Bulleh Shah and Punjab University

Re: Bulleh Shah and Punjab University

^^
Different historians wrote that no one was ready to lead funeral prayer of Bulleh shah, it is irrelevant that bulleh shah would not have cared about that but that should not desireable situation for any muslim. furthermore, that means people were aware of that angle of peotry of Bulleh Shah.
Bulleh Shah is well known persoanality but his peotry is not as common among peope as peotry of Sultan Bahu and Waris Shah. I see people using saying-like peotry of Waris Shah in their daily life.
**Waris Shah! Aadtaan naee jaandian bhahwain Kattieay Porian Porian
Per Waris Shah! Aadtaan sirran nal jaandian nain.

Waris Shah! Jeh jayyan dhiyan Oh Jayyan Maeen**

Mian Mohammad Baksh's poetry is also very common among people.

Ranjha Ranjha Kardi main aapi hi Ranjha hui is the line I heard more than these lines by Waris Shah, who is equally respected by masses. Sultan Bahoo's Alif Allah Chanbe di booti is most famous, but we don't find his other kalam popular amongst masses more than this. Above all, the philosophy of all these poets was reflective in all poets of era including Sachal Sarmast and Shah Lateef in Sindh.

Regarding no one ready to lead funeral and giving place to dead body of Bulleh Shah in city's graveyard, I would say it was start of thinking which now we see in the shape of utter intolerance in our society. Hamare haan BaRi Boorhiyan kehti hain 'Mari wanan waaran se kehRa lekha - There is no need to do accountability of dead ones'. In Bulleh Shah's words ' Arre Mulla Janaza paRh, main janoo mera khuda jane'.

No one knows those Mullah who denied Bulleh Shah's burial in graveyard, but Bulleh Shah's mazar is the centre of Qasoor and Bulleh Shah is the identity of city, besides Qasoori methi :)

the verse you listen because media promoted it. and as i said that Bulleh shah is well known personality. Qaul and saying of Waris shah and Mian Mohammad Baksh are not promoted by media, but I still hear from people.
ranjhay majjian churayan baraan saal,
Heer Dholi ch behndian cheekh mari..... are more common ammong people of rural areas.

This is because Heer Ranjha is a folk tale, told by many poets of Punjab including Waris Shah. People can relate to characters more than general poetry. In Sindh, one of the reason of popularity of Shah Lateef are Seven Folk stories and their characters. I got an idea to discuss, how names and lives of these characters are used in Sindh. Just an example here. When Benazir returned home in late 80s, a slogan echoed in Sindh ' Marvi Maleer Ji, Benazir Benazir' referring to famous character of Shah Latif ' Marvi' who was abducted by Soomro king Omar and then had to accept defeat from poor girl due to her commitment with land and people.

Waris Shah's poetry got media support as more than a dozen movies have been made on Heer Waris Shah in India and Pakistan. Pakistan Radio did same coverage to Waris Shah as Bulleh Shah. The lines of Waris Shah you mentioned are also part of the famous indian song 'Sab ki Baraten aai' from the movie 'Janam Samjha Karo' :)

you are right, but one thing, i am talking about people of rural and remote areas. other thing i am talking about saying-like peotry of Mian Mohammad Bakh, Shah Hussain, and Waris Shah.

can you write lyrics of the song you mentioned?

You can’t distinguish all these poets from Bulleh Shah, as all of them talked against rituals / vices and authoritative clergy. Take example of Waris Shah, who said “Waris Shah wich hujrian feil karday”

Daily Times - Leading News Resource of Pakistan

its a commercial song having intro from Heer Waris Shah.

ho raa.njhe majiiyaa.n charaa_iiyaa.n
Dolii le ga_e ne ke.De ve lag ga_e nain ave.De
o lag ga_e nain ave.De ve lag ga_e nain ave.De

sabki baratein aayi Lyrics | Hindi songs lyrics - sabki baratein aayi

Point is there are many songs which used Heer Waris Shah and almost all legendary singers including Abdia Parveen, Iqbal Bahoo, Noorjehan sung Heer Waris Shah in Pakistan and many singers in India also rendered it.

no, we can distinguish all these poets from Bulleh Shah, none of them talked against religious rituals.
regarding authoritative clergy, Bulleh shah is most prominent when cursing Mullah. others and almost all poets criticized Mullah but not as insanely as Bulleh Shah did. cursing someone may be anything but not what Sufis believes Sufism is.

“ho raa.njhe majiiyaa.n charaa_iiyaa.n” is distorted form of lines i told you

Sultan Bahoo is considered to be most rebellious of all the Sufis who raised his voice first against the orthodox clergy (Mullahs). Here are some of his sayings:

• God enabled you and you memorized [Quran] but the veil [of ignorance] was not lifted to see the secretes [of the universe)/ You studied very hard to become an accomplished scholar and yet you were allured by money/ You can read hundreds of thousands of books and yet it cannot conquer your ego (self interest)

• The religious scholars study just to demonstrate arrogance while Mullahs boast/ These wretched people wander the streets [like vendors] carrying their books [scriptures]/ Wherever they see rich food [as offering] they recite with more zeal/ Those people who are selling their labor [religious knowledge] are robbed in both worlds.

