulance, a pick-up provided by Gavi for EPI cell, a Suzuki Ravi from a health centre in Swari.

They also broke into the offices of Paiman (Save the Children) EPI, Jica offices and took away several computers, printers, two generators, fax machines, UPS and other appliances.

The armed men stopped near Ambela a double-cabin vehicle of Paiman going to Buner from Peshawar and took it along with the driver to a nearby camp. Later, they released the driver and escaped with the vehicle.

They have also occupied the main office of Rahbar in Swari.

Re: Buner falls to Swat Taliban

so why cant the government allow the army to shoot on sight anyone who is a taliban look alike and holds a gun …

Why cant be do another long march to put pressure on the government to take some freaking serious action …

:konfused:

Sigh!

This is an obituary for abominable newspapers and despicable propaganda sheets like Dawn which pander to their Demi-Gods byond the shores of the Crescent and Star. Those who read these subversive Anti-Pakistan indoctrination papers, are aware of their seditious content. Hit by a devastating credibility gap, Dawn type of news outlets have been hit hard by a dilapidating recession, a drastic fall in circulation, and a landslide drop in readership. It is no wonder that these Pakistanphobic agitprops like Dawn are being ignored by Pakistanis and those who want to learn about Pakistan. Many browse sites, like those offered by Dawn, to sift enemy balderdash from fact, and then verifiy its veracity from other sources.

Why would anyone read Dawn when AP, Reuters, and News.Google.com give readers a wide variety of news sources. Dawn of course doesn’t do a good job of covering Pakistan or presenting diverse views. It has an agenda dictated by Dollars.

It is disgusting and most find it reprehensible to see the oafish Dawn print incorrect information about Pakistan and publish outright lies disguised as news.

A few weeks ago Dawn incorrectly reported that the US Congress would not consider the package of aid for Pakistan. It then wrongly commented that Saudi Arabia would not support the Donors Conference. The reporting from Anwar Iqbal was actually a regurgitation of the story from the Wall Street Journal (WSJ)–a conservative paper that espouses the Islamphobic and Anti-Pakistan Neocon point of view. Mr. Iqbal however left the juicy parts out.

Saudi Arabia provides $5 million per day to Pakistan. The $5 million per day subsidy to Pakistan was mentioned in the original WSJ article. Why did Mr. Iqbal not mention these important facts when copying the original from the WSJ article? Iqbal and the WSJ was wrong. During the donors conference Saudi Arabia has pledged $700 million. What does this make Mr. Iqbal and Dawn. Liars and cheats? So we have seen Dawn lie about actual news on the occasions mentioned above. Why would Dawn lie? Why does Dawn call US drone strikes as “suspected”, and those killed as terrorists. Why is Dawn not sure that the missile came from a drone, but is very sure that all the kids and women which were targeted are terrorists. This may be a discussion in semantics, if it did not represent official US policy. The CIA does not admit and confirm the drone strikes, and always advertises the fact that it has been successful in eliminating “terrorirsts”.

It is not hard to imagine that various newspapers lie based on their agenda. The New York Times lied about the WMDs in Iraq, and then has repeatedly lied about the atrocities in the West Bank and Gaza.

While Indian newspapers are adept at twisting any story to the Indian advantage, Dawn continues to publish Murdock’s Anti-Pakistan news stories verbatim without any editing. The CIA spin doctors help put together the story and Dawn buys it hook line and sinker. We have yet to see the correct map of Pakistan published by Dawn or its sister publication Herald. They routinely publish the Delhi version of maps. This may be a small insignificant matter in some minds, but the technique is insidious and marinates the young generation for ultimate conversion to the likes of Indian agents like Asma Gilani and Pervez Hoodboy.

Get a life out of this western media thinking and stop posting your nonsense comments about Pakistan while sitting in the UK without knowing what’s the real situation.

Mate, just because you are sat in pakistan , doesnt make you the country lover .. and just because I am sat in the UK you think i dont know a damn about my country !

In this long speach of yours there is alot of naivity really ... you cant just keep on bantering all the fault to the media ...

