What do you call it in Urdu?
Chitaan or Chataan................a Large Rock ................Boulder
Re: Boulder
chittaaan is a cliff .. not a boulder
Rock is different than a boulder.
So chatan is rock, then what is boulder in Urdu? Pathar ka golaa?
And also what is the Urdu for cliff? I also thought chatan is cliff.
There is no Urdu word specific to boulder, there are two word in Urdu patthar and kankar,
Kankar is a very small peice of rock and bigger piece of rock like boulder will still be pathar but you can qulify it like this , pather , bara pathar , bohat bara pather , so I guess boulder would be bohat bara pathar.
Sang Dil!
there is no word for boulder in urdu ..
Cliff and Rock could be Chataan, Cliff and Hill could be Pahaari ...
There must be. May be AQ can help????
^^ You dont trust my Urdu :ASA:
I do per aur logon say bhi poochnay main kya harj hai.....but I think you and Mirch are right, dictionaries say گول مول پتھر for boulder....so that means there isn't a particular word for it.
Also what are these colours in English, ooda or oodha, Banafshi, Ar*ghwani (in arabic Arj*awani is Purple, are these the same?)???
And Qaasni is Lilac, right?
I saw that too but that gol mol pathar seems to be wrong. I guess they got confused between boulder and pebbles ..
^Pebbles are kankaryian.
Also what are these colours in English, ooda or oodha, Banafshi, Ar*ghwani (in arabic Arj*awani is Purple, are these the same?)??? And Qaasni is Lilac, right?
you got me there. I think these all are shades of blue to puprle spectrum .. Banafshi is Lilac. Oodaa is purpulish blue, Arghwani is Arjwani ..
Kasni is a different shade than banafshi
Kaasni seems to be Mauve, according to these dicts:
(remove spaces before n after dots)
www . dictionaryurdu . com/Kaasni.html
hamariweb . com/urdu-english-dictionary.aspx?eu=mauve
www . urduword . com/search.php?English=mauve
en . wikipedia . org/wiki/Mauve
You can post links for reference sites Lycanthropy .. thanks for the info
I call it TakHta Sang or Gardala ... bit persian .. but what can we do :) thats what i have heard from my elders
By elders, do you mean Online dictionary ![]()