BREAKING NEWS: Gunman [Daish?] takes hostages in Sydney cafe

Re: BREAKING NEWS: Gunman [Daish?] takes hostages in Sydney cafe

Good (sarcastically) , finally these western countries are waking up. This kind of incidents will only unite the world against these animals.

India has long warned the world against such people but it was not taken seriously until the fire came to their door steps.

An Indian is amongst the hostages, hope every one comes out fine.

But make no mistakes, these kind of incidents will only increase.

I can't believe that this is still going on. I hope that all of the hostages make it out soon and I really hope that the police capture this guy alive so that he can waste away the rest of his life in a prison cell rather then get the quick death he's probably craving and expecting to get some kind of glory from.

I live in Australia yaar and the Indian racist attacks were one off thing. some of them were not racist but opportunistic attacks. As an Indian living in Australia i have hardly faced racism. There is racism in Australia like all countries but it is not as bad as other places in the world. Even India has racist attacks like the racist attacks on the north east students. Racism is more of an issue in India than Australia.

People here might find it heartening to know that many Australians are coming out to support Australian Muslims and make them not feel insecure after this attack. The twitter hash tag #I](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=I) 'llride with you is encouraging people to sit next to a religious Muslim person if they see one in public transport and make them feel welcome. Our police has said there is no need for anyone to take law in their hands or to retaliate.

Martin Place siege:#I](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=I) llridewithyou hashtag goes viral

In a climate of fear and uncertainty, Australians have banded together to show their support for the Muslim population.
The #I](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=I) llridewithyou hashtag amassed almost 120,000 tweets on Monday evening, as Australians took a stand against anti-Muslim sentiment in the wake of the Martin Place siege.

http://www.smh.com.au/content/dam/images/1/2/7/r/t/o/image.related.articleLeadNarrow.300x0.127rm1.png/1418645568043.jpg

The message posted on Rachael Jacobs’ Facebook page.

A young Sydney woman, Rachael Jacobs, appears to have inspired the campaign after posting a moving Facebook status about her encounter with a Muslim woman earlier in the day.
Advertisement
“…and the (presumably) Muslim woman sitting next to me on the train silently removes her hijab,” Ms Jacobs wrote.
“I ran after her at the train station. I said ‘put it back on. I’ll walk with u’. She started to cry and hugged me for about a minute - then walked off alone.”
The inspiring status quickly circulated on social media before inspiring the #I](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=I) llridewithyou hashtag.
Sydney TV content editor Tessa Kum said she “broke” when she read Ms Jacob’s story and decided to post the following message on Monday afternoon:
“If you [regularly] take the #373 bus b/w Coogee/MartinPl, wear religious attire & don’t feel safe alone: I’ll ride with you,” she wrote.
She then posted a second status, featuring the #I](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=I) llridewithyou hashtag. Within hours it had gone viral on social media, as Twitter users from around the country offered to ride public transport with Muslims who feel intimidated by anti-Islamic sentiment.
“It is hard to feel hope when you feel helpless. #I](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=I) llridewithyou is a small act, but might be important for someone one day,” Ms Kum told Fairfax Media.
“My thoughts are with those involved, who will be affected for so long to come, and those uninvolved, who are being blamed none the less.”
Ms Jacobs wrote on her personal Facebook page that she was “completely overwhelmed” by the response.
“Mine was a very brief encounter - a small gesture to a stranger in response to the sadness that I felt that someone would ever feel unsafe or unwelcome because of their beliefs,” she wrote.
“I’m not the story and I’m not a hero. Those who started the‪#‎illridewithyou‬](Facebook) movement are incredibly inspiring and anyone who joins it is creating a path to peace for all of us.”
The campaign was widely praised on social media. “Today goes to show, Australians will always come together and support one another,” one Twitter user wrote.
Several politicians and media personalities also showed their support for the campaign.
The campaign seems to echo Prime Minister Tony Abbott’s statement during his Monday press conference.
“Australia is a peaceful, open and generous society. Nothing should ever change that,” he said.
The chart below maps the growth of the #I](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=I) llridewithyou hashtag in real time.

If it is a lone gunmen, as is being indicated, he cant hold on for long. Sleep deprivation, calls of nature will get him in the end. lets pray that the hostages come out alive.

It seems they are doing some big time negotiations with the hostage takers. Apparently the guy called radio and wanted the hostage to air some demands but the radio host decided against it.
5 of the 20 or 30 have been released but the media is not allowed to reveal the demands yet. There may or may not be explosives in the cafe and elsewhere.
My friend was in the building nearby and police had them on lockd own and slowly evacuated them over time. We’ve had ongoing coverage since it’s happened. This took place in the financial heart of Sydney near the main Courts and news channel buildings. The police has been quiet about the hostages and the hostage takers. About 20 hostages might be inside at gunpoint. This has never happened before in Australia. Some say the gunman was trying to

Australians have started an anti-Islamophobia twitter trend in solidarity with our Muslim citizens so they do not feel insecure and before anticipation of any backlash. There shouldn’t be any.
120 000 tweets have occurred. The i’ll ride with you hash tag lets Muslims know if they are feeling insecure on public transport there are people who are willing to ride with them. So there is no need to feel you have to change.

It is quite heartening and shows Australians are not all racist like people think.

