Breaking News: Musharraf resigns

Re: Breaking News: Musharraf resigns

Personally I think Musharaf was an ok guy. He probably had Pakistan's good in his mind for most of his actions. Acted responsibly when confronted with 9/11. But like most dictators, continued on well past his expiration date. 9 years is too long, especially when one has lost popularity in a country.

However, my biggest gripe is that as a principle, I am for democracy and let people and nations collectively make their own decisions (and mistakes). Good thing about democracy is that when Bhutto and Shareef and Zardari plunder the country, they can be kicked out in the next election. With Army in charge, there is just no mechanism to kick them out except an airplane blowing up in the skies over Bahawalpur. So, because of this I do not support Musharaf's rule. I think the way he came in to power was un-constitutional (and kinda egocentric) and the way he got himself re-elected was unconstitutional (in 2007).

Zardari and Sharif are no angels either. Most politicians aren't. But bcz Army constantly wraps up the democratic system, so these thieves again have a chance to come back as masoom farishtay and people vote for them again and again. Keep the system running. Let these people be exposed for what they are.

Generally I don't like Ardeshir Cowasjee as I think he is an overly cynical old man, but his one statement on television the night Feb 18th election results were being announced very succinctly captures the essence of whats going on

"Chor jaa rahay hein, Daaku aa rahay hein"

Lets hope, once Zardaris and Sharifs and Maulana Diesels of our political zoo are done with our country, something is left for the next generation of leaders to carry on.

What a lame and pathetic excuse is that. All those sympathizing with mushy, calling him honest and sincere should be ashamed of him as their president did not only change the constitution illegally but also kidnapped innocent citizens of the country. There is no excuse for kidnapping people. If he thought they were terrorists, he should have taken them to the courts but kidnapping people, throwing away judiciary, and illegally changing the constitution highlights his so-called honesty and sincerity towards the country.

Yes, there was taliban factor before musharraf but Musharraf nurtured them. He never tried to control them, the steps he took made sure talibanizam is nurtured in Pakistan and spreads. If he had sincerely tried controlling them, Pakistan wouldn't be where it is today.

I seriously cannot fathom why people are celebrating, as if one person could hold an entire nation back. You have just handed over to the dakus and watch what a mess they'll make out of it. Good luck.

Faisal bhaijan. You of little faith. Pakistan is in good hands. Great Zardari is the future. It is what the electorate want. :)

We are celeberating because we have one less daku to worry about :)

Musharraf did the wrong thing e shouldn't have resigned...Now asif chacha nad nawaz chacha Pakistan ko loot ker kha jayen ge aur dakar bhi anhi len ge..
Ab dekhtay hain ke ppp and pmln ke pass kya excuses hote hain....Aur ab logon ko pata chale ga ke ke unhon ne ppp aur pmln ko vote de ker kitni bari mistake ki thi.

They said we'll celebrate it on July 4th :p

Hey stalker just leave nobody understands that musharraf was better then the others.There is no point agrueing anyway cuz he is gne now....Nobody understands his importance like we do...

No wonder they (taliban) hate him so much.

fanatics do not consider eachother fanatics

Who am I to fool anyone. I don't want to interfere in what Zardari has been doing so well.

It will be really interesting to see the views and headlines from mid October 1999. I have a feeling there is going to be a similarity in now and then. We celebrated people rejoiced dances in the streets and "Mithai" for all.........as is now.
There were dances and sweets when he came dances and sweets we he is going.
There were dances and sweets when Nawaz went dances and sweets we he came back.

Who says having a short memory is not good, with this we can enjoy the departure of the same person whose arrival we celebrated.

Its not just the taliban, everyone else hates him :D

I hope Pakistan can survive until then. Anyone remember the world in late 90s saying that Pakistan is a failed state and is on its way to collapse? Our country was decaying due to the incredible loot by so called democratic powers who, regrettably are back in power to bleed dry whatever country has saved in last 9 or so years. I am awfully concerned about Pakistan's future. We now have people in command who are thieves and thug by nature. They can't think of anything but personal attacks on others, self gratification and personal gains at the cost of our entire nation. They can careless about people’s consternation. What has this new govt really done to ease the yoke of countless troubles faced by the poor and middle class people? Pres. Musharraf was not stopping anyone from doing a great job to help people out? Why instead of spending days and nights thinking about impeaching or getting rid of Pres. Musharraf, this new govt did not do anything to deal with the real issues of illiteracy, poverty, terrorism, extremism, corruption and injustice at every level?

Letsee. The taliban hate him. The (drug dealing) government of A-fake-anistan hates him. India was never too fond of him.Daku Zardari and Chacha Shareef hate him. Oh yes, beer swilling Bilawal preppie boy hates him too. Those who hate Musharraf certainly have enviable peers :)

^Add to that list

Civil society
Lawyers
Poor masses

Now who loves him, no one else other than Altaf Hussain's supporters

stalker, all is not lost, israel and india like him.

The masses loved the danddaa-raj under Zia. That's what suits them the best. And the lawyers too.

^dil na jalaoo yaar

you will get used to it.
Were you happy when he was killing people in streets of Karachi on May 12?

musharraf went crazy in 2007

get him a wheelchair and give him his resthouse, pakistan will be better off without him

No they didnt. Zia was another Musharraf, when it came to popularity. Sadly, the way he died generated sympathy.