Bridal shower games - Pakistan

I need y’all help.
I am planning a bridal shower for my SIL that will take place in Lahore. I need help with games. She is getting married to a cousin so can’t play few of the traditional games. Aunties and younger Cousins will be attending the shower, so can’t play crazy games.

So far I have three games:
1). How well does the bride know the groom
2). Guess the movie (Indian movies — mostly famous love stories.)
3). Collect the most paper clips (don’t’ say few words, and the person with the most clips at the end wins the game.)

I was thinking of playing Wedding Taboo with Pakistani wedding words, such as Barat, Mehndi etc… but i am stuck, can anyone suggest more words.

Also more fun games that can be played in Pakistan.

Wedding taboo sounds fun!
How about toilet paper bride.
Purse items game. (Ill explain if you don't know this.)
Instead of paper clips, do like pearl necklaces with the same concept.
Bridal bingo.

What's your theme?

Re: Bridal shower games - Pakistan

ooh. this sounds like fun. sorry i don't have anything to contribute just now but i'll add it in for sure if i think of something.

btw, what are the games with paper clips and purse items about?

Pin the ring on the bride or pin the tie on the groom (instead of pin the tail on the donkey!)

thank you guys.

S and S i don't really have a theme since this will take place in pakistan and i really don't know how much stuff i can take from here. It will more likely be a tea party where we will play games.

I thought of the toilet paper game but again not sure if pakistan toilet paper will be as thick as the onces we find here...but will dif. give that one a thougt.

Turtle: the paper clip game is where at arrival each guest gets a paper clip and is told not to say few words, such as the brides name, the grooms name etc... during the party the guest who say anyof those tabooed words have to give over their paper clip to the guest who catching them say it. That the end of the bridal shower, the guest with the most paper clip wins the game.

the Purse won't work since we will have a lot of girl coming over from karachi n staying over and might not be carrying a purse.

thanks for explaining it to me rabia! also, coz i'm curious, what's the one about the purse items about?

this might be a bit cliche, but there's the game where you pass something around (a cushion, dafli, bag) with music playing. when the music stops (like in musical chairs), whoever's holding the thing has to do something. could pick out a chit from a bag or decide the "punishment" on the spot. It can be things like sing a song, imitate someone, or whatever your guests are comfortable with.

^thanks turtle. I am thinking of doing something similar that i did at another shower. A boxed was passed around the room and music played (actually one of the bridemaid loved to sign so i had her sign), when the music stoped the person holding the box would unwrapped one layer of gift paper. Each layer had silly thingst in it like a shower cape,bibb, silly glasses, etc and the had to wear it for the rest of the game (or at least for one picture). The last box had the real gift. I might play that one too.

The purse games goes like this: you have a sheet with a list of commonly found items in a purse (lipsticks, $50 bill, credit card.) and give points to each item. You have the guest check to see which of those items they have in their purse...the guest with most points wins the game.

That sounds cute Rabia! You have a theme right there! Tea party! My friend just had a tea party bridal shower. We played most of those games. I think to make the paper clip game a little classier adding necklaces or something will be perfect because their so so cheap in Pak. Kind of like dollar store necklaces so the person who wins will have something to take a picture with, she’ll be wearing them. My cousins shower was a Breakfast at Tiffany’s so we bought like 30 pearl necklaces from the dollar store.

If you end up doing a tea theme, you could hand out roses or something floral or tea party related. Some cute ideas if you like. I am obsessed with themes.
http://blog.hwtm.com/2013/03/vintage-floralhigh-tea-bridal-shower/

As for more on games, check out this link for games for every crowd.
http://wedding.theknot.com/bridesmaids-mother-of-the-bride/bridal-shower-ideas/articles/a-complete-guide-to-bridal-shower-games.aspx

Oh yeah, we also made a bridal crossword puzzle at my cousins shower and that was easy. Another game was (but I think this is only appropriate for a girls only shower) where one of the hostess keeps track of all of the words/sentences the bride says while shes opening her presents given to her. At the end of the gift opening, you read out loud everything she said in context to things she might say to her future hubby and its just a really fun way of getting a good laugh out everyone and completely embarrasses the bride. All in good fun. :slight_smile:

What colors did you choose? I choose purple and gold for my best friend's bridal shower

I haven't picked any theme or colors since I will be traveling to Lahore the day before the shower and not sure how much of the stuff I can take from here.

S & S, I played it with roses over here for by BFF shower. It was a Greek Goddess theme shower and no one was allowed to say Goddess, brides names, etc...I had a blast doing that shower. But again not sure how much I can find the day of the shower in Lahore. My younger SIL will be working on the food and cake etc.
Thanks again for the all the ideas

any words or rasaams I use for the taboo cards that you guys think might be hard to do?

I still need help with the bridal shower taboo...desi style.

here is what i have so far....please let me know other rasam or words i can use along with the taboo words to go with it.

Honeymoon - travel, vacation, fly
Nikkah - kabul hai/I do, mulvi, signature, shaadi
Mayun - Yellow, utban, singing
Keer Chatai - Kheer, Chatai, hands, eating
Sehra bandi - flowers/sehra, dhula,
Mehndi - dancing, dholk, mithai, singing
Ruksati - crying, doli, bye-bye (not sure what else should be tabooed.)
Dhulan - Brides name, shaadi, red outfit
Joota Churai - Shoe/Joota, Choori, money, mention of DDLJ
Langha - Red, wears, dhulan
Sherwani - Groom's name, dhula, guy, turban
walima - reception, baraat
Munh Dikhai - Munh/face, Dikh na, gift, first night
Doli - rukhsati, dhulan, carry
chauthi - fourth day, dinner, dhulan's family

Please help!

How about:

Bari / Jahez - Gifts, dulhan, dulha, in laws