breastfeeding regrets

I’ve had a very negative experience with breastfeeding. I’ve posted this on a thread before, but to summarize - botched episiotomy that made it impossible to sit, cracked nipples, and far worse - a baby losing weight at an alarming rate. My midwife refused to consider a low milk supply and pushed me to just keep feeding her. As a result I had a baby who was half starving and poor thing would try to suckle for hours on end.. and I mean that literally. I remember unlatching her after 2-3 hours every time .. I’d be too exhausted. I was unable to bond with her at all those first few weeks because the bf was relentless and still not helping her gain weight. Anyway, this lasted a whole 6 weeks till I put my foot down and started supplementing. She has been doing great ever since (knock on wood!). My milk supply was never good to begin with, but now it’s almost gone.

So anyway.. I’ve been feeling very very resentful about the whole thing. I have this very negative association with breastfeeding.. it reminds me of my desperately hungry baby and my inability/guilt as a mother to feed her. Having said that, I also feel deep regret at not being successful at it. I guess this is a vent post.. but has anyone had a successful bf experience after a bad first time? Were you able to ebf baby #2](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=2) after not being able to for baby #1](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=1) ?

Re: breastfeeding regrets

I have had a reverse experience. The first time despite various difficulties I managed to nurse my son for two years, however, the second time around, I became ill and the medication presumably dried up my abundant milk supply. She was hungry each time I fed her and then she was on to the bottle completely after one month.

yes LucyMay, i had bf issue with my first one, she was in nursry since birth and given bottle from start , i being emergency c-sectioned was in miserable condition so wasnt able to feed her , and after shifting to home i tried but she refused , cut short first time it was a repent for me also but second time alhamdulillah i have managed to feed him properly.. he is 21 months mashaALLAH and no issue..

LucyMay....i totally believe in each and every word you are saying because same has happened with me.....episiotomy...sore cracked nipples....bled too....was awake all day and night to feed him after every 30-40minutes.....n he wasnt gaining much weight....midwives and pediatrics said that he is totally fine....he was healthy just that he was not chubby....all the family members were like itna kamzor hai ye formula do isko......but I listened to pedi....n breastfed him exclusively for 1.5yrs.....took me more than 6weeks to be on track....and breast feeding went smoothly by then
...he is still not chubby.....everyone says kamzor kamzor kamzor.....but I am relaxed....he doesnt get sick....never had constipation or diarhea uptill now....he is 3 years old now.....

I want to breastfeed my second baby too but I am not sure if I am strong enough to go through all this miserable time again....I hope this second baby latches on properly....and I pray the same for ur baby too....

My regrets and problems I faced:
1.I was given pethidine injection when I was in labor.....didnt know it will affect the milk production and baby's health too...
2.I was all alone....no proper routine of eating....I tried but was feeding baby like forever.....so I am asking my mil to come and stay with me this time for 3 full months.....
3.severe depression as I was all alone....even hubby was so busy....will be well prepared this time and will feed the baby with good mood.....

I had many issues too. But my health visitor was happy with baby's weight so I persevered. I got the hang of it after two months. I hope it should be easier next time as it is a learned skill.

The only thing with second baby is that you will have a toddler to look after so I don't know how the hours and hours of feeding frenzy will last.

Hiya,
I'm normally a silent reader but I feel your pain so I want to reply. I opened up a thread about breastfeeding nearly three years ago in which people have some excellent advice. You can look that up in the search section.

