Breakfast from larki wale!

Not sure if this topic has been discussed… but i never understood the reason behind this rasam of larki wale bringing nashta to larke wale home. I mean bichare larki wale are already tired aur apni beti di hai… aab woh nashta bhi karain. cant the groom side arrange a welcome nashta for the bride!!!.. unho naye kounsa tear mara hai… jo they cant make their own breakfast!

Thank God its not practiced in our family… but i have seen and heard so much about it… and it annoys me.

infact the groom side should send nashta to bride’s family. bichare ek din pehle keh itne thake howe hain. upper se they gave away their daughter to them. so a complimentry thing groom side should send nashta to them

Thank god it's not practiced in our family either. i got married in my family so this was not an issue at all. I got married in the states so after my ruksati my parents had to send mathai and all the stuff with me plus they had to make sure that all the food was taken care of in addition to making sure that the decoration lady came and took off everything before the end of the night. They had a hectic day so to expect them to wake up early in the morning and cater breakfast was just not understandable at all. Infact we all woke up late since I was in the hotel room and got ready and since our valima was in the afternoon noone really had to worry about feeding their guest or anything.. They all just served light breakfast :)

Re: Breakfast from larki wale!

For my sister's nikah, we served a very elaborate breakfast at the masjid but that was to take the burden off of having over 60 people squeezed into our home plus cooking dinner for them.

Now that her wedding is coming up, Im not sure what my mom has planned as far as hosting is concerned.

I aint wakin up that early to cook!

I think the rasam was introduced so that the larki wale can go and look at their daughter first thing in the morning after her wedding for obvious reasons ;) Surely, you need a reason to drop in at someone's place, hence bringing-the-breakfast-excuse!

When the larki wale send the breakfast, do they still do the makhlawa at their house

Sure, that is kind of true. In fact in our days (that is till 90's), larkee walay used to bring larkee back home and then she used to go back on valima day to her hubby's house. That just give her a break of day or two after hectic pre-wedding stress.

I am not sure if still happens.

I thought the sending of breakfast WAS the makhlawa bit?