I am new to this forum but I have been reading you all for a few weeks and let me tell you that you are so mashAllah talented and experienced. I am very impressed!
I have a few concerns on your reviews on few designers and their current budget as of 2014 this year. I have my wedding next year InshaAllah and Nikkah dates has to be decided by December this year InshaAllah. I have made up my mind to visit these designers but before that I need your reviews and feedback and heads up on visiting them. I live in Dubai and I never ever attended any pakistani weddings and nor I ever went shopping so I am abit nervous and confused on deciding dresses esp coming to bridals and formals. That is why I need your support and help on this:
Bridal - Valima and Bharat Options:
Sana Safinaz , Kamdani ( fashion ka ghar ) , Erum Khan or Rani Emaan ( My Budget is not very high and will be less than 2-3 Lakhs for each )
Mehandi - Need Suggestions?
Nikkah - Need suggestions? (Simple only)
I m trying to get this done in a reasonable budget, so please do give me your suggestions.
From what I've heard Sana Safinaz bridals are quite expensive but Rani Eman would be able to do a nice dress in the 3 lakh range. Also if you are planning on going to Karachi you can go to Shakeel's on tariq road for potential mehndi and nikkah outifts. I got my mehndi outfit from there and the work is gorgeous. You may also want to consider getting a bridal package from a designer that you want to get your bridal from. They might offer you a better deal that way.
I've heard Sana Safinaz bridals start at 5 lakhs but perhaps someone who has contacted this designer can confirm. Don't stress about your oufit, you will eventually come across something that you know will be the one. Enjoy the hunt while it lasts even if it gets stressful it's fun getting all the attention while you try gorgeous gowns and strut your stuff :)
Waoh! that is pretty expensive and out of budget though. The hunting the right dresses with the right tailors are so tough! especially when you dont know much about the market :( ( am the poor case)
Hey! How can I contact sans safinaz for international bridal orders. The only contact I found on their site was: [EMAIL="[email protected]"][email protected]
I did not know about this but after spending some time in Pakistan, I have found some local markets which sell very good quality products. Not necessarily designer stuff but very pretty, sophisticated & good quality. I was on my own & needed a good quality suitcase last year. Checked around with some local people & they referred 'Ichra' market to me. Somehow I got there. It had rained a little few days ago so it was not the best time to go & walk inside the market as the streets are very congested, messy, muddy at some parts & quite crowded especially if you go in the evening. On my way inside the market, before I got to the shops selling suitcases, I saw so many shops selling very pretty formal, party, bridal wear. So much variety, beautiful color combination, fabric quality & material used was also so delicate... I wanted to buy all the dresses... I was not there for clothing shopping but still ended up buying 6 unstitched real pretty formal suits which I thought were on very cheap prices (All in PKR.10k). I still had to go further inside the market to find a shop selling good quality suitcases. Before I found one, I saw more shops selling the same suits on even cheaper prices which I had already bought from the beginning of the market.... I felt so dumb but still not unhappy.
I also stopped to see some bridals, truly mesmerizing designs & embroidery... Compared them with the stuff we see on online websites & even some designers' shops. They were way above their stuff. I think you can find some excellent stuff in 1 lac from that market. Inconvenience of walking on messy (Avoid going in rainy season), congested, dirty streets & with obnoxious crowd around is there but worth it in the end. When you spot some shop displaying a nice design, explore more, ask them to show you more designs. The shops are also very small but they've got unbelievably beautiful stuff. You also can bargain ALOT even on the most expensive & the best looking bridal in the shop.... Be careful paying the right price because new visitors do end up paying double or more than double the actual price. Try to look more local when you visit. Taking with you some locals who have some knowledge about these markets, their stuff & pricing will also help alot.
I ended up paying alot more for the suitcase than its' actual worth as I found out later. But I still cant forget some of the very fine stuff I saw in clothing on fraction of the prices that we see on online designers' & other websites. In 1-2 lacs, you can find 2 beautiful dresses (wedding, valima) if not the third one for nikah/mehndi also.
I honestly thought I could do good business if I buy from those shops and sell on some online portals.