Basically with my first child, who is three now, I started off giving her formula as the very first feed in hosp and tried breastfeeding her alongside afterwards. Now in my head I was convinced I couldn't produce enough milk for her, I didn't have much support at home from my mother in law at the time. I got breast pumps both electric and manual, I tried taking supplements to increase supply but the truth was that as I gave more formula, the lesser my milk supply became. It didn't help that I was in some pain because of breast feeding and it wasn't a very positive experience. Nothing as bad as yours but man did I cry and feel guilt about not breastfeeding and the worst of it was that my mil made me feel rubbish about not breastfeeding while discouraging me from the start. Just messed up really. So I breastfed her alongside formula for about three months max and after that it was exclusively formula.

with my second baby, I decided no formula from the start. I didn't buy any bottles or formula to take to the hosp or have at home. I just breastfed and I really looked after my diet and had a lot of water. I made a note of all the tips and advice I got in the breast feeding thread that I opened here and other threads and followed them. I can tell you from experience that fenugreek capsules and zeera + fennel seeds and oats really work. I've had a hard time feeding this one because my family and most people I know haven't been very supportive because he's not too fat. He's increasing weight and growing properly ma sha Allah but people have to put you down I guess. Ma sha Allah he's 14 months and I'm still breastfeeding. One thing I do wish I had done was give him some expressed milk in a bottle from the start, when he turned one I wanted to give him some cows milk alongside my own but he just will not take a bottle. I'm desp for him to take it but he just refuses so keep that in mind. In sha Allah if I have another baby I will def breastfeed but also give a bottle form the start so they are used to it.
You also need rest, i noticed that when I was extremely exhausted, that affected my milk supply.

I feel for you because you had no support and you really do need that in the beginning. The first 6 weeks are the hardest for breastfeeding. And plz plz don't feel guilty about the first one. I cannot tell u how how guilty I felt about not being able to breastfeed my first baby and I used to cry so much but u know what she's a healthy, happy little girl ma sha Allah and although I do believe breast is best, I also belive that formula won't do them any harm. I wasn't breastfed myself and I'm not lacking academically or otherwise and in sha Allah my girl won't be either.

I also think that you starting formula for your baby was the right thing. If he was losing weight then Ofcourse you needed to supplement. Please don't feel guilty about that and don't let anybody else ever make you feel guilty for it. I went through it and I know it can really break you.

the best milk is the milk that makes both baby and mother happy, the baby desrves a happy; stress free mother and if that means formula then so be it.

In sha Allah I hope you are can fulfill your desire to be able to breastfeed the new baby.

This is DejaVu all over again…And it’s not good on my end either.

With my 1st born (c-section baby) I tired to breastfeed but wasn’t successful at all despite getting a lactation consultant at the hospital, then tried the medela pump…which worked only for a few weeks but me being a first time mom had no sense of time management or knowing what I was doing…I just really wanted to nurse my baby and hated pumping but there was hardly any milk supply…like nada!!!..it got so bad that all I would be doing was pumping milk when the baby napped or when she was up I was feeding her. I didn’t have time to breathe or enjoy the fact I had a baby…It was mentally chaotic…And physically trying to heal from the surgery and cracked bloody nipples…I just gave up at the 3 month mark with crying fits…but somehow made ok with the fact that at least I gave her all the colostrum.

Now 15 months later…2nd Baby arrival (c-section)

I was so geared up to put this one on the breast…no pumps at all…didn’t even take one to the hospital I was that determined…I had already booked at appointment with the lactation consultant to come and see me as soon as the baby and I are would be in our room…Again there was hardly any milk supply but I kept at it…nurses tried to help me…but the baby starved and cried and cried, the 3 days I was there, she lost 2 lbs, developed jaundice…my chunky-round looking baby was all pale/frail…Thats when the nurse freaked out and handed me the formula bottle and said just feed this baby…by that time I was home and tried to pump; but again I could only get very small amount (even though I took fenugreek pills my sister got me) It was so stressful…I remember feeling low and an un-capable parent…I had already gone thru of not being able to give birth naturally and then this pilled up right after…Very awful feeling…

A few gems tried to make me feel really bad (my husband’s grandma/aunts) about not being able to breastfeed even called me lazy, my mom was the only supportive one because she saw me struggling and trying.

But when baby #3](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=3) came TBH…I didn’t even attempt to breastfeed this time around…My husband was the one who fed the baby for his first few feeds while I tried to knock off all the morphine :hehe:

So the point being…You do what you can, (ebf or formula feeding) if you gave your ALL, thats all that should matter. Now that I think back, all I did was freak out about my milk supply, so wish someone had told me that it does not matter at the end of the day, because those precious moments never come back.