• After studious readings they have claimed to be religious authorities (Mushaikh) and they worship double the time [of others]/Their inner hut (heart) is being robbed but neither their body nor their heart knows it because they are misled (by satan).

• They [mullahs, etc.] study very hard to please the rulers. What is the gain of such scholarship?/ If the milk has been soured then it can be boiled many times but it can never produce butter.

**- The more they [mullahs] studied the more arrogant they became. Even their wisdom took a nosedive.

• The scholars have become heavyweights through studying thousands of books and gaining knowledge / They are unable to read an alphabet of love and are wandering misguided/The journey from [religious] scholasticism to higher level is tedious and the distance is too large/The ones who did not buy love are condemned in both worlds.

• If the moving [counting beads] of tasbih [rosary] does not move [transform] the heart then why hold a tasbih?/ If gaining of knowledge does not evoke humility [obedience] then what is the gain of [such a] knowledge? /If sitting through chillas [isolation] does not bring any fruits then what is the purpose of adopting [the ritual] of chillas? /Without mixing [of yogurt] the milk does not transform into yogurt even if it has been boiled many times over and turned reddish.**

• You [Mullah] have become a professional tasbih-mover and you utter incoherent words.

• The jewel of your heart does not move while you are wearing garlands made of hundreds [five-twenties] of pieces /When you have to give something your throat is squeezed but when you have to get something you become a lion/ Bahu, for the stone-hearted people the rain [of love] gets wasted.

• If faith [religion] was in studying then the heads [of Husain and his family] would not have been put on spikes [in Karbla]/ Eighteen thousand religious scholars would have sacrificed their lives for Hussain /If they had professed to the Prophet’s elegance why would they ban the water [on Hussain]/Bahu, the faith of only those is true who give their head [sacrifice their life]

• If God could be found by washing and bathing then frogs and fish would have found it [first]/If God could be found by celibacy then emasculated bulls would get him readily.**

http://www.thefridaytimes.com/beta2/…110923&page=16

Thats a separate discussion and I can get many example from Sachal Sarmast and Shah Latif’s poetry, which is very near to Bulleh Shah and other daring sufis of Punjab.

you missed the point religioust rituals, and Bulleh shah was no less.

Bullay Shah used to openly call Mullahs as "mad dogs" and "barking dogs" ; he accepted Guru Nanak as his "Aaqa" ; he even suggested conferring Guru Gobind Singh with the title of "Ghazi".

show me such idea from any of other sufi poets?

are you refeering this one by Bulleh Shah?

RaateeN jaageyN kareyN ibaadat
You wake up at night to pray
RaateeN jaagan kuttey teython uttey
dogs are awake at night too, more than you

bhonkanon band mool naa hundey
they never stop barking
jaa ruree tey suttey, teythoN uttey
and sleep on heap of dump, are better than you

khasam apney da dar na chhaddey
they never leave the door of their provider
bhaaweyNso so wajjan jutey
even if beaten by shoes

Bulleh shah kooee rakht weyhaaj ley
Bulleh Shah get into love someone
baazee ley gaey kuttey tethoN uttey
Or the dogs are better than you

Whats with the use of aaqa? people still call other person qibla, kaaba out of respect. Ghazi is also just a term and why we are so concerned if a non-Muslim get title of Shaheed (like Bhagat Singh) or Ghazi.

^No, I am not refering this there are different place where he called Mullah barking dog, but point is, it carries no weight whatever bulleh shah had said????
whatever you say to cover bulleh shah, ok, just show me this angle of poetry from any other sufi poet.

quote me poetry of Bulleh Shah and I'll definitely provide you same thought by other poet.

Blasphemous poetry of Bulleh Shah.

Phook masalleh, bhan sut lota, na pharr Tasbeeh, aasa sota
aashiq kehnday day day hauka, tark halalon kha mardaar
Ishq di navi navi bahhaar.

Jaan main ishaq sabaq da parhya, Jewrra Masjid Kolon Daraya
Deeray jaa thaakur day warrya Jithay wajda naad Hazzar.

ved Quraan parh parh sajday kardyan ghass gaye mathay
Naan Rab terath na rab Mukkay, Jin paya js noor Jamal

Bath namazan, chakarr rozay kalmay te phir gaye siyahi
Bulleh shah sho and milya bhulli bhiray lokaae.

Bulehya pee Sharab te khaa kabab, heeth ball haddan the aag.
chorri kar te bhn ghar rab da, te oss thaggan dy thag nu thag

First shair: Bhuleh shah is talking against rituals, leave halal and eat Haram. show me any other Sufi poet talking against rituals this way and telling hallal haram?

