Breaking News: Shahid Afridi retires from Test cricket till WC 2007

Re: Breaking News: Shahid Afridi retires from Test cricket till WC 2007

Ok, so if team balance is important (which it is) and Afridi does not fit in the current test team (which is questionable), then his temporary retirement from test cricket should be welcomed by everyone. "Good decision", you should say. Now say it.... :)

Anyway, in the Urdu article posted above, Afridi calls himself "I am basically a ODI player". Right on, dude. The glorious average of 23 surely proves it. Make no mistake. Despite the low average he will always be an automatic choice for any ODI team I select, but, come on... 23 and he thinks he is an ODI player???

- "Merey elawa chund aur Pakistani khilari bhi apnay aapko One Day ya Test tuk mahdood karnay ki tayyari kar rahey hain."

Bhaijan,

I dont agree..it means that he was not fitting into scheme of things in that particular game. They wanted to play more seamer. It is sad that that seamer turned out to be a non-performer. It is not that he will not be considered for other test matches. Thats the point of discussion. Sad thing is that many desi players put personal interest before team's interest. No wonder we have all the world record holder and poor team records.

^ Bhai jaan, its an at-will employment. If your Company puts you on the bench, and asks you to stick around with minimum pay, because at a future date there may be a project coming along where they may use you, will you just stick around? Yes, you will, if you have no other choice. But if you are not happy with the arrangement, or want to focus on your side-business, you will tell the Company "thank you, but I am out as I want to work on something else and plan my time better". Koi zabarasti thori hai... its a free world. Players often pull themselves out of games for various reasons.

Also read his orignal statement…he said he will be retireing from Test cricket not ODI and in the above urdu news the matches he is going to play are all ODI not Test.

Also he could have the family along with him in Europe as compare to taking the family to every single tour PCB organizes, on top of that PCB does not allow players to take family along on EVERY SINGLE tour.

It is a good repcedent being set. From now onwards anyone dropped from test or ODI can announce temporary retirement. There are players who play for the pride and honour of their country and there are those who retire temporarily to satisfy their bloated ego.

ehsan that is not a good way to finish this thread i think what i have to say will. Shahid Afridi has announced temporary retirement because of constant conflicts with Inzamam Ul Haq. Once again it is an example of how politically influenced the Pakistani cricket board is and they have lost a bright son. Shahid Afridi had and has the potential to be the worlds best as was seen in all series over the past couple of years especially in Australia. The world has lost the biggest drawcard and their favourite cricketer to watch. These poor politically influecned decisions will not last long as home crowds and low television levels will have to reintroduce this flamboyant entertainer back into the game we love. For now, good luck afridi and sorry your country has failed to utilise your talent. There future failures will help them regret this terrible decision.

By "retiring" from Test cricket, Afridi has violated his Class "A" contract. But the PCB has said that since is he such a superstar, we'll let it pass. So basically he will continue to get a fat retainer and at the same time will be reaping the rewards of playing county cricket.

Bravo PCB! I wonder what would have happend if the likes of Rana had made such an announcement.

Pathan bhai puthar ghistha meter hogia.

There r two sides to this picture one, its an act of utter and complete stupidity on behalf of Afridi, while the other side finds blame with team management. Its probably a mixture of both. If Afridi was childish in his reaction from being dropped, team management needs to be questioned for their mishandling of a mercurial player such as Afridi. Similar problems happened with Shaiby, then popular opinion tilted against the player who was ostracized by team and fans. Problem lies with unprofessional management, idolization of players/captains/managers and complete disrespect of discipline by all and sundry.

Afridi had become extremely comfortable in his middle order position, was a viable bowler, exceptional fielder and potential leader. His sudden retirement sud not be taken lightly, players of his calibre are not easy to find.

Despite the above, his retirement has been met with deafening silence. Where are all those former test cricketers who are itching to get their two cents in the media? Where is the response from PCB? Where are the fellow teammates? All we get is a nothing statement from Inzi and Woolmer about how its Afridi’s decision. Of course it’s Afridi’s decision, DUH! The silence itself speaks volumes about what has really happend behind the scenes.

If all of a sudden, Sehwag or Pathan announced their retirement from Test cricket, would there be a similar nothing response from the Indian camp?

A nail on the head right here.

For all you Afridi lovers out there :stuck_out_tongue: here you go:

http://content-usa.cricinfo.com/ci/content/current/story/244697.html

Tim May, the president of the Federation of International Cricketers Association, said that there was a possibility of a player strike if the ICC did not amend the tight playing schedule. “We’re frustrated, we’re concerned and we’re disappointed the ICC and the member countries aren’t abiding by principles that are supposed to be abided by in the scheduling of tours,” May told Australia’s The Sun-Herald. "It’s a revenue-raising frenzy. It’s pushing the players into a position where they’re just going to say, ‘No, it’s too much, we’re walking away from this, we’re not going to play in these games’.