I did not know about this but after spending some time in Pakistan, I have found some local markets which sell very good quality products. Not necessarily designer stuff but very pretty, sophisticated & good quality. I was on my own & needed a good quality suitcase last year. Checked around with some local people & they referred 'Ichra' market to me. Somehow I got there. It had rained a little few days ago so it was not the best time to go & walk inside the market as the streets are very congested, messy, muddy at some parts & quite crowded especially if you go in the evening. On my way inside the market, before I got to the shops selling suitcases, I saw so many shops selling very pretty formal, party, bridal wear. So much variety, beautiful color combination, fabric quality & material used was also so delicate... I wanted to buy all the dresses... I was not there for clothing shopping but still ended up buying 6 unstitched real pretty formal suits which I thought were on very cheap prices (All in PKR.10k). I still had to go further inside the market to find a shop selling good quality suitcases. Before I found one, I saw more shops selling the same suits on even cheaper prices which I had already bought from the beginning of the market.... I felt so dumb but still not unhappy.
I also stopped to see some bridals, truly mesmerizing designs & embroidery... Compared them with the stuff we see on online websites & even some designers' shops. They were way above their stuff. I think you can find some excellent stuff in 1 lac from that market. Inconvenience of walking on messy (Avoid going in rainy season), congested, dirty streets & with obnoxious crowd around is there but worth it in the end. When you spot some shop displaying a nice design, explore more, ask them to show you more designs. The shops are also very small but they've got unbelievably beautiful stuff. You also can bargain ALOT even on the most expensive & the best looking bridal in the shop.... Be careful paying the right price because new visitors do end up paying double or more than double the actual price. Try to look more local when you visit. Taking with you some locals who have some knowledge about these markets, their stuff & pricing will also help alot.
I ended up paying alot more for the suitcase than its' actual worth as I found out later. But I still cant forget some of the very fine stuff I saw in clothing on fraction of the prices that we see on online designers' & other websites. In 1-2 lacs, you can find 2 beautiful dresses (wedding, valima) if not the third one for nikah/mehndi also.
I honestly thought I could do good business if I buy from those shops and sell on some online portals.
After pouring over thousands and thousands of bridal designs and sending them to my mom in Pak ( I couldn't go unfortunately), she ended up just going to some random person in Lahore and ordering my stuff. I haven't seen it yet but I trust my mom/dad completely with their choice and they said that they got something that's newer and super filled with kaam/classy looking for less than a 1/3 of what she was getting when she had visited some of the designers on MM Alam Road.
^^ Shayal, Ichra market. Maybe it is by chance that some people find the shops which show their fine material in good prices. I think they dont show it to everyone.
Two weeks ago, I was at model town link road market & saw a very pretty bridal dress in off white color on display. So sophisticated material and embroidery for PKR.75k. And that was asking price.
^^ Shayal, Ichra market. Maybe it is by chance that some people find the shops which show their fine material in good prices. I think they dont show it to everyone.
Two weeks ago, I was at model town link road market & saw a very pretty bridal dress in off white color on display. So sophisticated material and embroidery for PKR.75k. And that was asking price.
That amazing to know, wish could see some photographs :)
The ones I bought were formals. The same designs were sold by several other shops too. But the bridals are the ones they show to only serious customers I guess.
Will try to take pictures of the market if I go there again but cant promise. And the suits I have already given away.
Hi,
I have been a part of this forum from quite some time but am taking part in the discussions for the first time. I couldn't stop myself to comment on it the brides on this forum are mostly concerned about the prices of their bridal dresses which even at local shops is like in lacs or above. I live in Bahawalpur and the fact is that the clothes being made here a times much lesser in price than in Lahore or other big cities of Pakistan plus the work is much neat and sophisticated than what we see at designer studios. I can say it as I have a lot of experience of shopping in Lahore also. Here mostly heavy outfits for brides are about in the range of 60,000 or so. So for those who live in Pakistan if you can pay a visit to Bahawalpur it will be an experience or else you can at least get best gota, mukaish, traditional embroidery or chunri dresses in Pakistan.