Bribery scandal rocks Indian cricket

The controversy sorrounding the alleged bribe offer to Indian selectors from Indian cricket was been rocked by a potentially damaging controversy involving Abhijit Kale, a prolific batsman in domestic cricket. Allegations surfaced this evening that he had offered two Indian selectors Rs 10 Lakh (approx. US$21,860) for a place in the India A side. Kale denied the charge emphatically, but the Maharashtra Cricket Association said that Kale would be barred from turning out for the state until his name was cleared.

Jagmohan Dalmiya, the president of the Indian board, refused either to deny or confirm the allegation, saying that the BCCI’s lawyers were studying the matter seriously. “This matter has serious legal ramifications,” he told Wisden Cricinfo: “I will make a statement on it tomorrow.”

Earlier in the day, NDTV, a news channel, had reported Professor Ratnakar Shetty, the BCCI’s joint secretary, as making the allegations against Kale. The Press Trust of India, a news agency, quoted Shetty as saying: “The player had offered to pay money to a couple of selectors for a place in the India A team. I can assure you that stern action will be taken against the player.”

Kale went on television and denied these charges vigorously. Speaking to NDTV, he said, “I am surprised by these allegations. I have played cricket for ten years and have scored 24 first-class centuries, and my record speaks for itself. There is no need for me to do all this.” Asked by Zee News if he had offered money to the two selectors concerned, Kiran More and Pranab Roy, Kale said, “I have never spoken to them.”

Balasaheb Thorve, the president of the Maharashtra Cricket Association, said that Kale would not be considered for selection again until he was cleared by the BCCI. “We shall not consider a tarnished player for selection,” he said. “However, we shall go by whatever the BCCI decides.” Maharashtra are scheduled to open their Ranji Trophy season with a plate-group match against Saurashtra at Rajkot on Nov 23. India A’s first match against the Sri Lankan tourists is also scheduled to begin on the same day, at Ahmedabad.

Yajurvindra Singh, a former India player and the chairman of selectors of Maharashtra, told Wisden Cricinfo: “I am surprised by this news. I do not think Kale has the resources to offer this kind of a bribe.”

Abhijit Kale started out as a prolific batsman in Mumbai’s age-group teams, but shifted to Maharashta where he soon became their leading batsman. After a couple of prolific Ranji seasons he made his way into the Indian set-up, but was discarded after a solitary one-day international, in which he scored 10.

http://www-usa.cricket.org/db/ARCHIVE/CRICKET_NEWS/2003/NOV/007956_IND_20NOV2003.html

http://www.cricketnext.com/news1/next/reutersNov03/reuters117.htm

http://www.cricketnext.com/news1/next/reporters/rep1782.htm

Abhijit Kale, hardly a household name, rocks Indian cricket. Bit strong wording. :konfused:

Well any Indian who follows INDIAN cricket must have heard Abhijit Kale's name at some point. He has been playing domestic Cricket for almost 7-8 years now and has done very well.

I fully standby Kale's story and I dont think he is guilty here. BCCI is once again displaying the kind of immature, unethical organization they are esp when it comes to dealing with players. They have made KALE's name public but still no one knows the name of the selector who was supposedly offered the bribe.

Mirch masala. Just another way to catch readers’ attention.

*Originally posted by Asif_k: *
....but still no one knows the name of the selector who was supposedly offered the bribe.

Not quite true.....the selectors are Kiran More and Kirmani(if I remember correctly) - read the rediff.com story, the names had been made public on the same day the allegations surfaced..

*Originally posted by Some1: *

Not quite true.....the selectors are Kiran More and Kirmani(if I remember correctly) - read the rediff.com story, the names had been made public on the same day the allegations surfaced..

Actually Selectors are More( West Zone) and Pranab Roy(East Zone).
But I guess what Asif is asking is there is some other selector who offered money to these 2 guys on behalf of Kale.I dont know this angle of story. Never read it anywhere. :)

Arey Andha Qanoon bhai…for kale’s side of the story visit : Kale 'shocked and disappointed'
Though I am wondering why someone will pay 1 million bucks to get selected for the national “A” team. Kale wouldn’t have earned that much had he been selected. Also if Kale is to be believed, he is from a middle class background and not that rich to afford that bribe.
On the flip side, why will the selectors pick on Kale .

Daal me kooch kaala hai… dont you think Qanoon Sir.

Well BCCI is said He didnt attempt bribe for India A.Rather He wanted slot in Indian team for Australia.
Lekin I cant deny the Daal me kuch kala ho sakta hai :wink:

if this dude has an average in the upper 50's and has been consistent for 6-7 years why hasnt he made a break through for india..or even india A? hmm..:-|

*Originally posted by alishan: *
if this dude has an average in the upper 50's and has been consistent for 6-7 years why hasnt he made a break through for india..or even india A? hmm..:-|

Because he comes from a middle class family and doesn't have any of his chachas/mamas in BCCI or a sponsorship from a multinational.

