Boy vs. Tank

Picture from Palestain

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/3/boy.jpg

...hes got something the tank doesnt..faith!

'.......I always knew looking back on the tears
would make me laugh...
But i never knew looking back on the laughs would
make me cry......'

Is it good to glamourize pictures like this one?

Maasi jee, it’s real life. These kids don’t put up some make up and turn up in front of a tank with ammunition. I don’t know how u r calling it glamourization if someone is trying to show what is happening out there in real life with these people. I really hate it when people say oh it is disturbing to see these pictures.

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/mad3.gif

kabootar kaheen kay

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/hoonh.gif

I must agree with Khan_Sahib. Instead of glamourizing its bringing awareness off the reality taking place in Palistine. The kids in Palistine are so concerned about there freedom that they will give up there life to protect it. Think about the Jazba these CHILDERN have. If they feel strong enough to die for this cause, we should have the deciency to recognize the cause of there death, and try to make there actions meaningful.

yeah well said guys.........don't you think that it should be the armies of the muslim world who should be there in front of the tank: tank 4 a tank,soldier 4 a soldier and a STATE 4 A STATE!!

Originally posted by Hasan Ibrahim:
I must agree with Khan_Sahib. Instead of glamourizing its bringing awareness off the reality taking place in Palistine. The kids in Palistine are so concerned about there freedom that they will give up there life to protect it. Think about the Jazba these CHILDERN have. If they feel strong enough to die for this cause, we should have the deciency to recognize the cause of there death, and try to make there actions meaningful.

To be honest mere bhai I do not believe this.
Do you really think a little kids thoughts go this far???? Wrong, the little boys in Palestina r only fighting because the youngsters and teenagers and young men are fighting. The small follw the Grown-ups.
And we shouldnt try to understand the meaning of their deaths, but we should try to help them.
But we dont, because we r humans.

The Isrealy r cowards using tanks and heavy armory against kids,

but what goes around, comes around(I HOPE)

DONT BELIEVE IN LUCK, LIFE IS WHAT U MAKE OF IT

Thanks dutch paki for relaying the message that I wanted to.

I have no objection to people wanting to depict "true life". We should all be aware of what's going on.

What I disagree with is encouragement of such acts as is shown in this picture. Tell me honestly, is there really any competition between the boy and that hunk of metal? No. To suggest that the boy has faith and the tank doesn't is all well and good in words....but when it comes to the crunch, excuse the pun, the same sound will be heard from the boy's bones.

This photo should not be used to promote the idea of courage. Rather it reflects foolhardy thinking and promotes a false sense of patriotism. I shudder to think of how many other children would be driven to the same behaviour and eventually to losing their life simply by seeing this photo and the glorified remarks associated with it.

The same child, if encouraged to grow and mature would have a greater chance of accomplishing peace.

Its all a matter of perception haina...only mine is a bit biased because almost everyday i read about the ppl whom this kid..in that picture represents....for decades theyve been fighting for what? the right to Live in the house that is his..practise his faith..go to school...have opportunites... NoT be pressuried in bowing his head to the Israelis...if that 11yr old has the guts to stand up to that junk of metal....for something that he truly believes in....and for someone to put it up for others to see isnt glamorising the issue..its called ** bringing it into light**
...and i dont understand what false sense of patriotism is?

empathy lies in the eyes of the beholder

[This message has been edited by isloo_ki_anarkali (edited April 04, 2001).]

Originally posted by Muzna:
I have no objection to people wanting to depict "true life". We should all be aware of what's going on.**

It's easy to say that people should be aware but I am dead sure if you see the truth e.g. what is happened with people in Iraq then u would go to bazaar and start beating the hell out of people responsible for it.

What I disagree with is encouragement of such acts as is shown in this picture. Tell me honestly, is there really any competition between the boy and that hunk of metal? No. To suggest that the boy has faith and the tank doesn't is all well and good in words....but when it comes to the crunch, excuse the pun, the same sound will be heard from the boy's bones.

This is some sort of glimpse we see about the problem in the media and if it wasn't for that then everythink will be hunky dory according to the press. It is just the way we are brought up including myself that we find it disturbing to even see the truth and difficult to go along with them. Also, if these pic are not shown then many more will give their life in that pun.

