Budget 2010-11

Lip-serivce has its limit, Imran Khan seriously have to come-out with the solutions.. he need to build his team to have one, he need to remember that he have not got any Majid Khan in the Govt. this time…

I am yet to meet any family or an individual who is receiving Rs 1000 from tha Benazir Income Program. I don't have any doubts that in distribution of this money also there is corruption. Besides what can Rs 1000 can buy these days ? Not even one month grocery of a single person !!!!!

If you see over the past few years the number of people seeking free meals and groceries at charitable organisation like Selani have increased substantially. I don't know who is really benefiting from the so called Benazir Fund !

I agree with the poster who said that investment should be done in education. If you see in long term it will have positive effects not only on the economy but also on the corruption. Do you have any idea how easily purchasable the marks and answers sheets are these days ? You give RS 10,000 per answer sheet you get it you fill it up again and return . You don't even know if the A grader standing infront of you is really an A grader or a Jahil insaan who has purchased his marks. Do you have any idea how many so called shareef log send someone else to give exams on their behalf and get the degree ? What can you expect from such a nation where education is suffering from so much corruption. There is no truth and justice even in education too !

I know so many people who were benefiting from the items sold at utilities stores set up by government. Now they are withdrawing subsidies from it too. How can a person earning RS 10,000 a month provide two times decent meals to his family ?

Imports are going to become even more expensive this year because of newly imposed taxes. The imports was already suffering from the devalued rupee. Most of our industrial production depends upon imported raw materials so expensive imports will only result in increased price of goods. So many goods produced here from imported raw materials are exported so now will they be able to compete in international market with the new increase prices ? It's a whole cycle that gets affected if you try to understand. In the end who is suffering .......... the poor working class of Pakistan.

I have many acquaintances in far east , they are shocked to know at what prices do us Pakistanis get fuel / gas ? Their fuel prices are much lower than ours. Their govt subsidise it . Our govt is pulling subsidies from everything by following the instructions of IMF. We Pakistanis are not getting relief in any form from our govt.

I firmly believe that nothing can be done ! our nation voted zardari because BB died. We are quick in forgetting our past and we an never learn from it and this is what exactly happens to nations who don't learn from their mistakes. SO NOW ENJOY DEMOCRACY !

Re: Budget 2010-11

There is no democracy in Pakistan, the parties are re-presented by Industrialist/businessmen/trader and feudal lords... hence the parties are bend to do whatever it takes to support this class.. rest seems to some sort of creature to them...

Look what Nawaz Shareef has said today, remember Punjab Govt is suffering and increase in salaries by 50% has effected their budget plans badly, but still Nawaz Shareef is insisting to have relief for poor in the the budget of Punjab and how can we get to it, it is by revoking the luxury tax on Luxury cars, this has been really hurting the poor families of Punjab... dozens of poor families shall benefit from revoking of this tax..

agree on the tax issue !

few days back I was looking at the footage of Punjab Assembly ........God there was sooo many peoples sitting in it. I don't know what they are doing. Why they need so many members ? It was looking like a government school where kids are just sitting close to each other due to lack of space ! Getting rid of a few of them will open some fund sources for sure.

The 50% increase in pay . I have know some govt employees in past . Let me tell you that the increase is on basic pay only which is a verrrry small amount of the total salary. Plus employees who are getting allowances equals to one months pay will not get increase . that is if an employee is getting rs 8000 basic pay and allowance of rs 8000 too they will not benefit from it. most of the govt employees get fair amount of allowances by submitting fake degrees or true degrees obtained by fraud. According to my calculations on a few people would be benefiting from it. The increase in penions and all is only for employees from grade 1-16. As far as I know the basic pay of grade 17 employee is around 6000-10000 so you can imagine what their basic pay would be for employees lesser than 17th grade ? but how can we forget that there will be corruption and injustice in the allocation of increased allowances too.

^^ what do you mean that you don't know what they are doing, they are sucking blood from our bodies, they are getting everything which a common person like you or me can dream of.. that is what they are doing and do not object on them.. they are direct product of democracy

I am not against the pay-hike, if you ask my opinion on it then keeping the other factors in mind, this pay increase is not even 50%, the net effect would be around 20% increase... my objection is on the statement of NS where he says that Luxury tax should be revoked, the duffer should think twice before opening his mouth

The main & 1st qualification to become someone like nawaz sharif or zardari is to be a DUFFER. They'd not let go of luxury cars instead they want the tax to be revoked.

