Budgeting for Wedding

Can you guys please make a list of everything that one needs for the wedding. From dresses/jewelry to hotel and everything. Also, how much $ you think we should expect to spend on each. Thanks.
I am hoping we can come up with all essentials and put together a creative list so that it can help any brides to be.

Re: Budgeting for Wedding

For all events
photographer
videographer
invitations
wedding ring
make up artist ($350)
mehndi artist ($2oo for bridal mehndi)
beauty rituals (massage, facial, manicure, polish changes)
hair style (and someone who knows how to put the dupatta up)
remember to keep safety pins, bobby pins hair spray, touch up make up.......)
look for packages: either in the beauty dept or photographer/video/stage etc)
any party favors u plan on giving???
any mitthai...
jewelery for each day
kaanch ki churriyan for mayoon and mehndi
paranda?

Mayoon
Mayoon venue
thali's (homemade or pak bought)
food
mayoon clothes (him and her)
any decor
ubtan

Mehndi
mehndi stage (pillows, jhula, carpet etc) (approx $1000)
mehndi attire (his and hers)
thalis
mehndi venue
DJ
dhol ($300)
doli (personal preference) ($300)
flower garlands
petals to through
duppatta to hold when bringing u in
catering
leaf to put mehndi on
mehndi
cut mitthai in cubes and serve with toothpicks

Wedding
Wedding venue ($35 plus tax plus $20 service tax) per person
stage decor ($2000........and up)
centerpieces ($20 for candles and petals, $30 and upppppp for flowers)
table linens
DJ
dhol wala
glass for dood pilai
sherwani
gharara/lengha
wedding cake/chocolate fountain
ice sculptures?????
flowers and pedestals in walkway ($700)
lighting on walls ($600)
projection screen ($300)

valima
suit
gharara/lengha
stage decor
centerpieces
table linens
DJ
dhol wala
valima cake

A groom...

sorry couldnt resist haha

emm i think blushing rose pretty much got everything up there. maybe entertainment, like bollywood dancers for the mehndi.

yes.. and oo a body gaurd to gaurd the stage to little bachas cant come up and screw pictures
lolll

blushing rose.. i love your list

^^^^thnxx i was trying to remember all the things I needed---will go over my list at home and will probably add more:)

BR I'll be using your list for sure!

i used martha’s checklist- if was super helpful! Planning Tools
i also used her budget breakdown to set up my wedding spending.

more things:

gotta rent a dholak (remmeber spoon)

for the girls here: I printed out Dholak songs in English (made about 20 or copies)
candles for mehndi and lighter

flower jewelery for girl (u need yarn and carnations and roses and a thick needle)...order the flowers in bulk

boutonnieres/corsages ($12-20)
mailbox for money envelops ($35)
nikkah pen (remember that whole thread lol)

If you lots of ppl staying at ur home, remember to have enough pillows, blankets etc.

have all cameras/camcorder batteries charged for home videos (they are the best--especially when everyone is helping each other with make up etc/sitting at night, singing/dancing and just having fun

christmas lights to decorate home (inside and out). Halloween time they have great orange and yellow lights and work so well with mayoon. Even orange/yellow flowers with christmas lights. They have purple lights available as well at this time

have CD player ready for home functions

organize dances on mendhi (have a list and give it to the DJ before so he has the songs)

wrapping paper/ribbons/scotch tape/gift bags/tissues for gifts for in laws etc

wicker baskets for gift giving (can be decorated with ribbons etc)

if u want kids blowing bubbles (can find some really cheap ones at the Party Store or WalMart

have person who will do Nikkah and mehr etc all sorted before wedding

need dupattas for guys on mehndi and their shalwaar camiz-es

rememebr to get the wedding attire steamed

have make up essentials ready if u plan on doing ur own make up for mehndi/mayoon (the light colors needed, light foundation/lip gloss etc)

money for salami's

u need a box (they have decorated ones in Pak) for all the money they put around ur head....

wedding attire budget depends on bazaar (50,000 rs) and designer (1 lakh and above)

sherwani's range from 40,000 rs (Junaid Jamshed, Humayoon Sayeed, Aijaz Aslam), Amir Adnan are a lil pricier, Deepak's are abt 70,000 rs plus

qusay/feetwear for groom

shoes for all days for bride....gold shoes are the best during the Holiday season

Your seriously scaring me !!!!
I dont think i have anything read =( well, kinda but still.
I dont think ill go this much in detail. All i plan on having is a Mehendi, Dars, Mayoon wedding and valima. The only ones ill really care about will be the Shaadi and Valima. The rest should be fine. Inshallah!

Wow Mash'Allah BlushingRose, this is veryy useful! :)

^^I didnt think we needed all of this...which abt 98% we did!!! there's soooo much to do, so take it one step at a time. Write everything down, cross things out as u've done them....

right now I havent even written abt trousseu shopping, furniture, home things (like bathroom towels, sets, dinner sets, comforter sets.........).

There's so much ITS CRAZZZZYYYYY!

I know.. now that I think about it Im getting overwhelmed again.. even though ive been married a year.. but man the things u need to get before ur married..

• make sure u pack ur night-bag way in advance.. and you have someone there to get it to the car or the hotel room.

• if your having a registry.. make sure it includes the things that you KNOW your going to use.. and you let everyone coming to the wedding know that this is what you need. Sometimes when people dont know they end up giving you something that you totally cant use. Also, everyone has their own tastes wrt articles in your house

• make sure your mehndi/baraat/valima joras are sent to the dry-cleaners to get ironed and garment bagged well in advance aswell.. make sure your jewellery, bangles, and toiletries are in the same garment bag. My cousin went ahead and put in 3 different kits into my garment bags for each day. They had all my jewellery, perfume, bangles, deodorant etc in it.. all in one place and that way I just dumped all the unused stuff in the same bag and sent it home :)

• give your photographer time in advance for your shoots.. dont have it done after the baraat.. your all tired and frustrated from the whole days events and you tend to not look that fresh after the day is over.. get it done before so that the photo-wala can focus on the events during the event.

• go for mani/ pedi's, facials and massages every month if you can.. atleast 3-4 mnths before your wedding.. that way you'll know what to expect if you get a facial done a week before your big day.

• make sure you plan out the way you want your events/ day to unfold.. who enters first, who dances first etc.

... will add more if i remember something

now that i read it again.. my list is totally NOT related to this thread :(.. all that writing! :(