Wish you and the baby happy healthy life together. Aameen.

ps: Congratulations :slight_smile:

[that's a common desi complaint. Babies should be fat and adults pencil thin. My son was not chubby either but it was genetics as my daughter who was bottle fed was exactly the same even though she was born 8 lbs 5 ozs MA but gained weight slowly. Don't listen to people as long as the baby is gaining weight and the doctors say he/ she is fine it's ok.

QUOTE=Peppermint;10224130]LucyMay....i totally believe in each and every word you are saying because same has happened with me.....episiotomy...sore cracked nipples....bled too....was awake all day and night to feed him after every 30-40minutes.....n he wasnt gaining much weight....midwives and pediatrics said that he is totally fine....he was healthy just that he was not chubby....all the family members were like itna kamzor hai ye formula do isko......but I listened to pedi....n breastfed him exclusively for 1.5yrs.....took me more than 6weeks to be on track....and breast feeding went smoothly by then
...he is still not chubby.....everyone says kamzor kamzor kamzor.....but I am relaxed....he doesnt get sick....never had constipation or diarhea uptill now....he is 3 years old now.....

I want to breastfeed my second baby too but I am not sure if I am strong enough to go through all this miserable time again....I hope this second baby latches on properly....and I pray the same for ur baby too....

I woke up to nurse, read this, and decided I needed to reply before going back to sleep, 3am or not.

First, I’m so sorry your went through that. You are a good mom and you did your best, I know you did. I give you a big fat hug from over here. Remember this rule always: happy mama = happy baby.

Second, I had an absolutely hellish time with my first baby too. I had an emergency C, he was mA 9.5lbs and ALWAYS hungry, I had zero support and that led to latching issues, bleeding and cracking, repeated episodes of plugged ducts, massive amounts of guilt and that was just the first week! He was on formula very soon after that and i eventually stopped trying altogether after a very painful bout of mastitis and a serious fever. Fast forward to baby #2](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=2) and I went in armed to the teeth with information- hired the best LC I could find, read everything I could, depended heavily on my BFFs who were all able to nurse successfully, bought my own pump, and most importantly, WENT IN WITH A DIFFERENT ATTITUDE*, and alhamdulillah x 1,000,000 it’s been going well this time around.

*I went in knowing that I would give it my best shot but if it didn’t work, c’est la vie. I wasn’t going to let this stress me out. I would feed my baby however and I would move on because new babies are awesome and I didn’t want to waste a single second of my time worrying about things I couldnt change. Please not that this is not a criticism in any way- the truth is you can only have this perspective as a second time mom. As a first time mom it is impossible to know what you now know and to feel this way, I promise.

You will have a better experience next time inshallah in that I hope if you wish to nurse that it goes well, but if it doesn’t happen, remember that formula is not poison and your baby will thrive on it as he or she would on breastmilk and that you are NOT alone in how you feel, that the learning curve for something so “natural” is very, very steep and that you are an excellent mom, breastfed baby or not.

As an aside, don’t ever rely on a pump to tell you what your supply is. Your baby will remove milk far more efficiently than any pump and very few women actually have low supply. Your body will produce what you need, and especially in the first few weeks, long and frequent nursing sessions are normal. Your baby will cluster feed often, and they’re so little that they do get tired and take their time nursing, but also, they’re new and figuring it out just like you are and unable to communicate their hunger besides crying about it. And very often, they just want comfort. You are their mama and it’s a big scary world for them and holding on to you literally is what calms them. Your smell, your heartbeat, the warmth of your skin. I also know how hard it is to remember that when you are nursing so often and are so tired and recovering. Next time, arm yourself not just with information but also with a support staff. A mother’s helper or nanny, maids or a cook or pre-packaged meals- whatever you need to ensure you are rested as much as possible and can focus on your new baby.

