I dont understand how you guys constantly talk about the different cultures and ethnicities of Pakistan, thanks to my own lack of knowledge. However, I find it hard to believe that there still remain homogenous ethnic groups. Even though I know where my mother is from, and where my dad is from, I hardly see them practising things differently from each other or ever talking about their different ethnic backgrounds. I know that my grandparents also migrated to India from somewhere else. So how do you guys trace your roots and know that youre a pure Pashto, Balochi, Pathan, Punjabi etc? Can’t we just be like the Brazillians - brown and beautiful?
And what on earth is this guy talking about here: * We all know about Gujjars.The common perception is that the Gujjars, nowadays live in punjab and they are found among the punjabis only but somebody told me that pathans also have gujjars among them and there are many gujjar pathans in serhad and afghanistan.*
oh yaar mein nay yeh kahin say suna hai kay gujjar jo kay basically punjab ki caste hai pathanon mein bhee pai jatee hai aur pathan jaisay yusufzai wagariah hotay hain aisay gujar pathan bhee hotay hain.mein yeh janana chahta hoon kay aya yeh theek hai ya nahin?
Itni say baat hai
Yeah too right why can’t we be just plain simple ‘brown’? That’s what we are in England, if you start going into detail about your glorious past over here people just loose interest.
My dads’ tribe is Pakhtun and my mums although they claim to be ‘Pathan’ and I’ve seen this backed by a few Pakhtun sites, but on here I’ve read a post by Sultan Suri claiming they are Baluch, and also they have the surname Shah and claim to be Sayyid so I’m really confused now about my maternal tribe but it doesn’t really bother me because lineage and identity is through the fathers tribe anyway.
My grandpa thinks of ‘Pathan’ less in terms of ethnicity (he thinks that’s irrelevant) but more caste and following Pathanwalgi/Pakhtunwaali wise.
Most our people speak Hindko today though, interestingly though there seems to be a shift back to Pakhto, Pakhto and Urdu seem to be more fashionable than Hindko these days sadly, I hate the Pakistani dialect though, too many rough ‘khar khar’ sounds, the Afghan Pashto sounds nicer and more like Persian.
Me I just feel Pakistani and at home with Urdu more than any other language, I’ve already said the background of my parents tribes and our district today is part of Punjab and my mom grew up further into Punjab, all I need to do now is marry a Sindhi girl to top it all off then I’d be able to relate to all Pakistani cultures.
I think culture and language is only for fun and play, nothing to be took seriously, Islam is the only real thing.
Cat... there is very slim chance that you'd have any Brazalian blood in you... even if there is ... it will be diluted to a negligible level. Haan.. Mongolian.... ;)
Cat you are a South African before you are a Pakistani, you Zulu.
I am Punjabi, my ass is Punjabi, my elbows are Punjabi. Pakistani is not anyone’s ethnicity, nor is it an identity for that matter. Afghnas getting Pakistani passports dont make them Pakistani.
*Originally posted by Ashti: *
Yeah too right why can’t we be just plain simple ‘brown’? That’s what we are in England, if you start going into detail about your glorious past over here people just loose interest.
My dads’ tribe is Pakhtun and my mums although they claim to be ‘Pathan’ and I’ve seen this backed by a few Pakhtun sites.
My grandpa thinks of ‘Pathan’ less in terms of ethnicity (he thinks that’s irrelevant) but more caste and following Pathanwalgi/Pakhtunwaali wise.
I hate the Pakistani dialect though, too many rough ‘khar khar’ sounds, the Afghan Pashto sounds nicer and more like Persian.
So you are a BADBAKHT Pashtun?
man what was that advices about, why did you start up with me so serious. btw cut it coz this is not related to this topic.
My family is Mashallah a pure Pashto speaking and we traditionaly have had inter-tribal marriages which has kept us pure to this day.
My dady is from the largest Pashto Tribe, Ghilzai while my mum from maybe the second largest Abdali also known as Durrani. My Pashtun Tribe is mashallah strict Pashtunwali followers and Proud Muslims. We have been inhabing in North Afghanistan since ancient times, our language has still remained as pure as it was back then. I am from the BIRTH PLACE of Pashto & Pashtun. Pashto originates from Balkh there when it became powerful they moved downwards to todays south HinduKush and Swat, Dir and all the Pashto inhabited areas.
I don’t actually fit into any particular group or anything either, just “brown”. I have a bit of everything in me. And frankly, I think labeling is a little gay, though sometimes when people ask me what I am, my simple answer is a non-active Punjabi (since that’s what my Dad is) to avoid sounding like an anal retentive fruitazoid. See this is what I mean by sometimes having to make compromises.
Brazilians really are gorgeous aren’t they. Alessandra Ambrosio and Adriana Lima. :love:
man what was that advices about, why did you start up with me so serious. btw cut it coz this is not related to this topic.
Badbakhat? That means unlucky I’m lucky, if it’s a tribe then I’m not that neither.
I wasn’t starting with you, you’re not suppose to take me ‘so serious’, but I still don’t agree with your political views, maybe I made some immature remarks which were uncalled for but your anti-Pakistan stance on things is annoying.
Badbakhat? That means unlucky I’m lucky, if it’s a tribe then I’m not that neither.
I wasn’t starting with you, you’re not suppose to take me ‘so serious’, but I still don’t agree with your political views, maybe I made some immature remarks which were uncalled for but your anti-Pakistan stance on things is annoying.
OK as you say. Wouldn't make any difference either of you being or not being a Pashtun.
I didn't wana start with you either, you took it all the way up to here. you made a big deal out of it. what i say in the forum is not merely what i personally think. and i am not anti wanti of any country.