Explain the differences please. You asked for examples from developed countries where you get modest cash/cash-equivalent supplementary aid from the government if you're below an income level, at comparable levels of aid (after adjusting for cpi). Now you ask am I seriously stating it.

Yes I am seriously stating it. Your turn to say something substantive.

More so you are saying its a better use of our resources than infusing it into our education sector?

Once again, I dont buy the argument that theres a choice to be made between this and education. You could apply the same argument for anything else in the budget. nonsensical.

Now I have a limited grasp of economics but arent direct cash injections a form of spending? You wont be 'throwing' the money. It'll be spent immediately (thats what poor folks do) anyway, usually on cheaper, non-imported goods and return to the economy. Money returns to the public/private sector.

Are you against subsidies on consumer goods? Those have been halved to 129 billion. A much more substantial amount than 50 billion. They play the same role (in a less targeted way) as income support. Why not call to spend all of that on development.. since that subsidy is also charity from friends?

they can develop atleast 10 small towns spending Rs 5 Billion on each of them, i am sure by this the poort families will not have to beg for rs 1000 instead they can make lot more than this and that is by honorable way...

what, specifically, would you want the 5 billion spent on in each town?

and for those who say 1000 is a small amount, bear in mind that our minimum wage (below which a substantial number of people still work) is 6000. 1000 is nothing for you lot but its not insignificant for those receiving it.

Lets not compare apples with oranges

in rich economies, as you have mentioned there are certain programs, we have seen in the recent financial crisis that the govt have helped its people and govt is going to collect that money back (in form of taxes) once things get stable.

In Pakistan story is different, limited economic activities and that is also limited to certain cities only has given no chance or very little chance for the people to survive... hence the schemes like Benazir Income Program etc will not help to curb the poverty of these people, as there is no morning to the night of poverty without proper infrastructure and economic activities.

Most importantly, the strong economies generate enough money from their own resources to help the poor in their country, whereas, Pakistan has to seek aid / donation/loan to continue with its day-to-day operations... in later kind of economy it is wise to spend more on development so that the loans and its interest can be paid anytime in future, giving the money to poor and that is Rs 1000 shall not eliminate poverty nor does it will support them big time..

Subsidies on food item is different ball game, it has different set of rules and it has different targets as well, so lets not compare it with BIP

As of now, the economy of Pakistan is depended on few cities, as a result we are seeing migration from rural to cities, this has created social and other problems in the big cities... this need to be changed, if we select let say ten city cum towns of Pakistan in all the provinces, and spend 40% of the money in developing the infrastructure and with remaining develop/support cottage-industry and encourage SMEs in these towns then it will benefit Pakistan in many ways, first of all, the development will not be limited to certain area, 2ndly the development activities are often followed by education and awareness 3rdly the feeling of being neglected or ignored will not be there... and most importantly people will know how to develop themselves, Example of Sialkot is in front of us, had we be giving Rs 1000 to the Sialkoties then the region might have been turned into beggars colony, but industry was supported by the govt., incentives were given and today Sialkot has built its own air-port....

This is the benefit we should be looking at... this is how we can develop we cannot develop by spending billion of rupees to in non-productive activities, we just cannot afford to do it, check the debt-servicing we had to do and check the rate it is increasing at??? from where we are going to pay it??? we have to raise money from within, and for that we need to develop more, we need to look into under-developed areas, explore the potential in those areas... and trust me, if we start doing it, no body in Pakistan would be needing Rs 1000 ( other than politicians)