** This photo should not be used to promote the idea of courage. Rather it reflects foolhardy thinking and promotes a false sense of patriotism. I shudder to think of how many other children would be driven to the same behaviour and eventually to losing their life simply by seeing this photo and the glorified remarks associated with it.

The same child, if encouraged to grow and mature would have a greater chance of accomplishing peace.**

I disagree that it's a promotion or foolhardy way but agree to some extent regarding education but I think all resources including better education and media should be used to solve the problem. Also, peace won't be long lasting unless there is balance of power between the two.

Originally posted by khan_sahib:
It's easy to say that people should be aware but I am dead sure if you see the truth e.g. what is happened with people in Iraq then u would go to bazaar and start beating the hell out of people responsible for it.

I disagree. I would never resort to violence as you have suggested here. You should investigate a bit more before you make such confident statements about someone you really don't know.

It is just the way we are brought up including myself that we find it disturbing to even see the truth and difficult to go along with them. Also, if these pic are not shown then many more will give their life in that pun.

I was not brought up that way. I do not find truth disturbing and welcome every opportunity to be exposed to it.

What I disagree with is posting such pictures and having people provide their wah wah's and shabashi to the kid....thereby conveying the message that this is the "right" way to fight the oppression they are facing.

I don't know what you mean by the second sentence. Please clarify.

I think that khan_sahib, such pictures do publicize and politicize children from a very young age, and do send out a wrong message at times. However, Muzna, at the same time, in this particular case, I feel that a lack of exposure or lack of praise for this picture will never put an end to these palestinian kids doing what they are doing. Fact is, palestinian kids who were born in these camps, and many adults, who were born, raised and grew up in these camps, dont know whats going on in the world outside their camps. They have been suffocate inside, and anything that is portrayed in the world media doesnt make a dent in what they do. What they do is absolutely indiginous, and is a direct result of whats happening to them. The adults get shot by israelis day in day out, hence the adults are a part of the intefada. The kids get shot day in day out, hence they too are a part of it in their own mundane way. The kids are not pushed into the warfront by their parents, no way. These kids, in their own words, bunk school to be on the front line to join processions and oppose the oppression. So i dont know what effect, if any, a stop to such publicity will have.

Fact is, such pictures are taken by the western media, not to glorify the resolve of the kid, but to denigrate it by labelling them 'terrorists in training'. Remember how the israelis and americans labelled the video of Muhammad Al Durra, who was shot in cold blood while hiding behind his father? They called it a case of a father intentionally putting his 12 year old kid in the cross fire to gain notoriety. How ridiculous does that sound:)

Oops...too long a post for the image gallery:)

Originally posted by Akif:
*Fact is, such pictures are taken by the western media, not to glorify the resolve of the kid, but to denigrate it by labelling them 'terrorists in training'. *

I have to agree with you on this note.
I wonder what would happen if there were no children available to be caught on film like this......

Originally posted by Muzna:
** I disagree. I would never resort to violence as you have suggested here. You should investigate a bit more before you make such confident statements about someone you really don't know.

It is just the way we are brought up including myself that we find it disturbing to even see the truth and difficult to go along with them. Also, if these pic are not shown then many more will give their life in that pun.

I was not brought up that way. I do not find truth disturbing and welcome every opportunity to be exposed to it.

ya rab woh na samjhay hein na samjhein gay meri baat
day aur dil unko jo na day mujhko zubaan aur

I didn't mean you in person but I used U & I as to how a common person would react to the situation so you don't need to clarify as to what would be your reaction and how different you are from others.

What I disagree with is posting such pictures and having people provide their wah wah's and shabashi to the kid....thereby conveying the message that this is the "right" way to fight the oppression they are facing.

I don't know what you mean by the second sentence. Please clarify.

I think I have already said that it is not the glamourization or wah wah to kid as when you are in such an environment you just can't control yourself. Again, I repeat it is not glamourisation and the showing such pictures to the world is as important as teaching these kids the best technology i.e. all resources should be used at once.

I think it would be clear if u read the sentence with slight changes "..Also, if these pic are not shown **EVEN **then many more will give their life in that (so called) Fun." I think Akif bhai has already explained it in detail.

After reading the discussion, I think I agree with Muzna!

Live today, fight tommorrow.

and in the meanwhile learn how kick some butt.

[Sultan]

:taalian:

'“Tell me whom you love and I will tell you who
you are…”