Second shair: bulleh shah escaped masjid and went to court of thaakur, show me, how other poets learnt from courts of chaudri's an feudal

Third shair: bulleh shah is humiliating the people bowing to Allah, and attributing false to Allah, show me how any other poet attributed things to Allah this way?

fourth shair: offering prayer is like sitting in fireplace, fasting is like wind storm. I lost my belief due to these painful and tiring practices. The real thing is within. Show me any other poet calling rituals this way?

fifth shair: bulleh shah drink vine, eat kabbab, use bones as firewoods to cook your food. Show me any other poet using words like sharab?

One has to see the total message of the overall piece of poetry.
here is similar thoughts from Waris Shah. Will come with other poets shortly.

Bulleh Shah:
ved Quraan parh parh sajday kardyan ghass gaye mathay
Naan Rab terath na rab Mukkay, Jin paya js noor Jamal

*Waris Shah:

Daarrhi sheikh di amal shaitan walay, keha ranio jandiaN rahiaN nooN

Aggay kadh Quran te bahiN mimiber keha adeo maker diaN phahiaN nooN

Ais pleet te pak da karo waqif, asiN janiay sharaa gowahiaN nooN

JehRay thaoN napak ley wich waReoN, shukar rab diaN beparwahiaN nooN

Waris Shah wich hujriaN feil kardey, mullaN jotray lawnday wahiaN nooN

(O Mullah, you have a beard like a scholar and you act like a devil. You, unnecessarily, taunt the travellers. Your opening of the Quran, sitting on the pulpit, is a trap. Please give me the proof of ‘pure’ and ‘impure’ so I can evaluate its validity according to the dictates of ‘shara.’ The way you go into dirty places it is but the forgiving God Who spares spare you. Waris Shah, these mullahs commit homosexuality in their backrooms. This is their tilling).

This is from Rabia Basri

I carry a torch in one hand
And a bucket of water in the other:
With these things I am going to set fire to Heaven
And put out the flames of Hell
So that voyagers to God can rip the veils
And see the real goal.

As I already said you missed the point of rituals.
I dont think that waris shah can be so insane when talking about other people. however if it, do you think it is sufism how people percieve?

Like all sufis Bulleh Shah didn't go on to malign a particular personality. His over all poetry gives message of harmony and equality. Making some of his poems controversial and leaving other non-controversial poetry by him is the fear of right winger like first Head of Punjabi Department of Punjab University. Can anyone say that none of Bulleh Shah's poetry is thought provoking. If he was that bad, why he is now included in Punjab University syllabus? Why the same people couldn't resist with proper reasoning not to include him in syllabus?

I gave you example of Waris Shah's poetry and quotes from Sultan Bahoo against the pre-concieved notions / rituals and I can brought many from Shah Latif's poetry too. Waris Shah did portrayed problems and vices done in his era, without being protective of such rituals and didn't keep silence just because these were performed by respected clergy and so does other Sufis including Bulleh Shah. Rituals are part of religions, but no ritual is above humanity and talking against exploitation through rituals is not a bad idea IMHO. You may disagree to it.

Interesting discussion guys :k:

famous part of bulleh shah peotry is pretty much malign Mullah, you mean literal abuse should be considered as maligning?

Making some of his poems controversial and leaving other non-controversial poetry by him is the fear of right winger like first Head of Punjabi Department of Punjab University. Can anyone say that none of Bulleh Shah's poetry is thought provoking. If he was that bad, why he is now included in Punjab University syllabus? Why the same people couldn't resist with proper reasoning not to include him in syllabus?

I didnt said all the poetry of bulleh shah is blashphemous though few of his poetry is blashphemous, as i given you his poetry. I personally like his different doharray and kafis like :Kar Kattan wal dheyan kurray". if you think that is wrong explaination and out of context you can bring right explaination. and then somehow peer of bulleh shah was wrong.

I gave you example of Waris Shah's poetry and quotes from Sultan Bahoo against the pre-concieved notions / rituals and I can brought many from Shah Latif's poetry too. Waris Shah did portrayed problems and vices done in his era, without being protective of such rituals and didn't keep silence just because these were performed by respected clergy and so does other Sufis including Bulleh Shah. Rituals are part of religions, but no ritual is above humanity and talking against exploitation through rituals is not a bad idea IMHO. You may disagree to it.

I am talking about rituals like roza, namaz and hajj, are these pre-concieved pre-concieved notions / rituals?
Mullah is somewhat relgeous figure but Mullah is not an authority so Malign mullah may be ok for few people.
if any of those sufis tried to counter exploitation by talking against religeous rituals, I would say they followed the most pathetic way.
and please give me some example of exploitation through rituals? I am really not ok with this line.

Also I need a definition of Sufism from you, then we will talk such peotry in the light of sufism