One this is for sure situation keeps getting worse and worse in PAK, every human comes and fill their pockets do not give a dang about the peeps, i don’t know how these ppl sleep at night, but then again ppl of Pakistan voted for PPP party but who knows if the elections are ever fair! but believe me guy every zalim has to answer to the ALLMIGHTY ALLAH one day, may ALLH give us taufeeq to live life the way according to sunnah, once we do that every thing will change and yo shall see the rise of Muslims, the way we use to be when we were scared of Allah SWTA, now we are not scared of anyone we just do what we want to do not care who we are hurting or what we do halal or haram just want to accomplish our goal, my advice would be every person should look at themselves and ask yourself have i lived my life the way i was suppose to and if the answer is no then make Astagfar and follow the right path to the light at the end of the tunnel may Allah SWTA give me taufeeq to do this first and every other muslim brother and sister to do that also, at this time i feel for people in Pakistan most of the people are really struggling even to stay alive because of mehngai and not enough income bichare kuch loog to sirif do waqat ki roti khane ko taraste hain mannn now that is a shame, when govt can spend billions of rupees on gardening and leisure this is just amazing how can these ppl call themselves muslims, musalman to woh hai jo apna pait kaat ke muslman bhai ko khilai, kya bane ga haam logon ka, amazing isn't it guys.

ravage, do you really think that Pakistani nation has to depend on the ruling elite to help the poor or give out their charities through the corrupt leaders who rule the same poor? Are you sure? I think Pakistani nation is one of the most charitable nation on earth. That is why despite the kind of rulers we have had, Pakistan has still survived. That is why now anti Pakistan mafia around the world is stealing from the common Pakistanis in every possible way so there is no one to help this country progress & feed the poor apart from IMF / World bank loans.

Regarding the budget, looks like the mafia controlling Pakistan's faith has made the current rulers of the country believe that 'the end' is near so to fill into their personal banks as much as they want / can & forget about any 'progress & development'. So, that is exactly what is going on.

Not a rupee for developmental projects
Not a single rupee for science & technology sector.
Not single paisa for tourism.

They must be like, "oh dont you know your end is near, why waste all the funds on developing anything in this country. Enjoy those funds even if that means burrying the nation alive." Or, "You should happily agree to go back to stone age or you know we're going to do that anyway by force. It is going to be our way so you better enjoy & die rather than fight & die."

Exactly my point.

A government which has totally, completely ignored the unemployment, destruction of almost all the industries, only concentrating on sucking more & more money from Pakistani citizens in the form of all kinds of stupid 'taxes', all policies being adopted contributing to inflation, can we really expect these same leaders to 'feed' the poor? Do we really need these leaders to feed the poor of Pakistan?

Right now, they have postponed the implementation of VAT but have raised the % of GST & added all the items under GST even the items (milk, bread, etc.) which were previously exempted. AND they plan to still implement VAT in 2 months. So, in a way, they have imposed TWO VATS on Pakistani nation with two different names (GST & VAT).

They are only doing what they are being instructed to do. They are taking all the measures & procedures which would turn the whole Pakistani nation into slaves............... as soon as possible.

^ The postponement of VAT is another technique to play with the people of Pakistan. What I have heard that now they will be charging increased electricity tariff from June 2009. If anybody remembers clearly it was increased last year but after much protests they withdrew it so it was just postponed and not withdrawn they didn't charged us then but now our bills will be charged back dated and you will get arrears in your bill.

I just don't understand that it was the same economy that Musharraf's government was handling and they paid off all the loans taken from IMF By previous govt and didn't took a single loan from IMF the entire tenure. Why suddenly our balance of payments are so out that we need loan from IMF ? Why can't this govt stabilise Rupee like previous govt did ! What was the previous government doing to finance the deficits ? Can't they just accept the good things that musharraf's govt did and implement the same policies to save our economy !

The previous government didn't take loans from IMF yet they provided subsidies ! It was the SAME ECONOMY that this govt got ! Same economy two different management two different results !

The more you study the budget the more it confuses e.g. govt have said that it has revoked/reduced duty/taxes on edible oil and ghee, whereas, they have increase the GST which in-turn will make it more expensive then it is now... a strange way provide relief

another example, Hina Rabbani Khar was found saying that Subsidies from the essentials shall stay the same, but the budget figures tells different story, it is suggested that the Subsidies are reduced to Rs 126.7 Billion from 229 billion... means, another Rs 100 billion taken away from the poor...

More Confusion:

FACT : 30 Million energy savers to be distributed to conserve electricity

and our minister of finance says

flawed policies and influence of some govt. departments was/is responsible for energy shortage

????

