Buffets & Pakistanis!!

Buffets and pakistanis just don’t go!! , not for a wedding receptions anyway, especially if they happen to be catering for 300+ people.

I’m sorry, but I refuse to get all dressed up and then be forced to fight my way to a buffet table, armed with only a crappy plate and a teaspoon ( cos they’ve ran outta proper spoons) ..I’m tellin you that armour aint enough! i can’t fight aunty jees, the force is too strong in them.

..noticed how there’s always one family already eating before the rest even get up :smack:and then some ppl pile their plates soo high , i dunno, maybe cos they don’t want to face that queue again, or they think it’s embarassing to get up again for food, but the what’s more embarassing than making a teesi on ur plate with a naan balancing ontop of pilau, which is balancing on top of about 10 drumsticks, which are balancing on top of kebabs, wich are balancing ontop of palak gosht which is ontop of chicken salan which are all ontop of zarda:eek:Sheesh then there is queue hopping, which isn’t much hopping as opposed to horizontally sticking both albows out at your side and charging forward towards the food table. eke. ohh yeh, and there’;s also ppl stealing naan from your plate cos they canlt be bothered gettin up and then saying stuff like ‘‘ohh i thougt you were serving’’ when you turn around with the ‘‘wtf’’ look…like hellooo it’s a buffet!:smilestar:
For a small party it’s great though, but for larger parties its just a No NO, unless of course they have ppl there to serve the food, but even at that, its the actual standing in a queue part thats off putting…sheesh have you seen the weight of pakistani dresses :hoonh:
baah i hate weddings, and yeh i’ve recently been to a nightmare buffeted wedding .

another random observation…is it just me or have other people noticed that, note GENERALLY speaking, about siblings, that when it comes to brothers the younger brother is usally better looking than the older bother , but on the other hand the older sister is usually better looking than the younger sister?

Re: Buffets & Pakistanis!!

LOL :hehe: I TOTALLY AGREE with you

Compared to that chaos, I have attended quite a few official Buffets thrown at various occasions at the work place. While everyone is seated (away from the food tables) they announce on the PA system, the protocol to proceed to the food area. Its just like the announcement they make at the departure lounges before you board your plane. People go to the food tables, according to the zones they are seated in. The guidlines are clear. People move in ques from both ends of the halls. At the tables, there is someone who puts whatever you want in your plate. The salad and the other tidbits you pick yourself. It is so organized that a big group of 300/400 people is all served and re-seated at their places in no time at all. Coffee tea or other drinks are served at the table.

^^

aaa pakistaniu ko kaab akaal aai gi:hmmm:kissi shaddi ka kissa likhoo official dinners ka nahi uder tou waisai hi loogon ki jaan sookhi hotee hai apnai apnai BOSSES kai daar sai:p

During my stay in Pakistan, I went to four weddings, two were my cousins, one friend & one extended family.

My friend got married in a 5 star hotel so people there were pretty civilised and there no mountains of palak gosht & kebab or 15 drum sticks in the plates, most of the people didn't over eat. It didn't look like a wedding in Pakistan. I was quite happy to see the discipline and just walked to a table and ate my bit.

One of my cousins (chacha ka larka) wedding was chaos, it was a scene like people were just waiting for the food to open. As soon as they said, Khana tanawal farmayay, people just attacked & when I saw them running towards food I didn't bother getting up. I was sitting with my chacha and my brother & e didn't bother getting up. We had our share after everyone finished. I was pretty disappointed because food was more than enough & even when people finished, the trays were kinda full of everything. We three walked slowly to a table poured a little palak gosht & thigh of chicken and thats was more than enough for me.

At other cousins wedding who also married a cousin (my khala's son married other khala's daughters), it was pretty much disciplined apart, so cant complain. Everything was pretty decent. Even my mother walked to the table to get some food (she usually doesn't bother eating at weddings).

But best was wedding in a village near Gujrat (in a village), they announced food is ready & woala ... within around 5 to 10 minutes all trays were empty, people ate like mad. It was one plate with 10 to 12 pieces of chicken, biryani, (three different kinds of) salan, naan, firni & God knows what. I couldn't get anything and didn't bother getting up because there was nothing left for me. But "Aslam da munda walai'toon aya ay" got special treatment afterwards, and its only because I was "from Wala'ait". I had a good laugh with my brother.

Well the purpose of telling this story is, it all depends where the crowd is coming from. I have attended the desi weddings in USA/Canada/UK/France/Holland/Germany etc and believe me each wedding was a different experience. Even people in USA didn't behave much different than people living in small village near Gujrat.

LOL those are funny experiences...

Most weddings I have been to where I live and in my family there are always people serving. Few years ago it used to be the men in the family and the community who used to serve...us women get to eat first hee hee, then they served the men...

Nowadays having waiters is more common...people can afford it and it's easier...

The only places that have buffets are mehndi's and sometimes they can be a pain but on the whole I havent been to a buffet kind of wedding where there is so much chaos...LOL i wanna go now just to check the atmosphere..

From a thread I posted last year :snooty:

Any wedding I go to has the men and women setting in separate sections, both sections having their own buffet. That solves 1/2 your problem. The men don’t have to deal with aunties.

Then the tables are all numbered and they call out one or two tables at a time to go get their food. This works out very nicely. I’ve never seen the food getting finished before everyone has a chance to take some. And a lot of people do bring extra naan in case someone needs some before they go for a second serving.