I need suggestions on what items (dishes) you would love to see in a party buffet…
And folks, please be realistic…give me 5 items, plus naan, rice. Include three appetizers and two desserts.
All desi food please!
Thanks.
I need suggestions on what items (dishes) you would love to see in a party buffet…
And folks, please be realistic…give me 5 items, plus naan, rice. Include three appetizers and two desserts.
All desi food please!
Thanks.
Muzna muzna muzna
I had high hopes from youi but off teh bat u disappointed me...here is my menu which includes items from some of my previous and planned parties.
basically have something that is a lil diff, the same 3-4 thinsg served at most dawats get a lil boring. u kow biryani, qorma..seekh kebab.
naan? come on have taaftan or sheeer-maal. naan is a bit too boring
I am assuming this is a dinner affair and not a luncheon
appetizers:
fish or chicken shaami kebab served with 3 diff chutneys..your usual podeenay ki chatnee, major grey's mango chutney, and imli ki chutney with some wasabi for that extra kick
set a make your own chaat baar. have the potatoes, chickpeas, diff sauces (yogurt, imli, podeena etc), tomatoes etc..ppl can amke their own plates..always a hit at my place
alternate:
1) mini kebabs and samosas, and by mini I mean Hors D'Oeuvres small cocktail cutlets, kebabs, grilled prawns..with a variety of dipping sauces with tooth picks to pick and eat, add on some chunks of mango and amrood on sticks as well.
taash kebab
boneless beef pulao (not biryani.. but pulao)
nargissi koftay
jumbo prawn masala
roast leg of lamb
alternates:
passanday-beef
Jumbo prawn biryani
green masala chicken
desserts:
khoobani ka meetha
kheer, served in its own little koonday
alternate: mango souffle
here is somethign extra..drinks
lime coconut and mint lassi
Fraudz you have me hungry at 9:45am ![]()
Fraud......
What an accomplished party planner you are......remind me of Martin Short.....well....sort of.....
;)
Femme
lunch hour is not too far..it will be okay
Muzna
well once i graduated from undergrad and the fraternity days were behind me, i realized that to have successful and fun gatherings you need more than just buckets ful of kamikaze shots, and dentist chairs with funnels of booze..had to be more creative with proper dawats
gracias, now note that aside from grilled items I dont actually cook the stuff, that is wifey's domain.
What kind of drinks would you serve with this meal?
belle..fresh spritzers..have some flavoured syrups, some juice concentrates..soda water..and make a few. I mentioned the lime mint and coconut lassi before, which is really really good.
How do you make it? Lime juice, coconut flakes, and mint leaves/essence? Doesn't the lime juice make the lassi clot?
Fraudz items are good but I would include something for the vegetarians too like dal or mixed sabzi.
Fraudz : u eat lot of meat :D
*Originally posted by roshnie: *
Fraudz items are good but I would include something for the vegetarians too like dal or mixed sabzi.
Fraudz : u eat lot of meat :D
haen...
if u make potato cutlets theya re all veg, samosas can be all veg, last i checked mango and amrood slices were not considered meat, same goes for mango souffle, kheer, khoobani ka meetha, etc.. :P
ohh u mean main course..I would serve vegetarian fare but i dont know any of my friends who dont eat meat, some dont eat red meat and some dont eat seafood, but all of them eat some meat. you can have some good veg stuff like bhindi cooked with tomatoes, kinda karahi style etc.
there are times when i have done complete veg dawats just to break out of teh ordinary. khicchri, karrhi, sabzi etc. ppl really enjoy that too.
femme its made in coconut milk. i dinn invent it, recipe is online at many places as well. i found it from BBC for u
Ingredients
200ml/7fl oz coconut milk
1 lime, roughly chopped
2 tbsp honey
85g/3oz ice
fresh mint, to garnish
Method
http://www.bbc.co.uk/food/recipes/database/limecoconutandmintla_70360.shtml
Uff Ohh Phir sahib: I “eat” my words back. You don’t eat that much meat after all :nahnah:
*Originally posted by roshnie: *
Uff Ohh Phir sahib: I "eat" my words back.
are they veg words? :D
Fraudz
Please if you can, share the recipe for Taash Kababs. I remember you had promised to get the recipe from your mom ![]()
Thank you!
taash kababs! Do you have to be playing cards while you eat these kababs? haww, taash is haraaaaam I tells ya, haraaaam!
cslling taash kebab haraam is haraaam i tell ya, its haraaam sista
haraam
haraaaaaaaam
haraaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaam
since Fraudias already given u ure menu ill resot to telling u my faves
i love the trifles in the flute glasses, they look gorgeous and taste even better
u could go for spring rolls, theyre easy finger food, it doesnt take too long to make them and theyre good for kids
chicken niblets? u know with the masala
tirimisu with tea, later on (dont skip the mascarpone cheese it gives all the flavour)
Xara..muzna asked for desi stuff :)
Fraudz ![]()
Where’s the recipe? ![]()
Seher..hmmm itni jaldi kis cheez ki hai? a,,i sent me teh recipe but did not include quantities, just the ingredeints and how to amke it, i have to get the quantities of ingredients from her :)