Breaking News: Akhtar, Asif called back to Pakistan!

Re: Breaking News: Akhtar, Asif-beaing called back to Pakistan!

I don’t say they are directly related to each other…but taking drugs is also considered cheating and that’s what the Pakistani bowlers were also accused of at the Oval??? So why wouldn’t someone cheat in several ways?

Let me clear any confusion: I too firmly believed that at the Oval we were innocent. But recent events have made me re-think that stance. I’m not saying I’m sure about it, but as I said, doping is considered cheating as well…

Re: Breaking News: Akhtar, Asif called back to Pakistan!

^ See there are two aspects to it.

Prior to England tour, both these bowlers were suffering from long term injuries and doping is very rare in cricket so you cannot expect cricketers to be aware of whats banned or whats not. So if they took some steroid which in their view was helping their injuries, can you blame them? Its too soon to say that they cheated.

A simple analogy; Lets say If a person was charged for bank robbery sometime ago and was acquitted fair and square. Later on he was convicted for a brawl or something. Does it mean he was involved in that robbery as well?

kia bakwas hai

saloon k leyee 3 bajey so ker, 5 bajey uthoo aur yee manshoos !! :mad:

PCB :k:

If they find out that both took the steroid intentionally, they should be banned for at least 1 year from all forms of cricket

PS: M.Sami is oficially the luckiest player ever to play cricket on the faceof the Earth. In fact i guess this all is happening coz of his luck :slight_smile:

oh man oh man..i cant believe it.pakistan cricket team is finished now for sure.what were these guys thinking?.i know it happened in baseball.did'nt know it was going on in cricket too.now we know why akhtar was bowling so fast.this must be have been ill-advised .these guys are stupid.i have taken steroid too just to see what difference it makes,its pretty dangerous if you keep taking it.and besides you have other alternatives like other natural pro-hormones that you can take to raise testosterone.there was absolutely no need to take this crap.Shoaibs career is over.and why did Pcb have to do this,,nasseem ashraf is trying to be so honest for nothing.

cricinfo says that the left arm spinner abdul rehman and the fast bowler yasir arafat r to go as replacements....

no name of sami mentioned by cricinfo....

OMG
the drama never ends.... but this is way more serious that the other events. Not that we had a shot at WC with disgruntled players (+ to be disgrunted players after naseem was gonna demote inzi), woolmer demanding more money and the management in pieces; but man, this is a big blow. Does this mean Shoaib and Asif are out of the world cup as well?

Drugs for cricket :eek: … how does it effect on cricket player specially on the pitch :ahaa:

icc can ban these guys for 2 years according to their rules and regulations.but the interesting point is that this is a new law ..icc did not have any laws against steroid use in cricket untill recently so may be these guys can claim that they were caught unaware of the new regulations.pcb does not have any rules in place to act against steroid users so may be they will let them off the hook without too severe a punishment ,but ofcourse the big question is what the icc is going to do?

Ignorance of law is no excuse. If found guilty of sharing the tube, not only these two themselves are to be blamed for agreeing, submitting and complying (with the 'orders' from the higher management if such is the case) but the actual doctors, physicians, advisers and even the foreign coach - if found guilty along the same lines as above - should be immediately relieved from their duties, and their licenses provoked thereafter to further reduce their presence in the field of medicine. If the results are such that any of the above have deliberately handed the enhancement drugs to the players fully knowing the consequences well, not only they have tarnished the legacy of Pakistan and stamped their black mark on it, but they have also unnecessarily put the collective lives of their peers at stake. No one is, and should be, above the law, and most importantly, above the nation and the game itself.

^lol oh well in that case its gonna be a huge disaster for pakistan cricket.akhtar and asif have been the main reason pakistan has been winning recently with them not in the team i dont see how they are gonna win the world cup.i am no doctor,but dont these things get out of your system after a few day? if they tested positive at the end of september may be it is out of their system by now and they were not gonna test positive again when icc was going to conduct their test..so may be pcb could have handled this issue privately and allowed these guys to play.

:yahoo:
:balley:
:shoaby:

I just heard the bob woolmer interview he says that it might of been injected accidently by doctors or by some of the medication they took might of had traces of that drug in it

well you never know with someone like shoaib akhtar he can be very irresponsible, as we saw in that one day match he was scratching the ball..but woolmer may be right... who could be stupid enough to take this on purpose when you know you are gonna get caught.

I am hoping what woolmer said is the most likely cause of this. Clutching to straws? maybe I am. but I wont start jumping to conclusions.

Let's wait before we issue the judgement,I read somewhere that one of the team doctor said,that Shoib was given those steroids for his recovery.

I think performance enhancing drugs can no way help a cricketer. Cricket is not a game of strength , its basically about skills. I dont think there is any drug available that can improve your skills, no drug can make you wasim,sachin or shohaib.

they were tested at the end of september,was'nt sharyar khan still pcb chairman at that time.?..may be they knew sharyar khan was not going to take any action and by the time champions trophy comes around their systems will be cleared of this and they won't test positive.

I think this might be the reason Shehryar resigned so suddenly. He knew of the doping results and didn't want to be the "bad guy" to call these guys back.

Recovery or not, doping is still doping. Shane Warne had the same excuse, but was still banned for a year.

The best we can hope at this point is that since this was an internal test, not an ICC one, they'll be let go with a slap on the wrist and still be able to play the World Cup.