Bull**** Cricket

Re: Bull**** Cricket

We already have Fifty-50 for that. Maybe Twenty Five-25 is the way to go.

I want a Fifty50.

Or possibly Thirty15, just for kicks. It would be entertaining to see the chasing side try to score as many runs as the other team in half the overs.

Fifty50(ODI) takes up the whole day. The idea behind Twenty20 was to make the game very short. Thirty30 would take up 40% less time than ODIs which is still good.

I was never a too big ODI cricket person but 20/20 is making me like ODI's now

yaar, baat to sahi kahi tumne...tum kahin yaasir arafat to nahi ho...khoob saath nibhaya tumne india ka...:D

Hahahah thats a brilliant idea!!!! lol. Puts so much more pressure on winning the toss.

Well-noted.

Quite a good content in this thread regarding the actual demise of cricket and stripping it down to it's flesh and bones. There are both advantages and disadvantages to this format. One cannot deny the fact that it is much more commercially lucrative. In this fast-paced environment, one can generally get away with watching an entire game in a mere couple hours, usually attracting masses of crowds who wouldn't sit and watch cricket otherwise. On the other hand, there is so much missing; bowlers working on the batsmen, ball after ball, over after over. There is no mercy for the bowlers. Pitch curators can go ahead and leave all the grass there is, but we are still left with blind slogging and where and which part of the ground to hit the ball rather than concentrating on placing the ball in the gaps and sending an odd one to, and perhaps over, the boundary. Because of this, the one-day cricket have been negatively impacted and scores and run-rates have become much of life-and-death situations.

So we all agree? Thirty15 is the way to go?

It first needs to be implemented locally. The percentage and success rates from all mohallas will be noted, all anomilies corrected and faxed to ICC after the approval of Ehsan Bhai.

Great. So how do we work out the 15 part. Is it really that important to tell the team batting second that they will only have 15 overs? Or could it be something like forcibly take away their bats after 15 overs and tell them its over.

Apna bat cheen kar ghar bhaag jaanay wali baat hai.

So its all agreed. Thirty15 is the wave of the future.

In fact, in the spirit of deliveries such as the doosra, this new match format should be catered to the biggest cricket market in the world...the hindi/urdu speaking fans. So I propose... Tees15!

They way Pakistan played in last two games showed that its not all bullshiit cricket. Bowlers can be economical if they bowl intelligently and batsmen can score quick runs against best of bowlers WITHOUT slogging.

Chalti ka Naam Gaadi...

I think you can all rest that test cricket isn't going any where. It is here to stay. Ity REAL cricket and it tests cricketers in ways that no amount of ODI or Twenty20 can possibly test them.

My guess is that Twenty20 will squeeze out ODI cricket. Twenty20 is sweet from a commercial stand point. Game played in 3 hours (which is about the standard time for most other team sports). Multiple games in one day. Many opportunities for sponsors' ads and breaks. This is the best way to popularize cricket and get it added to major competitions (Olympics etc). Granted, none of that is what a cricket purist is looking for, but that is why we have test cricket. Everyone's happy.

Twenty20 to feature in 2010 Asian Games in China
Cricket News, Live Cricket Scores, ICC Cricket World T20 2016 News & Headlines | Times of India](Cricket News, Live Cricket Scores, ICC Cricket World T20 2016 News & Headlines | Times of India)
Twenty20 cricket, along with dance sport, dragon boat, roller sport and the ancient Chinese board game of Weiqi, will make their debut when Guangzhou hosts the 16th Asian Games in 2010.
An estimated 14,000 athletes and officials would converge in the Chinese city to take part in the sporting extravaganza that would host 42 events in 62 venues, Fang Daer, Marketing Director of the Guangzhou Asian Games Organising Committee, told reporters on Tuesday.
“We are grateful to India for their support. Cricket has a huge mass base in your country and we are happy to have accommodated cricket in our list of disciplines,” Daer said.
Daer expressed the hope that India, Sri Lanka, Pakistan and Bangladesh — the Test cricket playing nations of the continent would send their top teams for the event, even though he could not confirm the hosts’ participation.
“Well, China’s participation remains undecided. We have to talk to the Chinese Cricket Association and we still have some time to decide on that,” he said through an interpreter.
Daer also admitted that cricket was yet to emerge as a game with a large enough base and confessed China was hardly familiar with the Twenty20 format.
“It’s not that popular a game in China but things are changing and more and more people are being drawn to the game. Twenty20 is a new format but we hope we can sort out the issue and remain hopeful of China’s participation in the game,” he said.
Olympic Council of Asia secretary Randhir Singh felt the Asian Games debut could prove an important step towards cricket’s inclusion in the Olympics. “Asian Games debut is a step in the right direction for cricket’s Olympic debut. It’s the perfect platform for the game to spread roots and Olympics might be the next target,” he said.

After watching the last few games in their entirety, I for one am inclined to change my mind about this format of the game.

It’s not just blatant slogging but about intelligent aggression – on both the bowling and the batting fronts… provided of course that the pitches for these types of tournaments do not always favour the batsmen. I have enjoyed watching the various sides bowl as well. Yes, the bowlers are more susceptible to being hit, but the batsmen are equally under pressure to keep it up for as long as possible. Partnerships matter… strategizing and improvising are crucial at every stage – one good or bad over can turn the game around. I suppose that’s something that will leave audiences glued to their sets unlike in ODIs where missing to watch a few overs may not be as bad.

Khair, long story short – I’m beginning to like this format… more so cuz it doesn’t take the whole day to watch as well.

yea.. im a litttttle less dismissive of the format. but i'd prefer atleast 30-30 to this.

One thing I will say indeed; most of the games between big teams have been nail biters and could have gone either way (unlike 50 over games that can get one sided fairly quickly). However, I still hate how bowlers are treated like stepchildren (free hit, one bouncer only, patta pitches, etc.), and hence until the administrators give the bowlers a fair chance, I can never accept 20/20 with open arms.

Maybe they should change the requirement from 5 to 4 bowlers i.e. 4 bowlers bowling 5 overs each. This way not only your two best bowlers will be able to bowl 10 overs between them but it will also ensure a more even contest between bat and ball. In a 50-over game it's difficult to split the overs evenly between 4 bowlers but in twenty20 it's possible. It will also allow you to have 6 batsmen, one w/k, one genuine all-rounder and three bowlers in your side rather than having 2-3 bits and pieces allrounders like Yasir Arafat and Hafeez. Also the free hit non-sense should be scrapped. It's bad enough as it is having to bowl an extra delivery after a no-ball.