Taliban are freaking taking over our country and we need to surely accept the truth and find ways to kill them ! Media in every country tends to exagerrate , so instead of pointing fingers at them, i think we all as a nation need to address the serious issue at hand and pressurize our pathetic government to take serious action.

so aasimtom bhai jan, are you saying that taleban infact are not in banur? :halo:
is that what you are tryng to correct,

yeh barri barri bandooq walay log jo masjid kay samnay kharay hain, yeh tourist hein na? ya apni aur apni bandooq ki golion kay liye bheek mang rahay hain?

you seem to out of your mind it isnt just in dawn but every newspaper , in real taliban are nothing but bunch of thugs lead by fazlu who was a chair lift operator.

sometimes i wish in frustration let these Bas?????s come to sindh where we would teach them a lesson how to fight with AK47 and we shall see how brave they are.
bunch of thugs when in fight disappear in similar population.

i am really frustrated with our behaviour we have to show them we arent impressed, rather dare them to come out of their dens and face rather whining they are coming they are coming.

atleast i m fortunate enough to have seen much of pakistan as father was in government Job and i can assure you these guys would face hell as soon as they lay foot outside NWFP and specially in rural sindh and punjab.

The article is about Taliban taking over Buner & not about Dawn or the media. Media is doing its job by highlighting brutality of these terrorists killers.

Junaid

I think I agree that they will not have much lunk in sindh and punjab, but why leave nwfp to these thugs, it is the inability of the military to contain them in NWFP that is annoying.

I can see what the law makers were thinking, Taleban have some support due to ethnic alliances mostly and then to some extent religious feelings, frustration with status quo by locals, so lets throw taleban a bone and wipe out much of this support for them, which in my view is a minority viewpoint anyways. Sadly our lawmakers may be giving too much credit to people to draw such conclusion, the people would actually see takleban propoganda that this is a victory and now lets go take over rest of teh country.

sadly the voices of the majroty of people in those areas have been silenced dut to teh thuggery of turbinators

Islamabad is next

So, Swat and Buner are fallen to Taliban and have become their strong hold. Buner is like 50 miles from Islamabad. They won’t stop here. Their goal is to take over Islamabad and rest of the country and beyond.

Run forest run…

DAWN.COM | NWFP | Buner falls into the hands of Swat Taliban

I have to actually agree with aasimtom about this Dawn thingi. Lately you just wonder if you are reading a Pakistani newspaper or an indian one. One really has to investigate Dawns financial sources.

We are all aware that the situation in Pakhtoonkhawa is not ideal, but these newspapers obssessed with sensationalism are doing absolutely nothing to help our beloved country.

Now we have a situation: If army takes action and innocent civilians die as a result of collateral damage, likes of Dawn demonize army.

If army does not take action knowing that it would result in 1000s of civilians being killed, likes of Dawn again demonize army. That is exactly what happened during the Lal Masjid fiasco, I had been reading the papers all along. First all headlines were shouting why no action is taken against these Mullahs, and once action was taken... surprise surprise... all those headlines changed to "why the action was taken".

It is for papers like Dawns: I say get a life and learn a thing or two from your indian and western counterparts about national interest.

Re: Islamabad is next

Buner is 100 km (62,5 miles) away from Islamabad and Swat 98 km (aprox. 61 miles).

Peace.

My friend I am not favouring these thugs, my only concern is, the situation is not what the media portrays and yes media is doing their job by controlling your/my mind and may be our souls. I guess you had enough about Dawn now let's have a look at Geo.

Geo was started with the help of an ex US Naval Petty Officer by the name of Hazinski who has links with Mr. Casper Weinberger and many Indian channels.

Here are some facts about Geo and some example of how Geo demorolizes the population and the general body of the Pakistani diaspora.

• Geo repeatedly telecasted false news about the Pakistani economy, the political situation and hence the stock market crashed in Pakistan In a pre-orchestrated campaign.

• Geo focuses on the negative news and instead of focusing on solutions it shows bodies of dead people in contradiction of PEMRA and all decency requirements.

• Geo focuses on petrol prices but does not inform the viewers that most private cars in Pakistan now run on CNG (liqufied petroluem gas) which costs $5 for a tank full. Most people driving cars are not affected by the rise in petrol (gasoline) prices.

• In a planned manner Geo supresses and ignores good news like 5.1 billion dollar of oil refinery in Pakistan
Geo usually ignores good news like $28 Billion Emar international island development

• Geo is averse to good news about Pakistan–there is no discussion of the Bullet Trains in Pakistan.

• Geo does not focus foreign interference in Pakistani affairs.