Some Interesting Stuff of 2008-09 budget

•                                                                              Reduction in expenditures of the Prime Minister’s                            Secretariat and National Assembly. 

• Govt. to set up Textile City, Marble City and other Industrial Zones to boost national exports.

• Pakistan will be made an investors friendly destination, and efforts will be made to strengthen the social sector for which focus will be given to housing sector

I wonder if govt has met any of the target or are close to meet any of the target set in 2008-09 budget, the 1st budget of this govt...

I am copy pasting someone's views on budget from FORUM PAKISTAN.

WATCHING POVERTY GROW: A look at Pakistan’s budget

Electricity bills go up, so do gas prices as Pakistan government announced 0.2% for health-care, 0.8% for education and 12% for the army in the budget 2009-10. The only expenditure higher than the army’s in the budget is debt payment.
For now, the army is working for the money they make but their influence on the political set-up is obvious by the chunk of budget allocation they receive compared to the necessary public expenditure that keeps getting put off indefinitely. The minister, in her budget speech revealed that the war on terror has consumed 35 billion dollars. Americans paid ten and who paid the rest is everybody’s guess.
Most ironic is the exorbitant increase in electricity bills. The whole city of Karachi was without power for longer than 24 hours. Load-shedding of electricity for a few hours daily is the norm all over the country but consumers will see a minimum raise of one thousand rupees on their monthly bills.
Government has ear-marked Rs. 70 billion to be distributed to the poorest families. The program called Benazir income support fund would give $12.50 (one thousand rupees) per month to 5 million families who have no income. Close to a quarter of the 170 million Pakistanis live in extreme poverty.
Almost 75% Pakistanis live on an income below two dollars a day. Health-care is either hard to reach or very expensive. Middle class in the cities cannot afford necessary health-expense. For the large majority, government hospitals are the only resource and they are far and few and under-funded. The amount of Rs. 6.48 billion allocated for the health sector cannot improve on the provision of this necessity.
More than half of the Pakistani population is illiterate and Pakistan has existed for sixty-two years. Numbers speak for the government’s in-attention to this vitally important sector. With the US gestures for aid to be invested in the public sector, the allocation of a meager 0.8% towards education is pathetic.
Pakistan’s Rs.2.9 trillion budget relies on foreign aid and the government plans to seek help from IMF in case the aid does not come through on time. This budget projects a deficit of 4.9% and IMF could allow only 4.6% so the government intends to borrow money to make up for the difference. Broadening the Tax base by including agriculture could be a far-fetched idea for the government of feudal-lords. Agriculture contributes 22% to the GDP and yields only 1% of the revenue.
Rs.655 billion will be given to the provinces in 2009-10. The year before, provinces were promised more in the budget but received around Rs.600 billion. In 1948, sales-tax was taken over by the federation because national security demanded that provinces give it up. With the volatile situation in Baluchistan and a war in NWFP, the budget could be a good time to announce concessions for the provinces but a National Finance Commission is set to begin after a few months. Integrity of the country could depend on these issues but government has not shown any urgency.
Generations of Pakistanis are condemned to a life-time of hard labor on empty stomach to pay for the war, army, ministers, senators, MNAs, MPAs, international aid, loans and donations and still feel indebted to the donor countries without receiving a dime of help. The military and their feudal allies borrow on behalf of the people to keep their business running while the people are sinking deep in debt and poverty.

Here are the highlights of Budget from the same website FORUM PAKISTAN

Here is budget 2010-2011
[

Total outlay of Budget 2009-10 is Rs2.489 trillion

Rs50 billion allocated for the displaced of operation in Malakand Division

Inflation rate has declined to 14.4 percent and it will further decline to single digit in the next fiscal year

Rs1.488 billion has been allocated for courts

The best way to lower the poverty is to take the inflation down, which was 25 percent last year

Rs1.488 billion has been allocated for courts

Tax base will be broadened

Property gains tax will be expanded

CVT will be continued

DGP growth expected to be 3.3 percent for 2009-10

Salaries of armed forces will be raised from July 1

Inflation target for 2009-10 will be 9%

Rs 70 billion for Benazir Income Support Program for 09-10

Fiscal deficit will be limited to 4.9 percent or Rs722 billion

Current expenditure will be curtailed by 15.3 percent

Carbon surcharge will be introduced in FY10

Withholding tax on domestic vehicles ended

Rs2.2 billion allocated for environment

Tax target raised to Rs 2.17 trillion

Rs23.1 billion for health.