“Guys start going through the motions. Their bodies are extremely fatigued. They just can’t keep doing it. Some players are already making a stand. Shane Warne only plays one form of the game. Brian Lara is becoming very selective in the tours he goes on and the forms he plays. **Shahid Afridi isn’t playing Tests because he says the amount Pakistan are playing is ridiculous. He’s taken a brave step and, quite frankly, it’s a step countless players are contemplating. **If that’s good for the game, I’m in the wrong business.”

he needs to be dropped from ODI squad as well, he sucks 2 much 2 play in the team.

Food for thought, Afridi's last 15 ODI's:

13,6,0,2,16,31,34,4,17,18,19,2,2,1,0 = 165 runs @ 11.78

How do his numbers compare with Rana and Razzaq?

Rana is hardly an all rounder and isn't in the team as one.

Razzaq:

38, 0, 13, 51*, 0, 4, 4, 14, 64*, 1, 24, 32, 41, 23*, 1 = 310 @ 25.83

Bear in mind Razzaq bats lower down than Afridi.

^^ what about Afridi's bowling as compared to razzak/other allrounders or bowlers?

Breaking News: Afridi hurries back home to look after his daughter

• The Irish Cricket Union have been informed that one of their two overseas players in the C&G Trophy, Shahid Afridi, has flown back urgently to Pakistan from Abu Dhabi, due to an illness in the family.

• A spokesperson for Shahid Afridi said: “In conjunction with the ICU, our first thoughts are with Shahid and a speedy recovery to his daughter. All parties concerned are hastily working to ensure Shahid arrives in time for the opener at the weekend once other matters are resolved.”

Cricket Europe

May she be put on her road to speedy recovery. God bless.

PCB to try to persuade Afridi to reverse ‘retirement’

The Pakistan Board says it will try to persuade Shahid Afridi to withdraw his decision not to play any Test matches until the 2007 World Cup.
Shaharyar Khan, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) chairman, told the Karachi-based The News “We think he has taken an emotional decision because he has been playing Test cricket regularly now for the last one year. And we are going to speak to him about it and ask him to change his decision.”
Afridi announced his ‘retirement’ from Test cricket recently, citing the increasingly hectic international schedule as the main reason for his decision. But Shaharyar felt Afridi had taken the decision under pressure after failing in a couple of matches.
“The strange thing is that since making his announcement he has been under more pressure because everyone is saying he should also be available for Test matches. Even people in Abu Dhabi who met him told him to take back his decision. So we are hoping he has already realised his mistake.”
Various parties have already tried to change Afridi’s mind. Bob Woolmer, Pakistan’s coach, made an effort to speak to him in Abu Dhabi, in order to persuade him to reverse his decision. Cricinfo has learnt, however, that Afridi remained unconvinced after their discussion. Additionally, Afridi’s hometown cricket association, KCCA (Karachi City Cricket Association) has also publicly urged him to reconsider. Wasim Bari, chief selector, has reiterated in recent statements that Afridi is still up for selection in both squads for the tour to England as has not informed the PCB in writing of his decision.
One factor likely to play a part in any discussions is that of central contracts. Pakistan’s cricketers, Test and ODI, are on rolling central contracts, divided into three categories based on seniority and experience. Afridi is in Category A, whereby he earns Rs 200,000 a month. **But if he doesn’t change his mind, this position, says Shaharyar, is likely to be reviewed when the new contracts are handed out in July. **
“He is a very good player and we want him for both forms of the game. We can’t have players picking and choosing when and what they want to play. But if he wants to skip Test matches then we have to see what sort of contract he should be given. Currently all the players to whom we’ve given contracts are available for Test and ODI cricket. Afridi is not an automatic choice for Tests but his availability is important for us.”
Afridi is currently due to play for Ireland in the Cheltenham & Gloucester Trophy, though he missed its opening match after his daughter fell sick. The decision to play for Ireland, soon after complaining of a heavy workload, has not endeared Afridi to PCB officials either. One said he was surprised Afridi was going to play for Ireland, “given that he said he was too tired at the moment and wanted to spend more time with his family.”

SOURCE:http://content-usa.cricinfo.com/ci/content/current/story/245220.html

PCB to try to persuade Afridi to reverse ‘retirement’

The Pakistan Board says it will try to persuade Shahid Afridi to withdraw his decision not to play any Test matches until the 2007 World Cup.

Shaharyar Khan, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) chairman, told the Karachi-based The News “We think he has taken an emotional decision because he has been playing Test cricket regularly now for the last one year. And we are going to speak to him about it and ask him to change his decision.”

Afridi announced his ‘retirement’ from Test cricket recently, citing the increasingly hectic international schedule as the main reason for his decision. But Shaharyar felt Afridi had taken the decision under pressure after failing in a couple of matches.

For details… click here