British doctor in Pakistan arrested for reading Koran

Re: British doctor in Pakistan arrested for reading Koran

Leave Einstein alone. In Pakistan, we have mouse caps that doesn't allow the brains to develop and think clearly. Irrespective of what anyone consider them, it is their right to define their own religion. As per their religious doctrine, they believe and practice offering namaz, roza, reciting Quran etc. How can you tell them that don't do that and go and worship idols.

I challenge everyone here to bring a single example from the Islamic history where a group or community has been prohibited from Kalima, Azaan, Quran etc. before Ahmadis. You will not find any other than the example of early muslims facing similar acts at the hands of Quraish-e-Makkah.
Now try to use your Einstein brain and find out as whose footsteps are you treading on?

^ap ne poster ka nam nahi padha?
It's enough to even reply him(^。^)

What I am saying may seem to be politically incorrect but the fact is that Mr Mirza Ghulam Ahmad claimed to be the last prophet or the last prophets reincarnation. Therefore anyone that believes in the teachings of Mirza Ghulam Ahmad cannot be a muslim by definition. It might be unpleasant for some people but that is the law of the land and everyone has to abide by it. You are free to practice your faith and beliefs but you cannot pretend to be a muslim, because by definition you are not even to a religiously illiterate person like me.

Considering Ahmedis Muslims or Non Muslims is one thing, but punishing them on reading a text from Quran is ridiculous.

It does not matter whether ahmedis are Muslims or not. It's still an extremely stupid law to put someone in jail for reading the Quran.

In fact if we really think that quran is the book of guidance, then isn't it counter productive to stop others from reading it?

It may be cruel on this poor old man, but then a lot of laws can be cruel. I got a parking ticket the other day which I thought was cruel. The French headscarf ban is cruel. People being killed and tortured in the name of protecting us is cruel. Having our civil liberties curtailed in "free countries" is cruel. If he had been reading the Quran in private then there wouldn't not have been any problem, or if he claims to be a non muslim and studying the Quran perhaps he can get out of it but there is a recording of him and god knows what else he said.

This is totally incorrect. This shows your lack of knowledge regarding Ahmadi beliefs. I don't want to get into a debate here but whatever you have stated about the promised Messiah (as) is untrue.

It might be unpleasant for some people but that is the law of the land and everyone has to abide by it. You are free to practice your faith and beliefs but you cannot pretend to be a muslim, because by definition you are not even to a religiously illiterate person like me.

No we are not FREE to practice our faith in Pakistan. Reading Quran is part of our faith.
My question is why should government tell us what should constitute our religion? I don't understand why a simple thought is not getting through.

why would we pretend to be 'Muslim. This is a pretty ridiculous thought. We simply want to practice OUR faith and nobody else's. and don't want a label of 'Muslim' from the state.

The person didn't go out in public and preach his faith. His 'patients' started all this. They went there with a plan so if their victim says something in response then it will be recorded and can be presented as an 'evidence'. Actually, I think that man was naive to fall for their trap. He should not have engaged in any sort of religious discussion with them keeping in view the situation in Pakistan but still the trap was deliberately set up

This is ridiculous....... there are plenty of 'recognized muslim' sects followers who are doing far worse un-islamic deeds...... an example would be the malangs on all those darbaars.......and all those peer faqeers etc...

My local library has books from may faiths, including Qur'an, with English translation. You could read if you wish and no one will arrest you. And this in a nutshell is the difference between enlightened and tolerant west & religious orientated nations like Pakistan. Religious intolerance and bigotry breeds chaos that Pakistan finds itself it today. Its books learners vs the book burner & those who justifying this behavior, many on this thread, are part of the problem.

It was huge mistake by Bhutto to declare Ahmadis as non-Muslims. This simply is not a state's responsibility to decide about belief systems.

Bhutto and zia act like Feron and both got punished a death which make ibrat and sign that don't try to be god and don't act like god. Both persons even dead in air marte marte bhi Pak zameeen pe paon bhi NA rakh sake.

This show how low and cowardly some people are willing to become just to hurt an Ahmadi. I pray to Allah that this doctor gets freedom.

This is what Wikipedia says about your promised messiah Mr Mirza Ghulam Ahmed:

Though he is regarded by mainstream Muslims as heretical because he claimed to be a non law-bearing (deputy) prophet after Muhammad, whom mainstream Muslims traditionally believe to be the final prophet sent to guide mankind. He declared that Jesus (Isa) had in fact survived crucifixion and later died a natural death after having migrated towards Kashmir, and that the notion of his physical return was therefore erroneous. He declared that he had been divinely appointed as the Messiah, in the spirit and power of Jesus.

Here is another quote from I would think Mr Ahmad’s book:

**“And know that just as our holy Prophet was born in the 5th century, in the same way he was reborn in the end of 19th century in the incarnation of the Promised Masih (Mirza)”. (Khutbah-e-Ilhamiah, P. 180; Roohani Khazain, Vol. 16, P. 270)

You are free to practice your faith but the law stops you from misleading people by claiming that you are muslims. Preaching to 2 people inside a clinic (which is a public place) is not practicing your faith privately.

And below is what you think about the rest of us:

"Any person who believes in Moses but does not believe in Christ, or believes in Christ but does not believe in Muhammad, or believes in Muhammad but does not believe in the promised Masih, is not only a Kafir, but a 'pakka' (confirmed) Kafir, and (he is) out of the fold of Islam." (Kalimatul Fasl, P. 110, by Mirza Bashir Ahmad, M.A.)

^^^ Their beliefs are irrelevant & whatever they believe, or not, does not give you the right to persecute them.

before going further, I would like to post from actual writings of hazrat mirza sahib (as).

Arshad,

Please read the following words:

They are not above the law of the land. If you call punishment for breaking a law persecution, then we are all being persecuted or face potential persecution.

Can you please translate into English as my Urdu is very weak.