Duty on wind power plants withdrawn.

Social protection net being introduced for farmers.

Agriculture and value addition to be given special attention.

Use of new technology in agriculture sector to be encouraged.

Rs18 billion for PSDP which is 25 percent higher than the previous year

CVT on property to be increased to 4 percent from 2 percent.

Petroleum development levy to end in FY10.

Government raises salaries of government of employees by 15 percent.

Tax Collection Target has been set at Rs 1377.5 billion

Current Expenditures are estimated at 1699.19 billion

Allocation for People’s Works Program: Rs 28 billion

Allocation for Workers’ Welfare Fund: Rs 10.8 billion

Government and armed forces’ retired employees will receive 15 percent raise in their net pensions from July 1, 2009

An increase of allowance equivalent to one basic pay, effective from July 1, 2009, has been approved for the military’s personnel deputed in the western part of the country. All the members of the armed forces will get the same from January 1, 2010.

Rs 262 billion are for federal ministries

Rs 38 billion are for Azad Jammu and Kashmir, FATA and Northern Areas

Rs 60 billion are for Corporations

Rs 60 billion are for Water Sector Development

Rs 47 billion are for Dams Construction/Raising

Rs 18 billion for Agriculture

Rs 23.15 billion have been allocated for Health sector

Rs 32 billion have been allocated for Education with Rs 22.5 billion for Higher Education

Development Budget allocated for the Provinces: Rs 200 billion

National Highway Authority will receive Rs 40.2 billion

Rs 12.7 billion are for Railways

Rs 70 billion are allocated for Transport and Communication

Rs 85 billion have been allocated to overcome energy crisis and would be spent on Electricity, Gas and Water Supply projects.

Rs 2.96 billion have been allocated for environment protection

Rs 3.6 billion are for National Internship Program

Rs 450 million for cultural development

Rs 583 million for Sports

Rs 300 m allocated for Postal Ministry in PSDP-2009-10

Communications Division gets Rs.45971.990 million in PSDP 2009-10, NHA gets Rs 45706.090

Govt allocates Rs.50.000 mln for NRB

Rs. 3265.377 mln earmarked for 132 projects of Science & Technological Research Division

Govt. allocates Rs 16709.980 mln for Food Agriculture Division

Tax on imports raises to 4% from 2%.

Rs12 billion allocated for Mangla dam

Govt to set up export houses.

Excise duty on cellular down to 19 percent

Excise duty on CKD reduces by 5 percent

SIM activation charges have been reduced from Rs500 to Rs250

The funds for the science and technology being doubled

Rs10 billion fund allocated for SMEs

Govt to spend Rs4 billion on Benazir Tractor Scheme for small cultivators in next two years

Rs47 billion allocated for water resources management under PSDP

The govt not to increase tax on industry

600 filtration plants being set up

sales tax abolished on wheel chairs

Wind energy projects to be set up in and around Gharo

Amount for wedding assistance raised from Rs5000 to Rs70000

The limit of health insurance will be Rs25000 annually

The retired govt employees and army personnel to receive new raised pension from July 1

Rs60 billion allocated for water

Rs12 billion for Pakistan Railways

Rs250 levied as custom duty on mobile sets.

Rs40 billion allocation for export investment fund.

Rs166 billion for construction of dams

Small and medium sized dams will be built](“http://www.forumpakistan.com/budget-2010-pakistan-t53613.html”)

What is carbon surcharge ? has anybody ever heard of it......

What is carbon surcharge

A surcharge which is imposed on people of any country by corrupt but democratically elected leaders in order to save democracy, the surcharge is used for funding and/or buying votes of the law-makers in addition to facilitate the medical and other treatments of law-makers.

This surcharge also re-present the amount of love and tolerance people have for their democratically elected leaders, they struggle to keep the ends meet but they make sure that law-makers lead lavish life and have mineral water in his toilet as well...