Breastfeeding

Re: Breastfeeding

hugs from my side also
i didnt have the supply for first five days so it was soo hard for me n i also didnt know the positions
u r lucky that ur milk supply is good MashaAllah n praying that ur baby n u will get into bfeeding routine soon inshaAllah!
watch bfeeding videos on youtube they helped me alot

Yes... The nipple will form once bfeeding has been established...give it a month with the sheild...

Ure nipple will pop out eventually.

The fact that the nipple keeps leaving her mouth frustrates her.

Its like there is milk in the bottle..but if it doesnt have a nipple..good luck getting to it!

Breastfeeding

JazakAllah everyone for your support and advices..I was really stressed out and there was no one around for help..alhamdolilah doin a lot better..we both are learning..it takes time for her to latch on but she does eventually..mashAllah.. She gets tired during the feed so rests in between and is still hungry if I take her off my breast..so have to work out that problem..
Im giving her formula for night time..cause at the end of the day i have no energy left in me:(

Aww :hugz: :jano: thankuuu

so glad to hear that mashAllah. Just hang in there it does get better for u and for the baby inshAllah.

Breastfeeding

Yep one has to be strong..nipple cream helped alot..couldnt find lanolin but the cream im using works too..still hurts but not like it used to..nipples have started taking their shape..
I dont give her the bottle anymore which sorted out the nipple confusion..feel guilty for giving her formula at night..but its her fussy period during the night so have to give her formula or else she doesnt sleep even after bfng

You're doing great Sahr! Well done you...
Now that you've cracked the difficult phase at d start, rest of your bf'ing journey will pass like a breeze.

Hi sahr dnt feel guilty about the formula, u r doing very well mashaAllah. My neice used to do the same. She was a very hungry baby but wud fall asleep mid feed and would b very cranky if some1 woke her up, or tried to take her off my sister.

So my poor sis had to lie down for ages with her baby in the beginning. She got her a pacifier then ,she is a dentist and felt guilty about it, as she knew it wud affect her teeth. But v told her that a happy mama is very important for baby. Now my niece is 9 mnths and ds nt even need the pacifier.

Sorry for the long story i jst wanted to reassure you that ​it does get better

I was unable to latch my baby on and got a pump to feed my baby the breastmilk. Actually I was so stressed out when leaving the hospital because of not be able to latch him on and he had low birth weight too. Doctors had a close watch on his weight. And I did not want to miss any feed. The lactation consultant gave me medela’s manual pump. She said we usually dont give out pumps but I know that you have been so trying hard to breastfeed him.

There are creams out there that can be used for cracked nipples. Its only in the beginning. They wont stay like this. I started pumping the time my milk came in. I had an over supply. I didnt know that its a supply and demand thing. The more you pump the more milk comes in. I was in pain most of the time. So I tried ‘block feeding’ method. When you only pump/feed from one side each feeding session. Say if you pumped/fed from right then during the next feed time you only pump/feed from left. This left me engorged with a lot of pain but I took pain killers for that and had a 103 F fever the 3rd day. After 3 days of block feeding my supply came to the level that I could handle. Otherwise It was becoming so hard for me. I couldnt go outside without my pump. At someone’s house or a restaurant, I would go to a bathroom/restroom to pump to get rid of the terrible pain. I thought I would give up soon. But Alhamdilillah, my son is about to be 5 months inshallah and I have kept up with pumping and feeding him breast milk exclusively . I got an electric pump though which made my life much easier.

:hug:mashAllah good job:) but did u try to bfeed him again as he got older? i am sorry if my question seems awkward cause there might b a problem im unaware of..just curious..
My daughter learned to latch after a week of severe pain..engorgement plus cracked/bleeding nipples..during this week even I pumped and fed her..but during the day when I had the energy to fight with her I tried my best to make her latch..and mashAllah she learned..I had one inverted nipple and she successfully breastfeeds from that breast even..now my other nipple is cracked and It hurts alot so should I wait for it to heal or shall I continue to breastfeed from it..it hurts when she is on that one:(

Sahr, my nipples were cracked and hurt a lot but I kept breastfeeding Jr. on both of them. I would apply lanolin, and do other totkas to heal them in between feeds, but I tried to have him feed on both sides (yes it was painful as heck for me but I didn't want to have permanently uneven breasts or have him develop a preference for one breast over the other).

Good job at latching your baby on :). If your other nipple bleeds make sure there is no blood when you feed her. Honey I know its hard in the beginning. But feed her from the other side too to keep your supply up. When the pain is unbearable when the baby sucks, consider skipping feeding from that side during that feeding session and pump instead. Pumping hurts lesser than having baby on in the beginning. I breastfed my baby at the hospital when he was born and it hurt like crazy. The problem was that the nurse will have to come to help both of us to have a good latch. I couldnt do it without the nurse help, thats why the day I was leaving I got the pump from the lactation consultant.

At home I tried to latch him on a couple of times only. I had a c section and had no female to help in the hospital or when I came back home. I was taking pain killers every 4 hours. Here in US they put staples on instead of stitches. They took the bandage off the staples at the hospital and I could see all the staples on my stomach. Having to see and feel them on my body for first week kept me in very low spirit. Bad pain, no one to help (except hubby), doing everything on my own kept me out of my mind. And I only kept everything going instead of using my mind and trying something. And that includes trying hard to latch him on. During the first 3 weeks, all I did was pumping, feeding, changing diapers, taking medicine, crying at nights with the baby, sleeping whenever I got chance. I spent first month having only one meal a day and that was when hubby came home. I had no energy to get up to eat something.

By the time I got all my senses back I tried but he was so use to the bottle that he wouldnt latch on. But i have no problems with the bottle feeding and pumping too. Works just fine for us. :slight_smile:

omg do babies do that? I mean preference for one breast over the other? Hehe they r so smart!
What were the desi totkas? Couldnt find lanolin:( using this other cream which is for baby rash plus cracked nipples but it isnt working:(

Breastfeeding

This breast with the cracked nipple hurts even when I move a bit I guess cause of the weight on the nipple..since my pregnancy days i felt it was a bit bigger than the other:konfused:

aww mashAllah u were able to get through it:lajawab: 5months seems such a long time for me mashAllah u were able to continue what u started..hope I am able to do the same..hope I dont lose hope..when she feeds from the safe nipple every gulp makes me wana jump with joy and it doesnt even hurt alhamdolilah..hope the second one heals soon..
I feel so ashamed after reading your story alhamdolilah now I am at my mom’s place and I have help around still i feel depressed sometimes..while u did everything on ur own mashAllah..but im sure u must b proud of yourself..when u see ur kid growing the pain seems bearable:)