Breaking News: Shoaib and Asif cleared of doping charges

Re: Breaking News: Shoaib and Asif cleared of doping charges

Game jee that is the truth, learn to handle it. :mad:. Seen him drunk on Broad street the night before the ODI at Edgbaston. Why do you think he wasn’t playing in that ODI, because the SOB could hardly stand up.

Oh yaar, but you would still want him for the tour to South Africa, wouldn’t you?

of course I do, he is our best and most lethal bowler, but that does nto excuse what he does and hurt the team at the most crucial times. That is my complaint against him and as I said Pakistani cricket team matters more to me than him.

hahhaha

*I’m sure Gul and Asif will develop to an extent where they will take up the roles of the leading bowlers in the side one day. Till then, enjoy Shoaib for as long as his career lasts :slight_smile: . *

-------------------cvabn------------------
ehsan bhai, subha ka bhula agar shaam ko ghar loot aye to usko bhula nahi kehtay, yaar app ab agay ki taraf daikho naaaa, choroo kal ki guzri baatain!
:smiley: :bb:

:yahoo: will they play in SA tour now

Great, great news. SA is suddenly feeling pretty grim.

Hope the decision isn't overturned by World Anti-Doping Agency or ICC.

Does this mean that Asif & Shoiab can be selected on their tour of South Africa? Will the ICC & World Doping Agency have any say in this decision or can they investigate this matter further before allowing them to continue playing?

Pakistan duo win drugs ban appeal

Pakistan fast bowlers Shoaib Akhtar and Mohammad Asif have had their bans for doping overturned.
The pair were cleared by a three-man appeals committee of the Pakistan Cricket Board in Karachi.
A tribunal banned Shoaib, 31, for two years and Asif, 23, for one year on 1 November for testing positive for the banned steroid nandrolone.
Both are free to play in the World Cup and Asif has targeted a return in the one-day series against West Indies.
The first of the five limited overs was rained off in Rawalpindi on Tuesday and the next is scheduled for Thursday.
“I am fit to play international cricket,” Asif insisted.
“Now it all depends on the selection committee whether they will include me.”
Asif expressed his gratitude to those around him and added: “My lawyers gave me a lot of hope and my parents also supported me.”
Both players insisted they did not knowingly take the drug, claiming it was present in supplements they had taken.
The appeals committee, headed by retired judge Fakhruddin Ibrahim, accepted their defence after carrying out its own investigations, deciding neither was advised on taking vitamin supplements.
Ibrahim said: "The committee holds that Shoaib Akhtar and Mohammad Asif will not be deemed to have committed a doping offence.
“The ban and punishment imposed by the earlier tribunal is hereby set aside as being contrary to the provision of laws.”
Ibrahim added it was “clearly, plainly evident that Akhtar nor Asif were ever warned or cautioned against taking supplements”.
Akhtar and Asif were recalled from the Champions Trophy in India in October after they tested positive in out-of-competition tests conducted by the PCB. The International Cricket Council were quiet on the developments and a spokesman said: “We haven’t seen the PCB judgement yet and will not be making any statement until we do.”

congrats to both of them

judges are assuming that the supplements these players took might have been contaminated with nandrolone,in other words they have no evidence that they were contaminated.lol.thats ridiclous.but nevertheless its good to have them back ..now pakistan can be considered a serious threat to australias no1 ranking in test cricket.

:hula: this is great news!!!congrats to every1 :clap:

Justice is done (Kamran Abbasi)
Pakistan cricket must put this sad affair behind it, learn from its mistakes, and develop a proper process for drugs awareness and monitoring. An urgent review of the PCB’s medical panel is required. It has emitted shambolic signals for years. Shoaib and Asif must now be exceptionally diligent about what they consume for there can be no second chance and no second forgiveness.
Above all, Pakistan cricket must now focus on winning the World Cup. And that preparation has to begin with the selection of the team for the second one-dayer, a team that should include Shoaib, Asif, and Shahid Afridi.
Many of you will disagree. But as Martin Luther King once wrote from Birmingham jail: “Injustice anywhere harms justice everywhere.”
http://blogs.cricinfo.com/pakspin/archives/2006/12/justice_is_done.php](http://blogs.cricinfo.com/pakspin/archives/2006/12/justice_is_done.php)

Why happy only for Asif, Ehsan bhai ? You have stated all along that you dont want them back in the team if they have done anything wrong, if they did the crime they should also do the time. But now after being cleared by the tribunal and reading your comments I think you had established guilt of Akhtar right from the start. For some it might have been guilty till proven innocent but even after being given a certificate of innocence you havent shown a softer side for him.

There is a saying in Urdu *"Bud acha, badnam burra" *, just cause Shoaib has a reputation of a trouble maker does not mean he did take energy boosting drugs on purpose as well. So he drinks, has an active sex life but again the decision of his guilt or innocence in this case should soley be judged on merit of this case and not other incidents.

I am happy for both the bowlers, they will serve us well as they had done so in the past. Although I am skeptical about the reaction from WADA and ICC. I think the only reason these two were not picked for the second ODI is cause PCB is taking a wait and see approach. Soon ICC or WADA will come out with a statement and I think a lot will depend on that. If they accept the decision all is well and good, if not they can appeal agaisnt this ruling as well and then these two will have to fight their case for the 3rd time. If and when that time comes I hope and pray to God they are not left alone by the PCB to fight their own cases. They should be given the backing of the PCB and also PCB should hire the best legal council available to defend them and defend the judgement of their own tribunal.

I am not sure the stance is that the suplements were contaminated with nandrlone, I the supplement they took produces high level of nandrolone and no one warned them about taking or not taking those. I am not sure but this is what I have been able to figure out.

What a man!! take that GEO… luv when people with integrity stand up!
I hope he made his decision without any pressure from the head of state. …

:jhanda:
Good for Asif definitely…
as for Shoaib…could you please clean your act up now?:mad:
you won’t get any more chances than this you know!!!..

Yahhhhhhuuuuuuuuuu BAN LIFTED.... GOOD GOOD

[qote=goldenasif]
This is great news but **let’s hope too that both Shoaib and Asif learn a lesson from all this.**They should know now that not knowing what’s in the supplements won’t be accepted as an excuse by the ICC. So they better be careful about what they are taking as supplements, medicines etc. in the future.

:k: :k: to both

so true..:k: