BREAKING NEWS: Presidential Election/ Zardari Elected as President of Pakistan

The MQM nominated Zardari, and filed his papers :)

I see, is that why he fielded his own candidate for presidency? Also, you are forgetting which thug FIRST nominated Zardari for presidency and whose party filed his papers! Aap ko kaafi pasand hai woh party :)

What a skewed and biased analysis?? We all know that you hate NS....fair enough, that is your problem not ours but you should stop blaming Nawaz for every ill and sin under the sun (I do not support him btw). To say that Zardari is a lesser crook than NS won't wash with most Pakistanis. They are both incredibly corrupt but Nawaz atleast is not a murderer. Zardari many believe killed Murtaza (ask Fatima Bhutto) and who knows even killed his own wife for the sake of power. Besides who divided Pakistan? not Nawaz but BB's father ZAB. Mujeeb was the chosen and elected PM in 1971 but Bhutto's stubbornness and self-interest got in the way.

And it is PPP that tries to play the Sind card all the time*....bhyy kyon? koi khaas takleef hai aapko* why should every PM however incompetent and undeserving be from Sind?......it is really about time all Sindhis shut up and think about the country as a whole. Have you ever heard Nawaz, Imran or any other politician playing the Punjabi card in any election? So it is not Nawaz but people like Zardari, Bhutto, Wali Khan, jiye Sind and Altaf - there was indeed some discrimination against urdu-speaking people before and MQM succeeded to an extent in giving voice and identity to them in Pakistan. Altaf does get some credit for that but I just don't approve of his tactics - bhattakhori etc. apparently his slaves in Pakistan must send him Rs 1 Arab every year in London, can't verify it myself but heard from someone!! - or his party's terrorist activities - that are a serious threat and danger to the sovereignty, solidarity and very existence of Pakistan.

And you again long for the army to step in and clean up the mess as if they are farishte themselves. Let me tell you this, they had their chances in the past (and who is to say they won't have more :)), no less than three times (and a decade or so in power in each instance!!) and despite making big promises to the nation each time of revamping the political system and getting rid of corrupt people they could not do jack. They could not destroy the feudal set-up. Despite having absolute power (President, PM and COAS all rolled into one position) they did very little for the country. Apart from taking cosmetic measures here and there, they never really addressed some of our core issues.

A- They could not introduce much-needed domestic political reforms....abolish feudal/jageerdari system, introduce intra-party elections, root out nepotism from our political set-up, promote clean, honest and educated people in politics etc.

B - They could not build much-needed Kalabagh Dam. Mush could have done it if he had the will.

Till about 2004 Musharraf had absolute power and he could have addressed these issues if he was sincere and honest. Sadly his vested interests and kursi came in the way of his 'good' intentions and the very people he accused of corruption and embezzlement, incompetence, thuggery and what not in 1999, and despite spending something like Rs 70-80 crores of the tax-payers' money on bringing charges against them, by 2007 (some say even before that) he was making back-door deals with the same crooks for the sake of kursi. What's worse he gave them all complete indemnity*....to ab sab bhugto Zardari ko.* Don't blame Nawaz but Musharraf for the fact that a crook and thug like Zardari is now our President - period

Allah aap ka bhi hami aur nasir ho - Ameen....sehri aur iftari mein badam ka doodh zaroor piya karo takey doran e roza zehan par ziyada zore na pare

Re: BREAKING NEWS: Presidential Election/ Zardari Elected as President of Pakistan

^ Asif bhai, you are forgetting the reason why he is doing this is :

Pakistan: Altaf Hussain proposes Asif Zardari for president’s slot | TwoCircles.net

Re: BREAKING NEWS: Presidential Election/ Zardari Elected as President of Pakistan

The first words that came to my mind are:

Qaloo Inna Lillahi Wa Inna Ilayhi Rajioun :smiley:

And the next words:

wAllahu khairul maakireen

bohot toofaan aaye hayn aur Alhamdolillah Pakistan zinda hay (2 tukray howay to kia :D) Inshallah ye toofan khud toot ke wapis jaye gaa :jhanda:

TOHMAT-E-CHANDD APNE ZIMMAY DHARR CHALLAY,
JISS LEEAY AAYE THHAY SOU HUM KARR CHALLAY,
ZINDAGI HAI YA KOI TOOFAAN HAI.....
HUM TOW ISS JEENAY K HAATOUN MARR CHALLAY,
DARD KUCHH MALOOM YE LOGE SUBB KIS LEEAY AAYE...

..........KEEDHARR CHALLAY...?

Loor maar sale. Pehlay aaye aur pehlay paain.....

Suddenly Musharraf seems to be a better option that we had....

Anyways, hopefully something good will come out of this. InshaAllah...

Allah Pakistan ko apnay hifz-o-aman main rakhay....AMIN.

Oh man, this is not good.

can only hope for the best, lets see if he can fulfill his promise of not doing any operations in FATA/NWFP during ramadan month...

so pathetic is the state of our country and nation. so low is the state of our nation's education and common knowledge. so disgusting is the strong hold of a rotten few. so miserable is the gene pool that we have not produced a single leader in several decades. so stale is the political arena that same old vultures take turn to the throne. so botched is our state of affairs that lawyers thrive on the anarchy…. and we talk about Democracy and its wins?

-azkar

*(these are personal views and do not reflect the GS official positioning) *

By Qudssia Akhlaque

ISLAMABAD: PPP Co-chairman and presidential hopeful Asif Ali Zardari, who is expected to win hands down on Saturday, **is all set to embark on a visit to China within 72 hours of his election as the head of the state.
Zardari to visit China on 9th as president

Nice…

I don't know why people are going after AAZ even before he did anything wrong. Let us wait and see. If he & his party failed to fulfill their promises they'll be kicked out by voters next time around. Isn't this what democracy is about? So, my appeal to all is please let the system work & let us not invite army to come into politics again.

I agree this is how "democracy" is supposed to work, but the root of democracy can't prosper if the seed is "black"/rotten.

Azkar,

You are more successful a president running this site with your team for the last 12 years or so… :k: :slight_smile:

-the illitracy of some 60% (mostly women) is purposefully ignored by the parents + governments…driven by fear that if we educate them…they will stand in our way someday…this 60% uneducated segment of our society rules Pakistan in fact…gross bank vote controlled by a few landlords who got their land from British for some loyality… :smiley:

Aur phir jaisi qoum hogi, usko waisa hi hakim milay ga [Al-Quran]

PS: I am expecting a few revolutions in a row and some civil wars in which Pakistan armed forces will be helpless too…just my instinct… :slight_smile:

Today, India hits a high and Pak hits the lowest point, courtesy Bhutto’s Fan followers.

Yeah Shamraz bhai why worry?....agar mulk buch gaya paanch saal tuk to election bhi ho jayein ge :D

I agree Zardari isn't saint, but you wont find saints in politics. The point is continuity of the system w/o interruption & army marching back into politics. We can't afford that.

Yaar why look at glass half empty? BTW, I agree let us also pray that glass survives for net 5 years.

You are talking here like most of our voters (referring to the 60% or so illiterate amongst us) have the ability to think clearly and analyse things independently and do tameez b/w right and wrong. The PPP jiyalays would always vote for PPP no matter what and the same goes for the die-hard supporters of other parties. Our politics is sadly ethnicity and jageerdari-driven so as much as I appreciate your sentiments the current feudal political set-up does not give me much confidence about the future

Honestly and sadly speaking, people of Pakistan deserve to be in a country full of corruption because THEY CHOOSE jerks who can't do jack for the country and ONLY become offidcials to fill up their own pockets. Didn't everyone see what PPP and Nawaz did in their last terms? WHY would anyone then go and reelect them again, WHY? And what qualifications does AZ have to govern Pakistan? I am shocked and utterly disgusted at how stupid people in Pakistan can be. The more I see it now, I have NO doubts that Zardari is the man behind his wife's murder, biwi ke naam par aish karra hai.

Hasn't everyone already seen enough? Democracy my foot.