As for now, savour every second with her! Let your anger and bitterness go and just enjoy her. This stage passes all too quickly, and before you know it, you’ll have a threenager on your hands who wants to negotiate bedtime routines with you. Hmph.

:hug:

[quote="eastern11"]

that's a common desi complaint. Babies should be fat and adults pencil thin. My son was not chubby either but it was genetics as my daughter who was bottle fed was exactly the same even though she was born 8 lbs 5 ozs MA but gained weight slowly. Don't listen to people as long as the baby is gaining weight and doctor say he /she is fine it's ok.

yeah my son is also not chubby because his father wasnt at his age.....
I had the opposite case....
I was being stressed abt NOT giving formula...almost every family member said to me except for my mom and bhabi....they encouraged me to ebf.....

Thank you ladies so much for the words of comfort! Some of the posts brought tears to my eyes .. but made me feel better that I'm not alone.
Here's hoping for a better second time.. whenever that is :) In the meanwhile I'm going to try to get over the bitterness and focus on the blessing that is my baby.

It took me until this baby and successfully nursing to really stop feeling so bitter and angry about my first brush with nursing. It's ok to feel sad but just don't let it take away from enjoying your baby and don't blame yourself. You're doing good, mama. Hang in there.

I am still having issues BFing.

I went in with all sorts of teas, books, my own pump, spoke to an LC, etc.

I haven't given up, am still trying really hard...my baby is only 5 days old so its still really early.

I really do want this to work but I also have my choice of formula handy in case I have to resort to that. He has only lost that initial 6% babies lose at birth but I don't want it to be more than that.

I try to get him to latch initially. If that doesn't work, I pump.

Check a LC for help. the 2nd time around LC sat for literally 3 hrs or so with me at my home. She told me to text her and let her know how it is going for next few days. Alhamdulilah, this time around we are doing great. I have been EBF for almost 5 months now. I am back to work, I am freezing for his school. Alhamdulilah so far it is working out great.

My regret for the first time was that I didn't give bf a fair chance. I got scared of the weight lost and started to supplement with formula.

Congrats Reha!

Does your baby's pediatrician office have lactation consultants? Or maybe you can go see one at the hospital you delivered at or have one come over? They'll definitely help with the latch. Pumping is great but it's important for the baby to latch during the first couple of weeks to build your supply.

It's been 10 days since I had my baby boy via C section. We started off well on BF especially when I was having colostrum. But then on the 4th day the hospital refused to discharge the baby as he has lost around 10% of the weight. I guess the problem was due to my milk coming in late as the birth was due to C section and also because my baby use to sleep 8-10 min while feeding. May be because I was still on Narco and other pain management drugs. So he always seemed hungry, will latch, will go to sleep, wake up again in an hr or so and cried for milk. We tried so many ways to keep him awake but he's stubborn like his mommy.

Other then this he's MA a very calm kid and not fussy at all. The hospital finally discharged me advising that I should start supplementing once in a day so I started giving him around 40 ml at night. I still BF the rest of the day and also pump couple of times during the day to keep the supply up but he always seemed hungry. My hubby feeds the baby at night while I catch on my sleep to recover. I have also stopped taking the pain medication despite still having pain.

But today morning at the Ped's visit we were told that he had only gained 1 oz in last week and the doctor told us to supplement each BF feed with at least 15-30 ml of formula as the baby is visibly hungry. We started doing that today and I can already see the difference, he slept straight for 3 hours and did spit some milk out for the first time. I know I am trying my best to do whatever is best for him so I don't feel any regret. In the end it's the health and wellness of the baby and mother that matters the most not what some outsiders perceive.

Congratulations simplyseema on your baby. :slight_smile: . It is very very hard in the beginning and we do what we can to get through. you are doing the best for baby. In the beginning to establish supply night feeding is essential.

Breastfeeding your newborn

Read the above link I found it very useful
Kellymom website was a life saver for me. Also try to see a lactation consultant if you want to continue breast feeding. Above all try to relax and enjoy your baby. /)