• Geo did not discuss the 89 separatist movements in India in 2007 …from Seven Northeastern sister states, to the Naxalite insurrection, to Bihar to Kashmir, to Assam etc…

• Geo Dramas: 50 percent of the dramas are Indian dramas on Geo and 25 percent are with mix cast (Indian and Pakistani) and Indian film

• Geo focuses on showing beheading of people and other depressing news.

• Why did Geo not focus on showing 250 million people sleeping on sidewalks in India?

• Geo did not cover for 36 hours the killing of 3000 Muslims in Gujrat?

• Urdu is not used by many hosts. Morning host shows are in English and “Urdlish” ( a horrible combination). The Younger generation is being spoiled by using them as instruments of hedonism.

• Some of the shows are way beyond the pale on being modern. Nudity is not modernity. Science and Technology is modernity.

• Geo plays into the hands of the opposition parties. It does not discuss opportunities for development.
When Mr. Shaharayar interviewed the President of Azad Kashmir he interrupted him and did not allow him to speak about the problems with the article of accession of Kashmir to India (which is now lost) if it ever existed.

• Geo continues to use Indian jargon like “partition”. Partition signifies a temporary dissection of the whole. India was never whole. Even during British times there were more than 500 states in the Subcontinent. Some of them banded together to make Pakistan and others banded together to make India.

• Discussion of Kashmir, Manvanagar, Junagarh are non-existent on Geo. Most Geo maps show Kashmir as part of Pakistan. Zad Kashmir is never shown. Some Geo maps sill show the Nothern Areas as part of India or part of Kashmir.

• Kamran Khan was getting RS 25 lakh per month. Income vs. salary? Dr. Shahid Mahmud used to get Rs 22 laks per month. He was a member of NSF student Hamid Mir the Editor of “Ausaf” get Rs. 22 Lakh per month.

• Nadia Khan gets Rs 6 lacs per month. Income vs. salary?When Geo was not able to broadcast the 8-hour cricket match, Geo said they lost 1 billion Rupees, After the ban Goo kept on broadcasting for 36 hours without any income?Let us investigate the players involved with Geo from information that is publicly available. We see these links which will be analyzed.

1) The controversial David Hazinski an ex US Navy Petty Officer with contacts with the State Department and the American Jewish Committee (AJC)

2) Who is Todd Fratz and why does Geo associate with such characters?

3) Casper Weinberger, Ronald Reagan’s indicted and pardoned Secretary of Defense who predicted the “Next War” with a rogue state like Iran. Why does Geo align itself with known war mongeres.

4) Geo has strategic links with SkyTV of the UK, CNN, IBN-CNN in India and the Voice of America (VOA). Can't post the link due to 25 posts account limitation.

And you still think Talibans are going to take control of Pakistan. India who attacked Pakistan with full force in the past with 10,00,000 army, they couldn't take Pakistan, so how could it be possible for a bunch of Talibans to take control of the country?

Sigh!

what about ARY, aaj, PTV, and all news papers?
are all of them sold out?
because while their assessment may vary the facts pretty much are teh same across all outlets.

Well said!

Dawn is truly playing in Western hands... Its secular image and propaganda disgusts me!!

Yaar don't you get it? Its all conspiracy. Everything in Pakistan is controlled by India, Jews & Americans & Taliban do not exist. In fact, Taliban is name of dish ... Americans dish.

Off course lawyers movement was also funded by Jewish lobby to destroy Pakistan. Wallah o Alam !

This reminds me how the Viet Cong and NVA slowly took over South Vietnam

We are all in a Matrix controlled by Jews and Hindus. We are doomed, I tell you...

hust so we are not just crying about geo blowing things out of proportion,

headlines from The News

Islamabad lacks resources to overcome terrorism, says Kaira](The News International: Latest News Breaking, World, Entertainment, Royal News)

Sufi’s speech made Swat MPs’ skin crawl](The News International: Latest News Breaking, World, Entertainment, Royal News)

Frontier mulling to raise Levies force for Swat](The News International: Latest News Breaking, World, Entertainment, Royal News)

and from The Nation.

Taliban armed patrolling in Buner creates panic

Buner courts closed, judges go on leave

Taliban move to expand control from Swat to Buner: officials

Swat extremists expand operations

Taliban want to control more areas, says Nawaz

Frontier mulling to raise Levies force for Swat](The News International: Latest News Breaking, World, Entertainment, Royal News)%between%

Pakistan is not a Vietnam.