Paying to play? The Indian bribery scandal

Vanka Pratap adds twist to bribery tale

Wisden Cricinfo staff

November 23, 2003

In the latest twist to the bribery scandal engulfing Indian cricket, a United News of India (UNI) report quotes Vanka Pratap, a former India A player, alleging that he was asked to pay a selector to play for India. The report says that Vanka, the Hyderabad all-rounder, told Sahara Samay Rashtriya, a television channel, “I have been approached but I didn’t bother.”

The report is vague about who the selector was, but quotes Vanka on the subject. “Someone approached me on behalf of the selectors. I wouldn’t like to name the selector but everybody in Hyderabad cricket association knows who he is.”

Vanka suggested that places in the Indian team were available for sale, and quoted the example of Noel David, the former Hyderabad off-spinner. David was selected for India’s tour of the West Indies in 1996-97 ahead of Kanwaljit Singh, the veteran off-spinner. “The selection of Noel raised eyebrows. Noel was not even sure of a place in the Hyderabad team but he was picked for the Indian team.”

The report goes on to quote Vanka making a sweeping generalisation. “In the national team it is always happening. When performance is overlooked, belief sets in that something is wrong.”

Vanka played 83 first class matches, scored 3957 runs at an average of 36.30 with a highest domestic score of 136. He hit six centuries and 27 half-centuries in a ten-year career. He also played for India A against the West Indies A side in 1998/99.

© Wisden Cricinfo Ltd

http://www-usa.cricket.org/db/ARCHIVE/CRICKET_NEWS/2003/NOV/009575_IND_23NOV2003.html

*Originally posted by alishan: *

At various points of time he been found wanting in technique and temperament and attitude outside the pitch.....

He was selected once to the national team, but failed to impress.

Actually I sense a conspiracy theory here.

Kiran More has always come across as a very honest guy, and he beat Jayant Lele in the elections to be the selector. Wouldnt be surprised if this was a move by the powers that run the board to get rid of him...

India’s cash-to-play cricket saga snowballs into major row](Yahoo is part of the Yahoo family of brands.)

NEW DELHI (AFP) - India’s cricket chiefs closed ranks after Abhijit Kale, the player at the centre of a cash-to-play scandal, received support from former greats like Kapil Dev.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) will meet in an emergency session here on Sunday to discuss the scandal, the biggest to rock Indian cricket since a match-fixing saga three years ago.

“It is important not only to find the truth and see it does not happen again, but also ensure the name of Indian cricket is not ruined by other baseless allegations,” a BCCI official said Monday.

The BCCI last week ordered a probe after two of its five national selectors, former internationals Kiran More and Pronob Roy, alleged that Kale offered them bribes to get picked for the ongoing tour of Australia.

The duo alleged in writing to BCCI president Jagmohan Dalmiya that Kale, a 30-year-old batsman from Maharashtra, offered them a million rupees (21,700 dollars) each to get selected for the tour.

The offers were rejected, the selectors said.

BCCI official D.V. Subba Rao, who is chairman of the Bar Council of India, begins work on Monday to investigate the incident in the 15-day deadline set by Dalmiya.

Kapil, a former world bowling record holder, questioned the decision to ban Kale from first-class cricket until the probe was completed, saying he doubted a BCCI official would have been punished in similar circumstances.

“I feel for the young man,” said Kapil, who himself had faced the wrath of officials, public and the media before he was cleared of any wrongdoing in a match-fixing scandal in 2000.

"Ive been through all this and support Kale completely. If he is not proven guilty, I wonder how the BCCI will compensate him.

“Would the BCCI have acted against any of its officials in the same vein had a finger been raised on any issue?” Kapil asked.

Arun Lal, secretary of the Indian Cricket Players Association, was equally scathing in his criticism.

“One reads about the BCCI conferring with its lawyers, but spare a thought for Kale who comes from the humble economic strata of society,” said Lal, a former Test opener.

“He is an integral part of Indian cricket and therefore it’s only fair the BCCI appoint a lawyer for the accused as well.”

Lal said he found it hard to believe that Kale, who played a limited-overs international for India in April and had been on the fringe of national selection in the recent past, would resort to offering bribes.

"But if he was pushed to it by his frustrations, then it is a sad reflection on the reputation of the selectors, as he must have had more than sufficient reason to believe in the success of such an option.

“Also why would he approach them directly and not through an unidentifiable intermediary who, once the deal was struck, would carry the money?”

The Maharashtra Cricket Association (MCA), Kale’s state body, gave the player a clean chit on Monday after its own investigation and demanded the two selectors undergo lie-detector tests.

“Kale is innocent and he has been denied natural justice,” said MCA chief Balasaheb Thorve. “The only way truth can come out is if both the selectors and Kale undergo lie-detector tests.”

The Indian media has reported allegations from many junior and state-level cricketers that unidentified local selectors often demanded bribes.

Kale has scored 6,806 runs in 84 first-class games at an average of 58.67, including 24 centuries. He made 10 in his only international appearance in a limited-overs tournament in Bangladesh in April and was not considered for the recent home series against New Zealand and Australia.