Bollywood shine leads to women doing time

By Nina Muslim, Staff Reporter
Dubai: Indonesians’ obsession with Bollywood and their stars has been cited as the primary cause for Indonesians landing in UAE jails, a senior consulate official said.

Thirty-six Indonesian women are currently in jail, serving their sentence for illicit relationships. The number accounts for more than half of Indonesians in jail.

A senior Indonesian consulate officer, who spoke to Gulf News on condition of anonymity, said the women, who worked as maids in the UAE were usually from rural areas and uneducated.

http://www.gulf-news.com/Articles/NationNF.asp?ArticleID=179629

Calling them naïve, he said they were often victims of their sheltered upbringing.

“We have 10 television channels in Indonesia and they show Bollywood movies at least twice a week. These women grew up watching and loving these handsome Indian actors,” he said.

He added when the women arrived in the UAE, home to more than a million South Asians, they became star struck and overfriendly with good looking men of South Asian origin who would chat them up.

“If a cat is given meat, wouldn’t the cat take it?” he said, quoting a familiar Indonesian phrase.

He said in some cases, the women would allow the men to enter the house where they work, at which point the employer would report them to the police.

Other offences that Indonesians are serving time for include immigration violations and theft.

Re: Bollywood shine leads to women doing time

horny indonesian women. :nono:

You can go to jail for illicit relationships in Dubai? What is considered an illicit relationship in Dubai?

someone answer this question for me. come on.

i don't know of any such law in Dubai.
I lived 20 years in Sharjah, and sharjah does have such laws but not Dubai.
illicite relationship in sharjah is fornication, adultery and prostitution.

plus they r serving time for illicit relations, immigration violations and theft.

to blame bollywood for any of this is pre medieval $hithead thinking. if the people in indonesia are so insanely beyond common sense then its their own fault and not that of some film industry.
god i didnt know people can even be this foolish.
oh and BTW if at all illicit relationship is being portrayed its more so in our own film industry, hollywood. i've seen a few bollywood flicks and my opinion is that they are much more conservative and chances of people being influenced by it to have extra marital affairs is slim to none. the only possiblity is of people starting to sing and dance on the streets which i dont think would go against the strange laws of the sheikhs.

I am sorry, I personally believe Bollywood movies have more of an affect on naive minds than Hollywood movies. Bollywood movies show taboos and all those fun things our conservative culture does not allow. The common attitude towards Hollywood is “Abay yaar, Amrika me to sub chalta hay, koi bari baat nahi hai”

Bollywood movies seem to revolve around one theme, which is subconciously embedded in their plots. That theme is Sexual Frustration.

They should send bollybuster to the UAE

i am sorry, I personally believe Bollywood movies have more of an affect on naive minds than Hollywood movies. Bollywood movies show taboos and all those fun things our conservative culture does not allow. The common attitude towards Hollywood is "Abay yaar, Amrika me to sub chalta hay, koi bari baat nahi hai"

Bollywood movies seem to revolve around one theme, which is subconciously embedded in their plots. That theme is Sexual Frustration.

what r ya talking bout, man. as far as naive minds are concerned anything under the sun will have an effect on them, be it a silly movie or a silly overheard gossip. nothin can be done bout that. as for taboos, my opinion is that movie making and viewing in the 21st century needs to be mature enough to deal with any subject. there is a concept called "free speech" that you might recall. if one particular person doesnt like one thing then who'z forcing them to watch it?...the government?.....aliens?...who?. the answer is...nobody.
as for the sexual frustration theme, i dunno, i dont watch too many bolly movies. but from what i heard from my friends who do, they say its more of family drama or love triangle or mafia villain or something like that. anyway sexual frustration isnt really all that taboo, its more of a fact.
peace. :)