#illridewithyou: support for Muslim Australians takes off following Sydney siege - ABC News (Australian Broadcasting Corporation)](#illridewithyou: support for Muslim Australians takes off following Sydney siege - ABC News)

First time anything of this scale is happening in Australia. The authorities probably are not sure how to handle it. One guy is effectively shutting down a city. People in buildings have been on lock down. No one thinks it will effect them till it happens and Australia is so far away from all the events in the northern hemisphere but we live in a globalised world.

I think for now they say it is a lone gunmen. There are negotiations underway but they have not released the demands of the gunmen as it may jeopardise safety of hostages. I hope all hostages come out safely no matter how long it takes.

The bold part has a big lesson for IndoPak media. Its impossible to think of a subcontinent radio or TV channel to refuse a rating booster like this.

Religious leaders in Australia get together to pray for the seige hostages.
9RAW: Faith leaders come together in a show of unity

all over social media in australia and social pages the i’ll ride with you message can be seen. Good to see this solidarity coming early by Australians for Australian Muslim citizens.

I agree. Our media is the worst. They would probably break all rules given by police even sensationalise any interview. This is why we get more victims because life is cheap for these media people in our countries.

Even the TV channels who have talked to escaped hostages have been asked to not broadcast anything as negotiations are ongoing. The media know a lot but have been asked to keep silent.

What they know is he is a 49 yr old Iranian who was a refugee. They say he is a self-styled Sheikh. In the past he has sent disturbing letters to families of 8 dead Australian soldiers, he has been on bail for trying to kill his ex wife and he has been charged with sexually assaulting 8 women who he tried to heal. He is not a professional at this but his approach had lot of holes. Already he has had let 5 hostages escape. He apparently has a machete, shotgun and explosives but it is not confirmed.
All they know is that police have surrounded the area where the gunmen is but giving him space so he doesn’t feel closed in.

In September there were counter-terrorism raids in which they found evidence of people planning to do a beheading act and to distribute it in social media in one of the places where this event occurred. http://www.news.com.au/national/australian-terror-raids-afp-asio-move-on-suspected-terrorists/story-fncynjr2-1227062204389 This could be related to this.

He is not even covering his face. Surely he knows that he won’t get away so not what sure what end he has planned for himself.

People always say Australians are racist and this event has shown there are many non-racist Australians who have tweeted and facebooked that they will not give in to prejudice and intolerance. Many are offering to go with any Muslims on public transport etc

The media have revealed the name of the gunmen. His name is Man Monis,

His past offences include sexual assault, attempted accomplice to murder of his wife and sending threatening letters to families of dead Australian soldiers. He was an Iranian refugee and persecuted Ayatollah who came to Australia in 1996. Really sad he repays the country that has taken him in in this way. He shouldn’t be seen as representing any Muslim community.

Cookies must be enabled. | The Australian

‘Spiritual healer’ Man Haron Monis charged with an extra 40 sexual offences](http://www.smh.com.au/nsw/spiritual-healer-man-haron-monis-charged-with-an-extra-40-sexual-offences-20141013-115epb.html)

More than 40 sexual offenses by a cleric says it all..

Says hypocrite to me. I can't believe he wasn't behind bars for longer.

More positive messages with the #I](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=I) 'll ride with you

Even England cricketer Freddie Flintoff tweets this message

Catch him alive and just deport him back to Iran. They will take care of the rest.

On live tv 7 hostages have been released and there is gunfire at the moment and massive explosive/gunfire. Maybe 3 or more of the hostages so far are injured/maimed and is now taken by ambulance. Why waste taxpayer money on ticket for this degenerate? If he dies in encounter that is best.
They should never have let the animal out of jail. Insaan to hai nahi.

#SalamIran](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=SalamIran)

Btw since its found he's an Irani, media has stopped asserting that its ISIS thingy as Irani cleric (most likely shia) would hv nothing to do with ISIS.

That actually more complicates things as now they know that there are more than one enemies.

Drama heading towards its end:

http://www.nytimes.com/2014/12/16/world/asia/sydney-australia-hostages.html?_r=0
Police Storm Sydney Cafe in Attempt to End Hostage Crisis

By MICHELLE INNISDEC. 15, 2014

Slide Show

Go to previous slideGo to next slide
Hostages ran towards police from the Lindt Chocolate Cafe in Sydney.
CreditRob Griffith/Associated Press

1 of 10 Go to previous slide

Go to next slide

Continue reading the main story

Continue reading the main storyShare This Page

• Tweet

• Email

• Save

• More

Continue reading the main story

Photo

Police officials identified the hostage-taker as Man Haron Monis, a self-proclaimed sheikh with a criminal record. CreditDean Lewins/European Pressphoto Agency
SYDNEY, Australia — Heavily armed police in Sydney stormed a cafe early Tuesday where an armed man said to be a self-proclaimed sheikh held hostages for more than 16 hours.
Live television images of the scene showed intense flashes of gunfire and the sound of loud ammunition rounds being fired. Police were racing into the building with weapons drawn, followed by medics with stretchers.
Just before the police appeared to enter the building, at least six hostages were seen running from the cafe.
Earlier, the police confirmed that the hostage-taker was Man Haron Monis, a man with a criminal record who called himself Sheikh Haron. Australian media reports quoted the man’s former lawyer as saying he was acting alone. But it was unclear whether the gunman had accomplices.
Continue reading the main stor